Home > bios > It’s All About You

It’s All About You

Welcome to 201, Beginning Editing.

Please copy this and then answer each question below in the comment section designated for your class. Make sure you (1) put your name at the top and (2) that you pay attention to spelling and grammar. After all, this is an editing class. Don’t push the button until you flawlessly edit what you’ve written. You should spellcheck before you post. Then, copy and paste your comments. Don’t forget: Blogs are public so anyone can read what you’ve written. You also are graded on your blog posts.

Finally, if there’s something relevant about yourself that you want to add, please do so.

This assignment is due by the start of class Wednesday, Aug. 24.

Your Name. Year in school.

Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?

What is your major?

What do you hope to get out of this class?

What’s your dream job?

What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?

Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?

Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?

On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?

What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?

What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?

What is your favorite website?

Do you blog?

Do you use Twitter? How?

Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?

Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?

Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.

Categories: bios Tags:
  1. August 22, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    My name is Emily Walkenhorst, and I’m a junior.

    Where are you from?
 Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I hail from Lincoln, Neb., and I came for the low tuition and my then-mild interest in journalism.

    What is your major?
    I’m a news-editorial journalism major.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to write cleaner copy, be more concise and precise and cognizant of principles and presentation issues in an overall news product.

    What’s your dream job?
    Golly. I’d love to work for National Geographic or the Los Angeles Times abroad, but, ultimately, I don’t want to do that for my whole adult life. I also dream of taking over Jon Stewart’s job on the Daily Show.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I love the outdoors, existentialism, religion, sports, food, reading, recycling and geography. My main passion? Social issues — sexism, disenfranchisement, poverty, stereotypes and all kinds of injustices put upon by social constructs.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    In my spare time I like to open two tabs on the Internet — Wikipedia and Google Maps. Then, on Wikipedia, I look up whatever state or country I feel like and learn about its towns, weather and populations. Then I use Google Maps to better understand where the towns are in the world, the distances from one to another, if they’re close to the Interstate and how long traveling around might take.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    6.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    “Between Two Worlds” by Roxana Saberi, The Bible, “India Before Ghandi” by Ramachandra Guha, “The Interpreter of Maladies” by Jhumpa Lahiri, “Freakonomics” by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner and I THINK that’s it.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    The Los Angeles Times, Lincoln Journal-Star, Omaha World-Herald, Daily Nebraskan, USA Today, The New York Times, the Times of India and the Onion.

    What is your favorite website?
    Either Facebook or Twitter. I don’t think there’s too much wrong with that, anyway. Maybe Wikipedia.

    Do you blog?
    Yes, emilyawayfromhome.tumblr.com.

    Do you use Twitter? How?
    Yes, @ewalkenhorst. I mostly follow other news organizations and tweet at friends and organizations I’m involved in.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I’ve worked at the Daily Nebraskan and the Daily Republic in Mitchell, S.D. I took the Special Olympics reporting class last summer and the Digital Media India class this summer.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    I work at the Daily Nebraskan as a slot editor on copy desk and a sports writer. I hope to intern next summer as well and am looking for whatever I can get.

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    Yes, but not online.

  2. Kelly O'Malley
    August 23, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    Kelly O’Malley

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Kelly O’Malley. I am a 5th year senior.

    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I am from Grand Island, Nebraska. I came to Lincoln to get out of Grand Island and get cheap football tickets.

    What is your major?
    Broadcasting, on the production side.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to improve on my grammar and have a better understanding of how the newspaper works.

    What’s your dream job?
    Retire at the age of 30.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I like riding my bicycle. I hope to someday soon, ride my bike from Lincoln to Omaha.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I’ve never owned a pet.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, both my parents attended UNL.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    5.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    “Catcher in the Rye” by J.D. Salinger and half of “Choke” by Chuck Palahniuk.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I read the Omaha World-Herald paper when I can. I go to Digg.com at least twice a day.

    What is your favorite website?
    ESPN, Facebook, Pitchforkmedia and Hotmail.

    Do you blog?
    No.

    Do you use Twitter? How?
    No.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I currently work at HuskerVision.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    Negative.

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    I do have a resume, but it is currently not online.

  3. Connor Schuessler
    August 23, 2011 at 10:21 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    My name is Connor Schuessler, and I am a junior.

    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I’m from Omaha originally. I came to UNL because it is an excellent university that was close to home, but not too close. I’ve also been a huge Husker fan my whole life.

    What is your major?
    I am a News-Editorial major.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to further my grammar skills and knowledge of the AP Stylebook, while also learning more about the duties and responsibilities of an editor.

    What’s your dream job?
    Though it may sound a bit cliche for a former athlete, my dream job is to work as a beat-writer for an NBA franchise, or really, just any job in covering sports. My passion has always been sports and now that I am learning that writing is another passion of mine, I would love to combine the two.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    As i stated earlier, I love sports in general (with basketball, football, and soccer being at the top) and I really enjoy writing. I try my best to stay active, though my inner lazyboy does his best to put the kibosh on those plans most of the time.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I was born in a car, en route to the hospital.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, my mom attended Wesleyan University, and my father attended UNL.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    6.5

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I just finished reading Larry Bird’s book, “Bird Watching”, and I have just began reading the series written by George R. R. Martin, “A Song of Ice and Fire”, with the first book, “A Game of Thrones”.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I often read the Omaha World-Herald, and visit Yahoo frequently as well.

    What is your favorite website?
    HuskerOnline is probably the website i frequent the most, while obviously Facebook gets a number of visits as well.

    Do you blog?
    I do not blog.

    Do you use Twitter? How?
    I do not use Twitter.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I do not.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    Not currently.

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    I have neither.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

