Home > bios > Afternoon class: It’s All About You

Afternoon class: It’s All About You

If you’re in the afternoon class, post your comments here.

Categories: bios Tags:
  1. Zach Tegler
    August 21, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    Zach Tegler. Sophomore.

    I am from Eagle, Nebraska, although I went to high school in Waverly, Nebraska. I chose to attend the University of Nebraska-Lincoln because it is close to home and, frankly, I love Nebraska football too much to be very far away from it. I am a Journalism and History major whose dream job is “SportsCenter” anchor. Out of this class, I hope to keep improving my grammar skills and learn how to edit different types of material. My biggest passion outside school (and Husker football) is golf, even though I am not all that good. Beyond that, another very large passion I have is marching band. I have played trombone since fifth grade and I am in the Cornhusker Marching Band. The most interesting thing about me is probably the fact that I am an enormous sports fan. I will watch almost any sport, and when I get bored, I am known to research random sports information, statistics and history.

    On a scale of 1 to 10, my knowledge of grammar and punctuation is probably a 9, but since I do not have as much experience working with AP Style, my knowledge of that is definitely a little smaller. I read the Lincoln Journal Star regularly and much more often than any other publication. The only other source I regularly tap for information is ESPN.com, which also happens to be my favorite website. I do not blog and I am not on Twitter, and the only media experience I have was two years on the staff of my high school newspaper. I did interview for a sports clerk position this past summer, and although I was not hired, I am still interested in a media-related job right now–most likely at the Daily Nebraskan or the Dailyer Nebraskan. I do not have a resume, but I do have a portfolio–albeit consisting only of high school works.

  2. August 21, 2011 at 11:58 pm

    Chris Dorwart. Junior.

    I am from Omaha, Neb. I came to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln because I knew about the journalism program from high school and I knew it was what I wanted to do. I am trying to double-major in news-editorial and advertising. I am more of a photographer than a writer but do enjoy writing. So I hope to be able to edit my captions and stories so that they are flawless. My dream job would be working for a news organization as a staff photographer and assisting in other areas of the publication as well. There are many aspects of journalism that I enjoy.

    Some outside interests I have include; sports, snowboarding, longboarding, bicycling, etc. I love the outdoors and like experiencing new things. I will always find an answer to something and if it seems impossible then I will find a way to do it. My passion is journalism. I love it and will always try to improve my craft. A unique quality about me would have to be that I can wiggle my ears. That’s the best I can think of right now. I am not the first person in my family to attend a university. I am one of the first ones to attend UNL. In my family we are a bunch of die-hard Creighton fans. My knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style would have to be about an eight.

    Right now, since Borders is going out of business I got a lot of sports-related books. I bought one entitled, “The Best American Sports Writing.” I’m not a writer, but enjoy books that will help me improve my writing by looking at other great stories. I also like the Dan Brown novels. I have the USA Today set as my homepage and visit the Journal Star’s website and the Omaha World-Herald website quite frequently. I also like to read Sports Illustrated or ESPN the magazine. My favorite website would have to be twitter. I don’t use it a whole lot, but when I do I can find out a lot of news articles because of what I follow. I do have a blog. It’s not about my life or anything. I update every so often. It’s a photo blog of assignments I cover and it is: cpdorwart.wordpress.com. I do use Twitter but not too often. I use it mostly to follow athletes or teams I am a fan of to get quick updates. I also like to find news articles that are added instantly to Twitter.

    My media/communication experience comes from working for my high school newspaper and yearbook. I’ve also worked for the Daily Nebraskan as a sports writer and photographer. This fall I am the Omaha World-Herald fellow for photography and did some freelance work for them this last summer. I am hoping to get an internship at the Dallas Morning News for the Winter/Spring. It may require me to take a semester off but if I got it I think it’d be worth it. I do have a resume and portfolio but don’t have a website with it. I should probably post it to my wordpress blog but haven’t. A lot of the photos on there are probably in my portfolio as well.

  3. Kelsey Baker
    August 22, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Kelsey Baker. Junior.

    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I’m from here in Lincoln. I came because I was offered a good scholarship and it seemed like a good fit.

