Home > Uncategorized > Headlines: P.M. Class

Headlines: P.M. Class

If you’re in the p.m. class, post your headline comments here.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. Kyle Cummings
    October 25, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    As I skimmed through espn.com, the first headline that stuck out to me said, “Series of Magical Events.” To me, this was a catchy headline and a nice play on words. Underneath is an introductory sentence that said, “Tony La Russa tok things to another level.” This short, yet descriptive sentence gave a brief summary of what the story was about, but was still intriguing enough to want the reader to click to the story. The story was about the strange decisions the Cardinal’s manager had made in the game the previous night. After reading the story, the headline clearly fits. It is clever, fits the story and tone and gets readers curious.
    The second headline on the webpage that caught my attention enough for me to read the story was “WVU told Big 12 acceptance coming.” While this headline was not as catchy as the first, it was very clear and the topic was big enough for readers to care about the story. The story, just as the headline suggests, is about West Virginia University’s pending approval into the Big 12 conference. With the constant change of conference landscapes in college football, this headline sets a serious enough tone to draw readers in.

  2. Connor Stange
    October 25, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    I really liked the headline that Boston.com had following World Series Game 4 that said, “Holland’s Opus: Rangers lefty pitches Texas to win.” I liked this because I understand the reference it is making to the film “Mr. Holland’s Opus.” The reason Boston.com used this headline was because Rangers pitcher Derek Holland pitched a tremendous game, shutting out the Cardinals in over eight innings of work. Further, a magnum opus, or opus for short, refers to someone’s greatest masterpiece and given the circumstances, Holland’s performance was the greatest of his career. I also liked Sports Illustrated’s headline “Perfectly Awful,” referring to the Colts’ 0-7 start. The article talks about how the Colts were 14-0 to start the season only two years ago, but can’t seem to win a game this year. I thought it was cleverly written and got the point across in only two words.

  3. Marc Zakrzewski
    October 25, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    I visited cnn.com and found it odd that no headline really stuck out to me immediately. I ended up choosing two stories that were mildly interesting to me. I would not have looked at either story if it wasn’t for this project.

    The first headline I chose was “Apple’s next big product may be TV”. I chose this because I once invested in the poorly received Apple TV. This story mentioned that in relation to other Apple products, Apple TV was a failure. However, Steve Jobs wanted the next big product to be a fully integrated television that wirelessly connected to iCloud. It did not mention a possible release date which I found to be disappointing. I assumed that information would be available when I read the headline.

    The second headline I chose was in the entertainment column. The headline was “HIMYM: Guests steal the show”. I clicked on this because I am a fan of the show “How I Met Your Mother”. This link took you to Entertainment Weekly’s review of Monday’s episode. Since I watched the episode, I did not learn any new information. In fact, I mostly disagreed with the review/opinion piece. The problem with this headline is that it is only geared to those who watch the show enough to know that HIMYM is an acronym that fans use for the show.

    I conclude my thoughts by sharing my favorite headline of all time. It comes from “The Simpsons”. Enjoy!

  4. Jacob Sorensen
    October 25, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    I visited CBSSports.com, as I am a huge sports follower. One headline that stuck out to me was “Dolphins ask about Cowher’s availability.” This headline in particular is very important to me because I am a Dolphins fan, and am always concerned about what is going on with my team. The franchise is in dismay right now, and this headline gives hope to fans about a former great coach that could potentially return to the sidelines again and bring life to a dead program.

    The second headline that stuck out to me was “MLB claiming McCourt stole $190M from Dodgers.” This is a very good headline because it gives a big number, rather than saying that McCourt, former owner of the franchise, stole a lot of money. When you know the exact figure, it gives the story credibility right away, and draws me into reading it. The story was interesting and surprising, and a big reason I read it was because of the interesting headline.

  5. Kelsey Baker
    October 26, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    One of Lincoln Journal Star’s recent headlines was “Police: Toddler in back sear while couple shoots cocaine.” Apparently a couple went to Holmes Lake after hours and left the 2-year-old son in the backseat while they shot up in the front seat. This headline caught my eye because I don’t normally see “toddler” and “cocaine” in the same sentence. The news seemed appalling to me, so I looked into it.

    The second headline that stuck out to me was “5 overdose deaths lead to investigation of former Seward doctor.” The story covers five people who have died from drug overdose from prescriptions from the same doctor. Barbara Froehner, the doctor who prescribed the drugs, was sentenced to prison on Monday. I noticed this headline because it seemed like a fishy subject. Mysteries appeal to me, so I always read articles when the peculiar has happened and someone seems to be guilty of something.

  6. Chris Dorwart
    October 26, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    The first newspaper I went to was the Omaha World-Herald since you had examples of their award-winning headlines. I noticed one in the sports section today about Nebraska. It said “NU’s no-huddle system wearing down defenses.” It caught my eye mostly because it was Nebraska football and I wanted to read more. But it was still more than just a basic story about what’s happening. I wanted to read it and see what players thought and see how they went with it. I also wanted to see how the offense and the no-huddle is actually helping.

