Home > bios > Morning Class: It’s All About You

Morning Class: It’s All About You

If you’re in the morning class, post your comments here.

 

Categories: bios Tags:
  1. Michelle Durham
    August 22, 2011 at 10:09 am

    Michelle Durham

    Your Name. Year in school.
    -Michelle Elaine Durham; Senior

    Where are you from?Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    -Lincoln, Nebraska; I wanted to stay close to my family and I have heard great things about the College of Mass Communications and Journalism.

    What is your major?
    -Broadcasting

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    -I want to obtain a better understanding of grammar; also I thought this would be a fun class to take to get some credits for my electives.

    What’s your dream job?
    -Become a director of a show on E! TV.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    -Obsessed with music/singing

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    -I’m usually outgoing and spontaneous; however, if I see a spider, even if it’s the size of pin, I will stop anything and everything I was doing and hide in fear!! SPIDERS ARE GROSS!

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    -No; however, I will be the first to finish with a degree

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    -6.5

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    -Sadly none. I was busy with working and interning over the summer

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    -Cosmopolitan and 1011Now.com

    What is your favorite website?
    -Facebook.com

    Do you blog?
    -Of course! Tumblr.com

    Do you use Twitter? How?
    -I do not use Twitter.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    -I interned over the summer with KOLN/KGIN (10/11) news station in Lincoln, Nebraska. I also helped Dr. Thomas Lee with Bright Lights teaching sixth-eighth graders about the television production world.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    -I am continuing my internship with KOLN/KGIN.

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    -I do have a resume but not on a website. I’m not sure how to upload it onto the web.

  2. A. Kumari
    August 22, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    -My name is Asha Anchan and I am a junior in college.

    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    -I was born and raised in Omaha, Nebraska, and despite wanting to go far away for college I couldn’t resist the practicality of UNL and good things I heard about the journalism school.

    What is your major?
    -My major is New Editorial and Broadcasting.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    -I want to be a better self-editor at the end of this class so that when I turn in stories I am confident in my work.

    What’s your dream job?
    -My dream job is to be an international reporter and a mother.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    -I love to travel, explore new places, thrift shop, cook and workout.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    -I have a lot of very strange dreams almost every night. One night I had a dream I was being hit over the head with a bag of frozen shrimp.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    -No, I am not the first person in my family to attend a university.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    -I would rate my knowledge as a 6-7.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    -I’ve recently read/I am reading “Tuesdays with Morrie”, “Jane Eyre,” an autobiography and “The Search for Significance.”

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    -I frequent the Omaha-World Herald and New York Times (print and websites) and various recipe/exercise blogs.

    What is your favorite website?
    – I visit http://mealsandmovesblog.com/ multiple times a day for workout and recipe tips or just to look at the pictures.

    Do you blog?
    -I do not blog but I follow a number of blogs.

    Do you use Twitter? How?
    -I do not use Twitter.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    – Last summer (2010) I was on the Documentation Team for the Special Olympics. We created video story packages and photos each day.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    -I am not pursuing a media-related internship at this time.

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    -I do have a resume and portfolio, but they are not on a website.

  3. bethany schmidt
    August 22, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    Bethany Schmidt. Sophomore.

    Where are you from? 
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    From Hastings, NE. UNL has a great J-school!

    What is your major?
    Majoring in Journalism and Political Science.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to gain a very firm grasp of AP style rules.

    What’s your dream job?
    Anything having to do with music journalism and/or photography: working at npr (especially All Songs Considered), writing for spin/filter/fader magazine, taking photos for nat. geo….

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I love playing tennis and listening to music–I’m always looking for new bands to see.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I want to live in Africa.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    Nope. Both of my parents and my brother attended college.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    I would definitely give myself a 9 for grammar and punctuation. My AP Style is probably a 6 1/2: I’m more used to MLA style.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I’ve started many books in the past few months: Room by Emma Donoghue, One Mississippi by Mark Childress, Swamplandia by Karen Russell. Sadly, I didn’t finish any of them.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    Spin magazine, thedailybeast.com, nytimes.com, npr.com, reuters.com

    What is your favorite website?
    abduzeedo.com

    Do you blog?
    No.

    Do you use Twitter? How?
    Just got one. I will probably use it more to follow, rather than be followed.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I wrote/designed/took photos for my student newspaper in high school.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    I plan on interning next summer for a magazine or newspaper.