    What is your major?
    Secondary Language Arts Education.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    Not only will this class help me in journalism, but it will also improve my editing skills as an English teacher.

    What’s your dream job?
    Being a public speaker for teenage girls.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    People. I love to spend time with people. I love to help people. I love to hear peoples’ stories.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I can plug my nose with my upper lip.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, my parents met at Wayne State University.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    6 or 7.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I’ve been rereading the Harry Potter series, and Radical by David Platt.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    Lincoln Journal Star and Sports Illustrated.

    What is your favorite website?
    Facebook

    Do you blog?
    Yes, I have a blogger account.

    Do you use Twitter? How?
    Yes, I use it mostly for personal musings, but I also use it to follow big names.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    A couple classes in high school, but nothing major.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    No.

    Do you have a resume or portfolio?
    No.

  4. Frannie Sprouls
    August 22, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Frannie Sprouls

    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I’m from Cottage Grove, Minnesota, which is ten minutes southeast of St. Paul. Both of my parents attended UNL and I was born and raised to be a Husker. I couldn’t go to any other school.

    What is your major?
    News-editorial.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to get a better grasp of the AP Stylebook, as well as getting a look at the editing side of journalism.

    What’s your dream job?
    I would love to own a small used bookstore, with a cafe attached. Then I could always be around books.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    My passion is definitely writing, as well as reading (but those go hand in hand, I think). I definitely should not be allowed in any bookstore unsupervised because I could end up spending more money than I should. When I’m not reading or writing, I’m usually watching British television shows or foreign films,preferably German or British.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I could say my natural red hair makes me unique, since I was the first ginger in two generations. But that’s expected, I suppose. What’s not expected is I was named after Fran Tarkenton, a quarterback for the Minnesota Vikings.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    I’m not the first person in my family to attend a university.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    I would have to say I’m about a 6 or a 7.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I don’t think I could list all of the books I’ve read in the past three months because I’ve honestly lost track. I read the Hunger Games trilogy and within the past month, I’ve been reading a lot of Agatha Christie novels.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I have a subscription to TIME magazine and now I am back at school, I always pick up a copy of the Journal Star, the Daily Nebraskan and a copy of the New York Times, if there are any left.

    What is your favorite website?
    This past summer I’ve become addicted to Tumblr, which probably will not help me avoid procrastination.

    Do you blog?
    I created a Tumblr account at the beginning of the summer, but that’s about it. I mostly blog about books, reading, writing, anything British, etc. I’m planning on making a more professional blog within the next few months.

    Do you use Twitter? How?
    I’ve had Twitter for a year now and I mostly tweet any thoughts I have or news events I think are important. It’s mostly a personal Twitter account.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I’m starting my second year with the Daily Nebraskan as the ASUN beat reporter. Last year, I was the RHA beat reporter for most of the year. Also, this past summer, I freelanced with Patch.com in Oakdale, MN.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    As of right now, I’m not pursuing a media-related internship but I do have my job at the DN.

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    I do have a resume but I haven’t put together a portfolio as of yet. I don’t have it on a website at all but once I set up a professional blog site, I’ll post everything there.

  5. Marc Zakrzewski
    August 22, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Marc Zakrzewski/Senior

    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I’m from O’Neill, Nebraska originally. I attended the University of Notre Dame for three years. Due to a heart condition, I needed to return home to seek treatment. While home, I took a job as the sports director for a local radio station. Once I was given a clean bill of health, I realized that broadcasting was my passion. I decided to finish my education at UNL because it was closer to home.

    What is your major?
    Broadcasting

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I am somebody who can talk all day but cannot write to save my life. I hope that this class will help me become better in that aspect.

    What’s your dream job?
    I would love to be a play-by-play announcer for a pro baseball team.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I’ve always loved sports and have a strong passion for both baseball and football. I’m also a pop culture nerd who loves Dr Pepper and video games.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I attended school in a one-room schoolhouse through the 7th grade.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    Yes

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    3

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I just finished a book about how the mafia ran Las Vegas that was fascinating.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I subscribe to Rolling Stone and Sports Illustrated. I also do the LA Times crossword everyday. I usually rely on CNN, Huffington Post, ESPN and the Lincoln Journal Star for news.

