Home > headlines > Headlines: A.M. Class

Headlines: A.M. Class

If you’re in the morning class, post your headline comments here.

Categories: headlines Tags:
  1. Ross Benes
    October 24, 2011 at 11:56 am

    In today’s Journal Star, the headline, “Tunisians vote in first free election” got me to read the subsequent story. (Full disclosure: the story originally ran in the Los Angeles Times). While the headline isn’t clever or unique, it is very clear. After reading the headline, I knew exactly what the story was about, which then prompted me to read the story. The story was exactly what the headline said it was about – the first free election in Tunisia. Even though I won’t remember this specific headline by next week, it did its job of getting me to read the story.

    Also in today’s Journal Star, the headline, “Tornado survivor denied workers’ comp” pulled me in as well. (Full disclosure: the story is an AP story.) The story was about a Joplin, Mo., social worker who now faces $2.5 million in medical bills. The social worker was injured during a tornado in Joplin while trying to save the lives of three developmentally disabled adults. His insurance company is not picking up the bill. I liked this headline because it was very clear. After reading the headline, there was no confusion as to what the story was about. The headline wasn’t flashy or clever, but it got me to read the story regardless. I liked both headlines for similar reasons – they were clear. Too often clever puns confuse or irritate me as a reader. I appreciate how informative these headlines were, even if they were somewhat bland. I know others will disagree.

  2. bethany schmidt
    October 24, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    Los Angeles Times: “East L.A. speaks from its heart”
    This was the headline for the main story on the Los Angeles Times website on Oct. 24. It drew me into the story because it seemed light in relation to the rest of the headlines on the story. Honestly, by the end of the day, I didn’t feel like reading news on war and government, so when I read the headline, it drew me in. Plus, it was coupled with a bright and colorful photo. After reading through the article, I realized that the story was about the East L.A. accent that so many Los Angeles area residents have. That wasn’t so clear from the headline. I assumed the story would be about art (from the accompanying photo) but after thinking through the headline again, it made more sense to me. The article was pretty interesting but the headline still seemed like it could use some improvement–though the deck did add a bit of clarity.

    The Seattle Times: “Police: Stabbing at Snohomish High was unprovoked”
    The word ‘stabbing’ drew me in right away. The story, featured on The Seattle Times website on Oct. 24, was about the stabbing of two freshmen girls by a female sophomore student in the bathroom of a Washington state high school. The headline was not particularly creative or something I had never seen before but it brought up memories of the Columbine shooting and made me feel like the story could be one that brings the nation together like the shootings at the Colorado high school did.

    P.S. In the midst of looking for enticing headlines, I found this gem: Saw ‘Em Off–a story on (surprise, surprise) ESPN.com about a pitcher named Chris Carpenter. Sports guys and their puns!

  3. Abby Schipporeit
    October 25, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    SFGate: “Will Steve Jobs’ final vendetta haunt Google?”
    *This story was written by an AP Technology Writer.
    The headline drew me in because it mentioned Steve Jobs and Google. Those aren’t two names you typically see in the same headline. The choice of words in the headline also drew me in by making me want to know more. The story itself was about how new biography of Steve tells all on how Jobs truly felt regarding the Google Android phone software. Let’s just say it isn’t positive. Jobs felt Google stole from him. I think the headline they chose and the way they worded it works for this story. At first you may wonder how Steve Jobs is going to haunt Google, but once you read the story in its entirety the headline makes complete sense.

    The New York Times: “Casey Anthony Jurors Lay Low After Names Revealed”
    *This story was written by an AP reporter
    Casey Anthony has been all over the news for the past few months, yet I have not heard much about the jurors. This story drew me in because of its mention of the jurors and how they are laying low. For me it was an emotional appeal with the headline, I’ve often thought about what it must have been like to be a member of the jury in the Casey Anthony trial. The story goes on to talk about how the jurors are choosing not to talk to the media and how many of them have received death threats. The story did relate to the headline, yet it did not provide me a ton of new information. After the story stated when the names were released and some examples of the impact it has had on jurors, it moved into recapping the Casey Anthony story and trial. It would have been nice if the majority of the story was solely about the jurors.