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    I have a small portfolio of some of the work I did in high school. No link, though.

  4. Ross Benes
    August 22, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Ross Benes; Senior

    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln
    I am from Brainard, Neb. I came to UNL because the price was right. Since I didn’t know what I was going to do, there was no way that I was going to pay for out-of-state tuition or for private schooling. I also wanted to live in a city larger than 50,000 people, so I was limited to Lincoln and Omaha. In the end I chose UNL over UNO because UNL seemed to offer more opportunities than UNO.

    What is your major?
    Psychology, News-Editorial and Broadcasting

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to learn a little history and to enjoy myself.

    What’s your dream job?
    Comedian, author or rockstar. (I realize that’s more than one, but they are all equally my dream jobs currently.)

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I like to think and talk more than most. I like to think and talk about sports, American music history, anything from my childhood and social science.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I produced and sold two CDs and two DVDs in high school while also designing and selling related clothes. I believe designing and selling clothes was unique in my situation because I have no sense of fashion and I primarily wear what is cheap and comfortable. If I look like a hipster in class, it is not to make a statement. Rather it’s out of social unawareness or lack of caring.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No I am not.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    7

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    China Road, Outliers, Mere Christianity, The Great Divorce, Black Swan, Upside of Irrationality, Free, The Cult of Statistical Significance, Darth Bane: Rule of Two and Darth Bane: Dynasty of Evil.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    Lincoln Journal Star, Omaha World Herald, New York Times and ESPN

    What is your favorite website?
    Wikipedia

    Do you blog?
    Yes, I occasionally write on Bleacher Report.

    Do you use Twitter? How?
    No

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I wrote for the Seward Independent for two weeks this summer.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    No

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    I have a resume, but it is not online.

  5. Gabbi Silke
    August 22, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    Gabbi Silke

    -Your Name. Year in school.
    Gabrielle Nicole Silke. I am a senior.
    -Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I am originally from Wichita, Kansas but I moved to Omaha when I was seven because my dad was transferred for his job. I came to UNL because I wanted to be away from home but close enough I could come home whenever I wanted.
    -What is your major?
    My major is textiles, clothing, design and advertising.
    -What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to be able to edit my own papers better than I have in the past and offer my abilities to friends and family that want someone to read through their work as well.
    -What’s your dream job?
    My dream job is to work at a magazine and help design the layout as well as help with photo shoots.
    -What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I love playing volleyball, this summer I played in Wilber, Nebraska in the tournament during the Czech days. I also play pick-up volleyball at the rec and at my apartment.
    -Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    My boyfriend and I have the same birthday and I am eleven hours older than him.
    -Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, I have five older siblings that went to UNL or another school.
    -On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    I would rate my knowledge one these three things at a six-seven.
    -What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I am currently reading House Rules by Jodi Picoult. It’s about a guy who has Aspergers and how he is involved in a murder to a close friend.
    -What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I read the Daily Nebraskan, Outside magazine and occasionally Cosmo or celebrity magazines just to keep me updated on the latest gossip.
    -What is your favorite website?
    I love stumbling on stumbleupon.com because I find things I have never seen before.
    -Do you blog?
    I do not, but I do have a blog that I made for a class.
    -Do you use Twitter? How?
    Yes, I post different ads, things I stumble upon, or just updates of funny things that happen throughout the day.
    -Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I worked at the Daily Nebraskan in the advertising department during my freshman year, and I and I have catered for the past four-five years dealing with brides haha.
    -Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    I am not pursuing a job at this time.
    -Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    I do have a resume but it is not posted on a website.

  6. August 22, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    Elias Youngquist. Sophomore.

    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?- I’m from Lennox, South Dakota. I came here because of the Journalism program and because nearly every South Dakotan wants to leave South Dakota, but still remain close.

    What is your major?- News-Editorial

    What do you hope to get out of this class?- A better handle on writing from a technical perspective and journalism in general.

    What’s your dream job?- A job where I can help people with the stories I write, travel or at the very least write some fun stories. As long as I can write.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?- I really enjoy movies of all sort, music of most sorts and faiths of mostly one sort. I play video games enough to make me feel guilty and run just enough to make me not.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?- I will have at least a handful of Christmas songs on my ipod at all times of the year. Just in case.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?- Nope.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?= 7 I just have picked it up it seems. I don’t think I’ve ever been taught it straight up.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?- India after Gandhi, Slaughterhouse five, 1984, The White Tiger and Hitchhiker’s guide to the galaxy.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?- CNN, BBC, Twitter in general, USA today and my small town’s newspaper.