    What is your favorite website?
    ESPN.com

    Do you blog?
    I was the Notre Dame correspondent for bigeastsportsblog.com for 16 months before I left.

    Do you use Twitter? How?
    I mainly use Twitter to follow other people. I never usually have anything interesting to share with other people.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I was the sports director for KBRX radio for two years and also ran their website.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    No, are you hiring?

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    http://www.marcpaulzak.com/resume/resume.html

  6. Connor Stange
    August 22, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Connor Stange. Sophomore.

    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    Lincoln, Neb. My older brother attended UNL and enjoyed it, and I decided that I didn’t want to move very far from home.

    What is your major?
    News Editorial

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to become a more detail-oriented editor when it comes to reviewing my work as well as others.

    What’s your dream job?
    My dream job is to be an anchor for ESPN.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I enjoy golfing and watching movies. I have always loved sports, whether it is playing them or watching them, so that is definitely my passion.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I have a birthmark on my face and I don’t know anyone else who does. I sometimes forget it is even there until someone reminds me.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No. My brother graduated from UNL with a construction management degree two years ago and my parents both graduated (from Iowa and Iowa State) in the late 1970s.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    7. I took Journalism 202 with Ms. Christensen and it was a very detail-oriented class and also very difficult. I took a lot out of it and I think it has made me a better writer.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I have been reading a book called “Augusta” about the golf course that hosts the Masters tournament every April. I read most of it over the summer because it is a topic that I enjoy to read about.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    Sports Illustrated is my favorite magazine and I also enjoy reading Golf Magazine. My family gets the Lincoln Journal Star every day, so I usually read that. I frequently visit ESPN.com and USA Today to receive my news via Internet.

    What is your favorite website?
    I hate to sound like a broken record but Facebook is an amazing tool for communication among friends, so I would consider that my favorite website.

    Do you blog?
    No. I used to but I couldn’t stay motivated.

    Do you use Twitter? How?
    Yes. I don’t tweet very often; I think my most in one day is four tweets. I usually tweet things that I find funny while hanging out with friends or my random thoughts throughout the day.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I currently work at the Nebraska Athletic Media Relations department for the university. I am starting my second year as a student-assistant, primarily working with the men’s golf and women’s rifle teams.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    No. I am happy with my current job.

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    No.

  7. August 22, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    Emily Deck
    Super Senior

    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I am from Lincoln, NE. Well it wasn’t on purpose that I came here. I came back last year. I was majoring in Professional Writing at the University of Oklahoma in their Journalism College. Anyway I ended up back at home, but I think this isn’t such a bad place to have to study.

    What is your major?
    My major is News-Ed.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I would like improve my knowledge of AP style and gain more passion for Journalism.

    What’s your dream job?
    I use to say that I would like to write for a magazine or have a column and just write about my life. After JOUR 163, I am a little more interested in doing something with video.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I really like pop culture, and I spend a lot of time with my family.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I have a 7-month-old son which will stop being unique in a few years.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, My parents and my grandparents all attended a university.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    6

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    Textbooks… ha. I am reading a grily book right now by Emily Giffin

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I won’t lie. I usually just look at People magazine’s website or PerezHilton occasionally I look at the Drudge Report.. To be fair even Perez Hilton can tell you Osama died.
    What is your favorite website?
    Well I like to shop or look at clothes and never buy them so forever21.com.
    Do you blog?
    I did but I haven’t updated in a very long time.

    Do you use Twitter? How?
    No. It bothered me that when I googled my name that my Twitter appeared first in the results so I deleted the one I had.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I did the whole high school paper then an internship at a small paper after my senior year, but that was four years ago now. Last summer, I did work as an editorial intern at a magazine in Arlington, VA but I did more office jobs.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    Somewhat, I would like one that I could learn more about video and graphic design.

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    http://www.ejdeck.com. Be amazed. Dreamweaver and I did not get along.

  8. Jordan Kranse
    August 23, 2011 at 12:23 am

    Jordan Kranse. Sophomore.