  4. knstauff@yahoo.com
    October 25, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    Police: 2 kids kept in kennel

    This article was about how four North Platte residents were arrested and charged with felony child abuse after police conducted a “well-being” check on their trailer home and found two children, ages 5 and 3, locked inside two small dog kennels.

    I picked this headline because it tells you right away that police were involved; you know that the article will more than likely discuss some sort of criminal case. Also, the latter half of the headline is a good indicator of what the police are investigating.

    Tearful plea in girl’s drowning

    This article was about the drowning of 4-year-old Lyana Allen. It discusses the fact that although Deshayla Neal was originally charged with manslaughter, the child’s mother asked to have her sentence reduced. Now, Neal only faces a conviction with a maximum jail time of one year with parole.

    I picked this headline because I thought it informed the reader about the article without getting cutesy or too creative. The article is extremely serious, and I think that that tone is reflected well in the headline. Also, it makes me want to keep reading because I want to find out who is giving this tearful plea. Is it the child’s mother or the person convicted?

  5. Michelle Durham
    October 25, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    The New York Times: Bigger Losses Sought From Banks as Part of Euro Deal
    Before the European leaders meet on Wednesday, Europeans are under pressure to figure out a way to maintain Greeks bonds and help debt crisis. I thought this was interesting because it shows that everyone in the world is suffering from debt not just the U.S. it’s relatable for Americans and it keeps people informed with what’s going on in the world. The headline The NYT chose was eye-caughting because if leaves the reader to wonder what losses could possibly be part of the Euro Deal. It made me want to know what all was going on.

    Journal Star: Breast cancer event raises $215,000
    The American Cancer Society Making Stories Against Breast Cancer walk Sunday raised about $215,000. Since it is Breast Cancer Awareness month, this headline caught my eye because I wanted to see what organization raised so much money. Also, the article said that about 6,000 people walked in the fundraiser. It was heartwarming to see so many people willing to help out a great cause. Putting the amount made at the event was a good idea in my opinion.

  6. Cristina Woodworth
    October 25, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    USA Today: Bicycling Rolls into fashion in Mexico City
    This story was about the increase in the number of people who are choosing to bike instead of drive in Mexico City. Bikes are supposedly becoming ‘cooler’ for middle and upper class people in the city. I liked this headline for a couple of reasons. First, I feel like most headlines you see mentioning Mexico City are something to do with violence or drug lords so this hed kind of deviated from the norm and grabbed my attention. Also, I’m probably a little biased because I’m an avid bike rider so the word bicycling drew me in right away.

    Ney York Times: A Counterintuitive Trash Plan: Remove Bins in Subway Stations
    This story was about how the transport authority in New York City have decided to completely remove all trash cans from a couple of subway stops in the city to see if it will lead to less trash overall having to be picked up in the stations. I thought this was an interesting headline because it makes you think (why would they be removing trash cans?). I think it would have been kind of difficult to write a headline for this story and I liked how the writer kept the hed somewhat simple by using the colon istead of trying to add in more explanation.

  7. Kelly O'Malley
    October 25, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    There was an espn.com headline called, “Source: WVU told Big 12 acceptance coming.”
    I read this article because there has been a lot of speculation that Missouri is leaving for the SEC. The article is about how the University of West Virginia is replacing Missouri in the Big 12. The headline clues me in that WVU might be going to the Big 12 and wants to make me read more because the UNL use to be in the Big 12.

    Another article called, “Aurora borealis shimmers over Nebraska” intrigued me because
    I like it when there is astronomy that is involved in the state of Nebraska. The article was on the Lincoln Journal’s website and was about how the Northern lights were visible in Nebraska on Monday night the 24th of October. The article explained how the Northern lights are caused by massive solar storms.