    I then took a headline from my homepage, The New York Times. “Crow Season: It’s Murder Out There” That caught my eye because everyone hates crows and although we shouldn’t be killing birds, it’s what I thought of. Whenever the word murder is in a headline it’s going to catch your eye. They don’t actually try to kill them but they find a good way of getting rid of them by shooting flares. So, although they aren’t killing them. Using murder in the headline really caught my eye.

  7. October 26, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    I went to the Los Angeles Times, because it’s one of my favorite websites for news. However, none of the front-page headlines struck me. They were almost too informative. If I were looking for something specific, which I never am, then maybe I would have been intrigued by something. From the way I’m reading the previous posts, it seems people are most intrigued when the headline mentions something they’re already interested in. I usually don’t think that way; I think about what would get anyone to read anything. I understand I’m not the typical news reader, and that can make being a journalist difficult sometimes, because I lack the understanding of what other people want. But I felt like this was useful when examining the LA Times webheads.

    Perhaps the top story’s headline would have hit me better if it read like it did on a different page. On the LA Now page, it reads: “Oakland plans to reopen plaza for protesting — not camping.” On the LA Times front page, it reads: “Oakland OKs plaza protests, but no camping.” The LA Now headline works for me because of the em dash, which is more effective than a comma. The em dash makes the story seem like it contains a more interesting juxtaposition of the Oakland officials’ decision-making process, simply because it’s more dramatic than a comma.

    Another headline that I liked I had to click on “World” and then “Mexico & Latin America” to see it, but it was also the top story for the section. It reads, “Shadowy group says it targets cartel; some in Veracruz are glad.” Yes, it uses a semicolon, but it works because it says some people are “glad” about a “shadowy” group of people. If you recognize, Veracruz, this is even more interesting, because the situation isn’t happy at all. I’m intrigued.

  8. Frannie Sprouls
    October 26, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    The first newspaper I looked at was the Lincoln Journal Star. The best headline, and my favorite, headline I saw on the page was “Aurora Borealis shimmers over state.” Granted, there was a picture to go with the headline but I thought the use of “shimmers” for the verb described the aurora borealis nicely. There was not much of an article to go along with the photo; just a few paragraphs followed the headline. But even if there was not a picture to go along with the headline, I would still be able to get a sense of what was going on with the brief.

    Next, I scanned the front page of the Omaha World-Herald. The best headline on its front page was “Police say North Platte mom kept 2 boys in cage.” The headline says exactly what the article explains: two young boys, ages 3 and 5, were kept in kennels. When you first read the headline, you do a double-take: why would two boys be kept in kennels? That’s what makes you want to read the article to find out the answer to your question and that is what makes it a good headline.

  9. October 26, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    1. Sizzling series, cold reception
    This headline is from a story in USA Today. It about how the World Series is very exciting this year, but it is receiving low ratings on television.
    I like the headline because it contains enough information that the reader knows the story is about the World Series, and at the same time it is a tease. The reader doesn’t know everything, so he or she is more likely to keep reading. It uses alliteration and descriptive adjectives to attract the reader.

    2. Bah humbug: U.S. economic mood sours in time for holidays
    This article is about how consumer confidence is going down as the holiday season approaches.
    I like the headline because it has a pop cultural reference that most readers will understand. The reference will attract readers to a story that could be thought of as dull. Also, the verb choice of sour is interesting for a reader.

  10. October 26, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    The New York Times: How Netflix Lost 800,000 Members, and Good Will
    This news is about the Netflix plans to divide its movie rental service into two– one offering streaming movies over the Internet, the other offering old-fashioned DVDs in the mail. Reed Hastings ignored his friend’s warning and became regret now. They lost 800,000 subscribers by the end of the third quarter. The headline mentioned the story’s main point, which is Netflix lost its members. It is specific and clear. It makes audiences wonder the reason that Netflix lost so many members.
    Los Angeles Times: Two more Western aid workers abducted in East Africa
    This new is about two Western aid workers were abducted Tuesday in central Somalia. One is a 60-year-old Danish man and another one is a 32-year-old American woman working for the Danish De-mining Group. The motives were not clear. This headline is clear, and specific, and let readers want to know more such as when, whom, why, how. And it explained these questions at the first two paragraphs.

  11. Michael Menish
    October 26, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    From CNN.com
    Tear gas used on Occupy protesters in Oakland
    Police officers shot tear gas into a crowd protesting with the occupy Wall Street, because protesters threw paint on them.
    I like this headline because it tells what the story is about. It’s short and to the point.

    From MSNBC.com
    Obama announces student loan relief
    President Obama wants to lower interest from loans and allow consolidation and lower over cost.
    This story is important to me as a student with loans and having to deal with the cost of college and this headline allows me to see clearly what the story is about.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