    Where are you from? Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I’m from Castle Rock, Colorado. I chose to come to UNL because I was offered a full tuition scholarship. I also heard they had a great music program, which was the main thing I was looking for in a college.

    What is your major?
    I’m a triple major in music education, journalism, and broadcasting.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I’m generally pretty good at editing papers, but I’ve never really worked with AP style. I hope that I have a decent understanding of it by the end of this class! I’m also looking forward to getting more experience with working with media.

    What’s your dream job?
    I’m not really sure. I have about 15 dream jobs at the moment, so I’m trying to figure out which one I actually want to do. I definitely know that I want to work for Disney someday. I also want to run my own marching band and work for a magazine or newspaper. I would love to find a way to do both journalism and music, so something that combined them would definitely be my dream job.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    Music is probably my biggest passion. It has played a huge part in my life and had a hand in molding who I am as a person. Currently, I’m a music education major with an emphasis in trumpet and I’m a leader in the Cornhusker Marching Band. It’s a great release and I absolutely love doing it. I like to play sports, especially basketball and ultimate Frisbee. I also love to read whenever I get the chance.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I broke my front tooth jet skiing this summer! I also got caught in a lightning storm hiking a 14,000-foot mountain. This has probably been the most dangerous summer I’ve had in my life.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, both of my parents graduated from college.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    I would say that I’m about an 8.5 or 9 in grammar and punctuation. I have never used AP style before, so on that I’d rate myself at about a 2. I’m excited to learn how to use it!

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    Oh my goodness, I’ve completely lost track of all the books I’ve read in the last three months. Just to list a few, I read the complete Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series, I reread the first and last Harry Potter books, the original Peter Pan, and about 5 or 6 others!

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I’m from Colorado, so I generally read the Denver Post. This last year, I started using the New York Times website (I’m not sure that will continue now that they are charging money for it). I like to read Time magazine whenever I get the chance to, but that’s the only magazine I really read on a regular basis.

    What is your favorite website?
    I hate to be cliché, but my favorite website is probably Facebook.

    Do you blog?
    Not yet, but I’ve been considering it.

    Do you use Twitter? How?
    Yes, I do use Twitter! I got it mainly to follow my marching band directors, but it has slowly turned into my outlet for celebrity gossip. I don’t really Tweet much.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I don’t have any media or communication experience that I would really say is applicable. I did take Journalism 101 last semester, but that’s about it.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    Not yet!

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    I have a resume, but it’s not online.

  9. Paige Cornwell
    August 23, 2011 at 12:31 am

    Paige Cornwell. Junior.

    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I am from Leawood, Kan., which is a suburb of Kansas City. I met UNL recruiter Scott Winter at a high school journalism workshop and he told me about the opportunities for journalists at UNL. I applied to many schools but I received the best scholarship from UNL.
    What is your major?
    I am a news-editorial major.
    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to further my knowledge of AP style and news judgement.
    What’s your dream job?
    My dream job is to cover Southeast Asia affairs for a major news organization.
    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I am pursuing minors in Human Rights and Humanitarian Affairs and Criminal Justice, so I enjoy reading about and researching social justice issues. I also enjoy dancing and photography.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I’ve traveled to seven countries – Singapore, Cambodia, Indonesia, Japan, England, Malaysia and Sri Lanka – in the past two years. I fell in love with Cambodia. It’s a beautiful country, despite its bloody past.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    I am not the first person in my family to attend a university.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    I would rate myself as a 7.
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I am currently reading “Headline: Starkweather,” which was written by Lincoln Journal editors. During the summer I read “I am a Man” by Joe Starita and reread “Angela’s Ashes” by Frank McCourt.
    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I read the print version of the Journal Star and Omaha World-Herald every day. I always have the Journal Star, CNN, Al Jazeera, BBC and Kansas City Star websites open on my computer, which my colleagues constantly tease me about because I always have so many tabs open.
    What is your favorite website?
    CNN.com
    Do you blog?
    I used a blog for posting stories while I was in Asia, but I haven’t updated the blog since I have been home.
    Do you use Twitter? How?
    I use Twitter to post short updates and things I find interesting throughout the day. I also use it to look at what the conversations other people in Lincoln are having. Last week I used storify.com to search Twitter posts to find sources for my story.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I worked at the Daily Nebraskan until last January, when I started interning at the Lincoln Journal Star. I was also in the immigration depth reporting class last semester.
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    I will be a reporting intern at the Lincoln Journal Star until December, so I am not actively pursuing an internship or job at this time.
    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    I have a website that links to my blog and stories. My website is http://www.paigecornwell.com.