  8. Matt Palu
    October 25, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    Omaha World Herald: “Man arrested for school threats”
    This headline drew me in right away. Anytime the words “school” and “threats” appear next to each other, one wants know what happened, where it happened, and if everyone was/is ok. This particular story covered a man who entered an Omaha middle school office and passed the secretary a note reading, “I will kill you all”. The man was eventually arrested and no one was harmed.

    The Sacramento Bee: “Andy Rooney hospitalized in serious condition”
    Andy Rooney is well known and has been in the spotlight recently after retiring. Thus, this headline makes one want to know what hospitalized him and what his current condition is. The story didn’t reveal any specifics, saying only that Rooney had been hospitalized due to complications following a recent surgery.

  9. A. Kumari
    October 25, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    The Denver Post: “Denver? America’s angriest city?”
    I was immediately drawn to this headline because of the conversational tone and the way they used very few words to attract readers. The story was brief but it described how the combined number of Tea Party and Occupy Denver protestors was taken and then divided by the city population to find that Denver had the most protestors per million residents in the nation.
    When I scrolled down below the story I found stats about the story that showed I wasn’t the only one drawn to this story. The stat that shocked me the most said this story was the “No. 1 most-clicked article among news articles today.” I’m guessing the headline played a big part in that number.

    The New York Times: “How Netflix Lost 800,000 Members, and Good Will”
    The massive number immediately drew my eye to this story because it told me the news right away. Seeing the extreme number and then going on to read about what changed within Netflix to cause this was helpful and it made me feel like I didn’t waste my time. Sometimes you read a headline that teases you with information and then doesn’t fully explain it, but this article went in to plenty of detail while maintaining the most important news in the headline.

  10. Brianna F.
    October 25, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    The first headline that captured my interest was “Post & Nickel picks up pieces” which was in the Daily Nebraskan. The article is about how the recent water main break flood affected a local clothing store. Post & Nickel, a popular clothing store, suffered many damages due to how much water flooded the inside of the building. The article included details on how the store owners were dealing with the financial losses and the effects of the flood. I like this headline because it seemed interesting for a number of reasons. Firstly, if a person does not know that the Post & Nickel is a store, the headline would likely lead that person to read the story out of curiosity. As for the people who are familiar with the store, the headline seems to have a double meaning. It could reference how employees were picking up the pieces both literally and figuratively. Overall, this headline was interesting and also relevant to the topic of the story.

    The second headline that captured my interest was “Singer flourishes in contest” which was also in the Daily Nebraskan. This article is about a local student’s participation in a music contest. The article provides background information on the contest and how the student began her journey in recording music and going on to compete. I like this headline because it is very short and to the point. By glancing at it, it is clear that the article will be about some sort of musical competition. The word choice used in the headline is also a benefit because descriptive terms that are not often used usually make better headlines. The word “flourishes” adds more emphasis to the entire headline. Overall, this headline is efficient because it introduces the story in a straight-forward and simple manner.

  11. Chloe Gibson
    October 26, 2011 at 12:10 am

    The first headline that caught my eye was on foxnews.com. It said “5 N.Y. cops accused of smuggling guns, cigarettes.” After I clicked on the link the headline above the actual story was “Five NYPD officers arrested in gun-smuggling sting.” Whichever headline I would have seen first, the story still would have caught my attention. The article was about NYPD officers who claimed to be doing off-duty work, while really they were smuggling guns, cigarettes and slot machines. The defense of arrested officers was that they weren’t being paid enough and when the right person asked them to do under-the-table work they accepted. I found the headline interesting because how often do you see one about police officers getting arrested for smuggling something?

    The second story I found on denverpost.com. The headline that caught my eye was “Man uses creepy look to rob Longmont store.” What in the world could this be about is the first thing that hit my mind. Well, the title was clear and honest and what happened was exactly what the headline said. A man walked into a 7-eleven and placed two 12-packs of beer on the cashier’s counter and told her planned to steal them. The cashier pulled the beer away and said he couldn’t just take them, so he gave her a scary look and said he had done time in prison. The cashier pushed the beer back toward him and he walked out with it. I think it is almost funny how honest the headline was. I don’t think there was a pun intended because the man really did rob a store with a simple “creepy look” on his face.