    What is your favorite website?- artofmanliness.com here you can learn everything from how to throw a tomahawk to how to suitably shake a hand.

    Do you blog?- yes, though I haven’t since India. I’m going to be starting up one soon.

    Do you use Twitter? How?- Yes, I primarily use it for self-promotion and a lazy way to get news at a glance.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?- I’ve interned at my small-town paper and I’ve done some journalizing in India.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?- I write for the DN currently.

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.- Not currently.

  7. Abby Schipporeit
    August 23, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Abby Schipporeit; Senior.

    Where are you from? 
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I’m from Sumner, NE. Both of my parents went to school at UNL and it’s always been in my head that I would also go to college at UNL.

    What is your major?
    Agricultural Journalism; Advertising option with a Public Relations emphasis.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    Polish my editing and writing skills.

    What’s your dream job?
    Marketing Communication Director at a non-profit organization.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I love cooking. Currently I’ve been getting my inspiration from ‘The Pioneer Woman’. It’s a cooking blog with absolutely amazing recipes!

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I have to have a plan. The uncertain scares me. I have a plan even for the silliest things; I will know when I wake up what I plan on eating for lunch and dinner already. That’s just how I am….

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, both of my parents attended UNL and now my pesky little brother is here too.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    6. Nowhere near where I would like to be.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I was pretty lazy in the reading area over the majority of the summer. However, I just started reading ‘The Help’. It’s not disappointing me yet!

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    1011now.com and Lincoln Journal Star.

    What is your favorite website?
    thepioneerwoman.com

    Do you blog?
    No, haven’t been bit by that bug yet.

    Do you use Twitter? How?
    Yes. It was required to have a Twitter account for a class I took last semester. I was very hesitant at first, but now that is my main source for news headlines. I follow all of the major and local news sources.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I have been a marketing intern for the past year and a half. With this internship I’ve had the opportunity to try my hand at projects in PR, marketing and advertising.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    Currently I am still employed part-time as a marketing intern during the school year. I graduate in December so the job search has started.

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    Yes and no. I have a resume but my portfolio is a work in progress. The resume is not yet posted online but once the portfolio is finished I plan on posting

  8. Cristina Woodworth
    August 23, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    Your Name:
    -Cristina Woodworth; Sophomore

    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    -I grew up in Papillion, NE. I came to UNL mostly because of some scholarship money.

    What is your major?
    -News-editorial

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    -Knowledge of what editors do exactly and how to correctly edit stories.

    What’s your dream job?
    -Having my own outdoors column for a newspaper where I get to travel and then write about it. Or I would also love to write for an adventure magazine like Outdoors, Climbing, or Backpacker.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    -I love rock climbing, biking, camping, backpacking, canoeing, and basically any other outdoor activity.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    -I love hearing people tell stories. Especially when my grandparents talk about life when they were kids. The past fascinates me almost as much as the future.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    -Nope, most of my family has gone to college.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    -A solid 6

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    -This summer I read The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins and also The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold. I’m currently in the middle of Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer as well.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    -My newspaper preference is the Omaha World Herald. For magazines I like to read TIME and Reader’s Digest. I usually go to MSNBC.com for web news.

    What is your favorite website?
    -I really like to make things so it is currently this website: http://craftgawker.com/

    Do you blog?
    -I just got a tumblr but I’m still figuring out how to use it.

    Do you use Twitter? How?
    -No

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    -Sadly, no.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    -I’m not pursuing one at this time, but I really want one for next summer.

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    -I have a resume but it’s not online. I do not have a portfolio yet.

  9. August 23, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    Crystal Zamora. Sophomore.

    Where are you from? 
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    -I am from Papillion, Nebraska and came to UNL because I have loved journalism since high school and was recruited to the journalism college here.

    What is your major?
    -I am majoring in New-Editorial with a minor in Spanish.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    -I hope to become a better editor by taking this class. I also want to allow my editing to improve my writing as a whole by changing it sentence by sentence.