  10. Kyle Cummings
    August 23, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Kyle Cummings – Sophomore.

    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I am from Alliance, Nebraska. I chose to attend the University of Nebraska-Lincoln because I knew many people who loved the Journalism program, and I also always knew I would be a Husker.

    What is your major?
    News-Editorial.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to get a better understanding on how to edit more visually. Being able to make lay-outs or designs more appealing I think would be very beneficial.

    What’s your dream job?
    As of now I’ve gone back and forth on what my dream job would be. I used to be set on being a sports writer for a well-known paper or magazine, but now I’m more interested in doing something online.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    A few things that keep me relaxed and focused are playing golf or tennis or just sitting back and listening to music.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    One thing that makes me different is the fact that I really don’t have a sweet tooth at all. I think I engulfed enough cookies as a kid that I don’t care for too many of them anymore.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, both of my older brothers graduated from UNL and my parents both have degrees from UNK.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    I would rate myself either a five or a six. My grammar and punctuation are decent, but AP tends to give me trouble.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I’m just starting a book called the Inner Mind of Tennis. It’s a book about the mental aspects of life.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I read Sports Illustrated, and when I’m on campus I try to regularly read the Lincoln Journal Star and the Daily Nebraskan also.

    What is your favorite website?
    I tend to use Pandora a lot when doing homework or trying to study.

    Do you blog?
    No.

    Do you use Twitter? How?
    I do not use Twitter.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I worked for my high school newspaper for three years, as well as the high school yearbook for a year. For my last two years of high school I was also a sports writer at the local paper in Alliance.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    Not pursuing, but I currently hold an internship that shed more experience of media onto my resume. I am an intern at the Center for Rural Entrepreneurship. I was hired on as a project associate, which including setting up and conducting follow-up interviews with CEO’s of the company’s clients.

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    I do have a resume and touches of a portfolio on past work that I have done, but nothing major has been put online.

  11. Michael Menish
    August 23, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    Your name. Year in school.
    Michael Menish. Senior
    Where are you from? Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    Norfolk, NE Better education
    What is your major?
    Language Arts Education
    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    A better understanding of editing
    What’s your dream job?
    High School English teacher
    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    Baking, movies
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I am the only red haired person in my family
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    Yes
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    4
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    Harry Potter, Percy Jackson and the lightening thief
    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    Norfolk Daily News, MSN
    What is your favorite website?
    Facebook
    Do you blog?
    No
    Do you use Twitter? How?
    No
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    Not really
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    No
    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    No

  12. Jacob Sorensen
    August 23, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Jacob Sorensen. Junior.

    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I am from Beatrice, Neb. I came to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln because I knew it had a top-6 journalism school in the nation, and for me entering into broadcasting, it made sense to stay in state and have the chance to work with networks I was very familiar with.

    What is your major?
    I am double-majoring in Broadcasting and News-Editorial, with a minor in Spanish.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to improve my writing skills. I love and have always loved writing, but sometimes I miss the small things. I want to become a much better editor and overall writer.