  12. Gabbi Silke
    October 26, 2011 at 12:44 am

    I found an article on journalstar.com called “Police: Nebraska kids kept in kennel.” The story is about a 3-year-old boy and his 5-year-old brother that were kept in a 30-by-42-inch wire dog kennel. The mom said she kept them in there at night so that the boys wouldn’t try to escape through a window in their mobile home. Police arrested the mom along with three other people living there and they were all charged for being aware of the situation and not stopping it. I like the headline because it caught me off guard. It’s not every day that I’m skimming through a newspaper and read that children are being kept in dog kennels.

    Another article I found was on yahoo.com called “Colorado QB continues to play despite being blind.” I was shocked when I read this headline because I have never heard of someone who is blind that could play sports. Rhett Gutierrez, the quarterback of Standley Lake (Colo.) High has the junior form of Macular Degeneration which has caused him to lose most of his sight over time and is now legally blind. He’s helped win three junior varsity games and threw two touchdowns. He got to play a few minutes in a varsity game which has set his mind on being the varsity quarterback next year.

  13. October 26, 2011 at 12:46 am

    A NIGHT TO FORGET

    These two headlines from the Baltimore Sun managed to catch my eye from the Newsium top ten page of the day. The first is a headline about a butt-kicking the Baltimore Ravens received. I appreciate the play on words with “a night to remember.” It’s subtle but important enough to the area where the reader knows what is being discussed. The picture below the headline is one of the Baltimore Ravens punching an opponent, overall the evening apparently left Baltimore embarrassed to call the Ravens their own it would seem. The headline draws me in and makes me want to know what I’m supposed to forget.

    Lead paint law spiked

    The second is about a shot-down proposal to provide a law that protects owners of older homes with lead-based paint. The word spiked, while prescribing to the rule of ‘s’ you’ve described I found it to also be a good play on the term spiked with lead paint. There’s even a third meaning with spiked as in volleyball. There’s just a lot of imagery there. Without the headline, I don’t think I would want to read all about the wonderful world of lead-paint laws but this is one of those instances where a good headline made all the difference.

  14. October 26, 2011 at 1:23 am

    The Huntsville Times: “ICED”
    On today’s front page in The Huntsville Times, this headline appeared with a picture of a hockey team celebrating a win. After reading the headline I immediately wanted to read the story. Although this headline isn’t packed full of information, it gives me enough information to know exactly what they are talking about. “ICED” is also in all caps, but because it is only one word and it is a verb commonly used in hockey and referring to the sport. The caption read, “The Huntsville Chargers after defeating the Bernidji Beavers in the Division II Championship.” Coupled with the caption, the headline worked especially well.

    The Denver Post: “Hancock’s first 100 days in office a success, mostly”
    As Denver’s first big snow storm is coming over Colo. the city realizes that this will be one of the biggest tests for Denver Mayor Michael Hancock. I like how much information is given in the headline. It shows the exact amount of days he has spent in office and also makes me wonder what else is going on with the word “mostly.” “Mostly” implies that there is more to be said, although it matches the story in its suspense. The city doesn’t know yet how the new mayor will respond and neither does the author of the story. Although this story wasn’t extremely interesting, it made me read the story to see why he wasn’t completely successful.

  15. October 26, 2011 at 8:54 am

    This was a video package, but “Tear gas turned on Occupy protests” from CNN was a story I immediately wanted to watch because it was immediately clear to the reader that there were ethical questions regarding whether to tear gas protesters, and because the NYPD formerly made statements that they don’t even own tear gas.

    The New York Times “New Poll Finds a Deep Distrust of Government” though is not as specific as I would like, (who was doing the polling?) was an intriguing headline and made me want to read the story, especially because distrust of government can really hinder our society.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