    What’s your dream job?
    -My dream job is to become a photographer and writer for Sports Illustrated.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    -I am really passionate about my relationship with God and about sports photography.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    -I was the Bowler of the Year in the state of Nebraska for two years at the ages of nine and ten.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    -I am the forth person in my immediate family to attend a university.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    -I would rate my knowledge of AP Style at about a 6 or 7 because I would

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    -I’ve read Holy Ambition, Captivating, and parts of the Bible in the last three months

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    -I like to read the New York Times regularly.

    What is your favorite website?
    -I enjoy using the website Stumble Upon in my free time.

    Do you blog?
    -I do not blog because I don’t think it is an effective communication tool for me.

    Do you use Twitter? How?
    -I own a twitter account and use it to catch up with friends and celebrities, but only use it occasionally.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    -I have experience at two journalistic internships. One internship was at my local towns newspaper, the Papillion Times, and the other was at the Hilton Garden Inn in Jacksonville, Florida.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    -I am not pursuing one at this time because I am trying to focus on my academics during the school year.

    Do you have a resume or portfolio?
    -I have a resume and portfolio both on my website at crystalzamora.com

  10. Kayla Stauffer
    August 23, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    Kayla Stauffer

    Year in school: Junior

    Where are you from? I was born in Lincoln, but moved to Omaha when I was young.

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? Honestly? I came because it was practical. Not only is the campus a convenient 45 minute drive away from home, it’s also less expensive than an out-of-state college. And who doesn’t love Husker football?

    What is your major? As of right now, my major is News-Editorial, but I still have no idea what I plan on doing with it once I graduate. The first miracle was declaring a major, so I guess figuring out what I’m going to do with it is just the next step.

    What do you hope to get out of this class? I think it would be great if at the end of this class I knew exactly what I wanted to do with my life. So perhaps after taking this course I’ll know that I want to become an editor.

    What’s your dream job? I think it would be amazing to be a photojournalist for the National Geographic. Travelling the globe and then sharing that with others through stories and photographs would definitely be my dream job.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion? My passion is people. I know that is a very broad statement, but I love investing myself into others lives and really getting to know them. I feel like relationships are what make life interesting.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique? I’ve never liked killing bugs—even spiders. It’s not that I like them, because I don’t. I just feel guilty squishing them for some reason.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? No, I am not the first member of my family to attend a university. As a matter of fact, my mom, dad and older brother all attended Stinkin’ Lincoln, too.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style? For the most part, I think that my knowledge of grammar and punctuation is decent (on a scale from 1 to 10, I’d give myself a 7 ½). My knowledge of AP Style, on the other hand, is lacking. I’d probably give myself a 4 in that department.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months? I read Heaven is for Real this summer and am currently reading three very exciting textbooks.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly? Now that I’m back on campus, I skim through The New York Times in the morning and the Daily Nebraskan and Lincoln Journal Star when I can in the afternoon.

    What is your favorite website? I hate to say it, but Facebook. I visit the site multiple times a day, so I guess there’s no denying it.

    Do you blog? I do now!

    Do you use Twitter? How? Not yet. My friends have been trying to talk me into it for months now.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? I took a multimedia class last semester, but I don’t have a lot of experience.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time? I haven’t looked for a job or internship yet, but I know it’s something I want to do very soon.

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link. I had my resume on a website that I made for a class last semester, but I took the site down recently to save some money. Yes, I’m that broke.

  11. Chloe Gibson
    August 23, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    Chloe Gibson

    Your Name. Year in school: Chloe Gibson, Sophomore.

    Where are you from? 
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? I’m from Silver Lake High School in Roseland, NE. I came to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln because in the middle of my senior year I randomly decided that journalism would be the right major for me. After discovering a love for travel and my high school journalism classes, it seemed pretty perfect.

    What is your major? I am majoring in News/Editorial writing.

    What do you hope to get out of this class? I hope to become more “editing literate.” I feel like as an aspiring journalist, being able to edit is critical. Right now though, I do not feel like I possess that quality.

    What’s your dream job? I always tell people I have a 30 year plan. By the end, hopefully I’ll be working for National Geographic! 🙂

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion? My passion in life is traveling to far and different places, getting to know the life and culture there, and then sharing my experiences with the written word. I try and escape as often as I can!

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique? Something that I feel makes me unique is that I went on a mission trip to Williamson, Haiti this past May. I spent a week working between two different orphanages and developed relationships with children and adults that I hope will last forever. The experience opened my eyes to religion, poverty, and love. I kept a blog everyday hoping to touch the lives of people back home. I also wrote a small article about our mission and it was published in The Ord Quiz, making it my first news clip.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? I am not the first in my family to attend a university. Both of my parents attended and graduated from two different universities.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style? Honestly, I think my knowledge is around a 4.5 to 5. At this point I would rather rank myself lower than high.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months? For the past few months I have been working on Jupiter’s Travels. A beautiful book about, and written by, Ted Simon and his travels around the world in the 1970’s.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly? I am a subscriber to National Geographic and try to read them over pretty well when I receive them. I have a Fox News app on my phone that I try and read everyday. Also, now that school has started and newspapers are free on campus, I usually pick up The New York Times and The Lincoln Journal Star. Of course there is the occasional gossip/celebrity magazine too. 🙂

    What is your favorite website? My favorite website lately is stumbleupon.com. It can be so ridiculously addicting.

    Do you blog? I blog when I travel. I just started this with my Haiti trip. Hopefully there will be much more to come!

    Do you use Twitter? How? I do use twitter. I use it whenever I feel like something worth sharing with others strikes my mind. I also use it when I get curious about celebrities, news, and friends.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? I worked for my high school newspaper for four year and also did yearbook. Im starting work at the DN this week and am very excited!

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time? I am not, but hopefully I’ll be getting an internship this summer.

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link. I do not, hopefully as I gain more experience I’ll have one, and an impressive one at that!

  12. Matt Palu
    August 23, 2011 at 11:04 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    – My name is Matt Palu. I am a Senior at UNL.

    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    – I am from McCook, Neb. and I came to Nebraska due to the tremendous journalism program, close friends also attending and proximity to my home and family.

    What is your major?
    – I am a News-Editorial major.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    – With this class I hope to improve my grammar and knowledge of AP Style in order to improve my writing.

    What’s your dream job?
    – My dream job seems to change every day, however, I currently feel as though I’d be quite fulfilled as a screen writer for film.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    – I have many, rather ordinary, interests and am passionate about both popcorn and the movie “Big Trouble in Little China”.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    – I am not sure if I have ever spent more than thirty minutes in a home with my shoes on. While I am not one of those people that can be seen walking around the supermarket shoeless, I cannot stand walking around on carpet with my shoes on.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    – I am not the first person in my family to attend a university.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    – I feel as though my knowledge of grammar would rate at a 7 while my knowledge of AP Style is a 4.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    – I am currently reading The Dragons of Eden by Carl Sagan, Alice in Wonderland and Philosophy: Curiouser and Curiouser by Richard Brian Davis, and The Lucifer Effect by Philip Zimbardo.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    – I read the Daily Nebraskan and espn.com everyday.

    What is your favorite website?
    -imdb.com is my favorite website.

    Do you blog?
    – I do not blog.

    Do you use Twitter? How?
    – I do use twitter. I use it primarily to follow self-centered athletes and celebrities.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    – In high school I had a weekly high school sport’s program at my local radio station. I wrote for my previous college’s newspaper and I currently write for the sport’s section of The Daily Nebraskan where I’ve been working for a year.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    – I am not currently pursuing a media-related internship or job.

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    – I do have a resume but it is not posted on a website.

  13. Francesca Torquati
    August 24, 2011 at 12:21 am

    Your Name. Year in school.

    Francesca Torquati, sophomore.

    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?

    I’m from here in Lincoln. I suppose if you go back far enough I’m from Miami, and before that I was from Tucson, AR. I like to say I’m from Tucson because of the Paul Simon lyric, “I said take this child, Lord/from Tucson, Arizona/give her wings to fly through harmony.” I only lived in Arizona for two years, nevertheless, I’m sure it left an indelible mark upon me. I chose UNL after much back and forth with two Jesuit universities, mainly because both my parents work at UNL, and therefore I am entitled to 30 free credit hours a fiscal year.

    What is your major?

    I am a news-editorial major.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?

    In this class I would like to gain an understanding of AP style so I can be a better self-editor. I’m annoyed when my writing has to be changed drastically by an editor, I’d rather get it right the first time. This is mostly a prideful attribute.

    What’s your dream job?

    My dream is to have the flexibility to write about whatever I want. I have a special love for music and artists, and writing for a music or entertainment magazine, such as Spin or Relevant, would be wonderful. As far as the music world goes, I think it would be most fulfilling if my work on a particular artist helped that artist to find an audience. “Discovering” a band for a broader audience, as it were.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?

    I come from athletic parents, the kind that are appalled none of their children ever received an athletic letter in high school–I received a letter in theater. My dad and I ride mountain bikes together two or three times a week. In fact, my knee is really sore as I’m typing this from a crash yesterday. I slid out in the mud and slammed my bike into my knee in an attempt to avoid a tree. Besides cycling, I work informally for a band called Remedy Drive, and am passionate about helping those fantastic artists in whatever way I can.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?

    I worked at a bible camp for three summers while still in high school. The bible camp was an interesting place to work because the staff lived on the camp grounds with the main staff sharing two cabins. I had 15 roommates and we were immediately thrown into total independence from our parents, only 16 years old. When we weren’t working we were free to go where we wanted and do what we wanted. I suppose this was only allowed because it was a bible camp, and we as a staff were generally tame individuals. The most we ever rebelled was in going to a dance hall one night.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?

    My mother is a professor of child development from infancy to adolescence at UNL, (that’s why I developed so well, see?) My father, however, did not attend college. I am the first of my siblings to enter college, my eldest brother is a bar manager and my second brother is an ranger in the US Army currently deployed to Afghanistan.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?

    7. I pride myself in grammar and spelling, often searching for obscure grammar rules when I can’t sleep. (Last night I learned you spell the color “gray” in America, but “grey” in England.) However, my knowledge of AP style is limited.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?

    I have a whole bookshelf in my room that I’m trying to read. I finished “A Crime so Monstrous” by E. Benjamin Skinner this summer. The next books on my reading list are “God Grew Tired of Us” by John Bul Dau, “Hipster Christianity” by Brett McCracken, and “As We Forgive” by Catherine Claire Larson. I also need to finish Chaim Potok’s “The Chosen.”

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?

    I check CNN.com regularly and have news alerts and headlines from The New York Times sent to my email. The only magazine I buy when I see it on newsstands is Relevant.

    What is your favorite website?

    I don’t want to say that Facebook is my favorite website, even though it’s ranked first in my browser history. Perhaps Netflix is my favorite website, or Post Secret. I like finding obscure documentaries on Netflix.

    Do you blog?

    I don’t regularly blog, though I did while I was in India this summer. I do have a blog.

    Do you use Twitter? How?

    I use Twitter to follow my favorite celebrities, receive news, and post statuses that I wouldn’t want my parents to see on Facebook.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?

    I run several websites for the band Remedy Drive, and have organized online activity for them, such as concert schedules, Facebook updates, and online competitions.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?

    I am not pursuing any jobs or internships at this time.

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.

    I do not even know how to create a resume or portfolio.

  14. Brianna F.
    August 24, 2011 at 1:17 am

    Brianna Foster. Sophomore.

    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I am from Omaha. I chose UNL because of the diverse campus and well-renowned journalism program.

    What is your major?
    I am a Broadcast Journalism and News-Editorial major.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I would like to learn more about the duties of being an editor for a publication and also sharpen my own editing skills.

    What’s your dream job?
    My dream job is to become a television host and a writer for a major magazine.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I am passionate about writing and publicly speaking.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I was the commencement speaker at my high school graduation.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No I am not.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    I would give my knowledge of grammar and punctuation a 9. My knowledge of AP Style is limited and I have not used it very often, so I’d give that a 5.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    For now, I will just be reading class textbooks, but I recently read Letters to a Young Sister by Hill Harper.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I regularly read Seventeen Magazine and VIBE Magazine. The newspapers I enjoy reading are the Omaha World Herald, the New York Times, and the Daily Nebraskan. CNN is my first choice for online news.

    What is your favorite website?
    Facebook is my favorite website at the moment.

    Do you blog?
    I do not currently have a blog.

    Do you use Twitter? How?
    I use Twitter to catch up on celebrity gossip every now and then.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I was a member of the editing staff for my high school yearbook.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    Yes, I am currently looking for a media-related internship or job.

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    Yes, however, it is not posted on a website.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