    What’s your dream job?
    My dream job is to be the voice of the PGA Tour or to be the play-by-play announcer for the Miami Dolphins, but working for any major network would be a dream.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I am an avid golfer and tennis player, and strongly considered scholarships to other schools to play there. My passion is honestly sports broadcasting and following sports, as well as singing and just living life to the fullest.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I worked with the Southwestern Company the past two summers, selling educational books and software door-to-door on the East Coast with no guarantees, on straight commission. I did well both summers, and made a lot of friends. It is honestly the most difficult thing I have ever done, but by far and away the most rewarding internship ever, with an unbelievable feeling of appreciation at the end of the summer for the small things in life you give up for those three crazy months.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, I am not the first person in my family to attend a university.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    I would grade myself as a 7 or 8 in my knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    Since I was selling books for 84 hours a week the past three months, I didn’t have any time to read books. The last books I read were “The Greatest Salesman in the World,” by Og Mandino, and “Tales from Q School,” by John Feinstein. My favorite book of recent memory is “Always By My Side,” by Jim Nantz, CBS anchor.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I read the Lincoln Journal Star with the most regularity, and I am addicted to ESPN.com and CBSSports.com for sports information.

    What is your favorite website?
    As a diehard Miami Dolphin fan, I am glued to Finheaven.com, a Dolphins forum, as well as Facebook.com for social interaction and ProFootballTalk.com for NFL news.

    Do you blog?
    Yes, I am a main correspondent for Nebraska’s sbnation.com site, CornNation.com

    Do you use Twitter? How?
    Yes, I use Twitter. I use it to repost clever ‘tweets’ from the people I follow, while also stating things I feel strongly about.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    Yes, I interned at 10/11 News (KOLN) in Lincoln during the spring semester of my sophomore year, and also I work for KRNU on the Sports Staff, broadcasting each Husker event. I also worked for the Beatrice Daily Sun newspaper for several years.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    Yes, I am pursuing an internship with the PGA Tour for media relations for the summer.

    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    Yes, I have a resume, but it is not posted on a website.

  13. August 23, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Liang Xiang. Junior
    Where are you from? Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I’m from Qingdao, Shandong Province, China.
    I studied in GAC-ACT Center, which is a pre-college program from 2008 to 2009. I was suggested by one of my English teachers to come to UNL because its good journalism major.
    What is your major?
    News-Editorial
    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    Since I am still learning English that is not my first language, I hope this class can improve my writing and editing skill.
    What’s your dream job?
    To run my own magazine
    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I love cooking and watching movies.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I play a Chinese traditional instrument named cucurbit flute. Less and less people can play it now.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No. My parents both attended universities in China.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    I would rate myself 4 or 5.
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I’m reading a book written by a Chinese famous host. It is about the communication technique. I will also trying to read some English books.
    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I read new from the websites of New York Times.
    What is your favorite website?
    Facebook; Renren; iciba.com…
    Do you blog?
    I wrote journals on my blog when I was in High school. I haven’t blog for a long time.
    Do you use Twitter? How?
    I just registered one last week. I’m going to use it.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    No
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    No
    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    No

  14. August 23, 2011 at 11:57 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Adam Kroft; Sophomore
    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I’m from Buffalo Grove, Illinois, which is a northwest suburb of Chicago. I chose the University of Nebraska-Lincoln because the atmosphere that UNL creates. It’s something I’ve never seen in my life; everyone is so relaxed and easygoing, which provides a structured learning environment.
    What is your major?
    Currently, I am majoring in journalism; I recently switched from broadcasting last semester.
    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    During this class I hope to become a more proficient editor. My weakest area is grammar, and I’m hoping to learn more about that from this class.
    What’s your dream job?
    My dream job would be a highly successful sports writer. I love watching sports, and I’ve recently found a passion for writing.
    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I have a very odd hobby; I love collecting Nike Shoes. They’re something that I’m very passionate about. They give me the freedom of dressing how I want.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    The one thing that make’s me unique is what I just talked about above. I’m an avid Nike collector, and I have about forty pairs of Nike’s. That makes me different and unique from anyone else I know.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, my mother attended Wisconsin-Whitewater, and my father attended Tulane University.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    I would give myself a two or three. When I took the ACT I was in the top five percentile in math, but I always struggled in English. I would say it’s my worst subject when it comes to grammar, punctuation, AP Style, etc.
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I began to reread all the Harry Potter books; the series have been my favorite books since my childhood. After seeing the seventh movie, I felt the urge to reminisce on my childhood memories.
    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I’m always checking ‘yahoo.com’ it seems to have the best and most intriguing up to date stories. I don’t read magazines or newspapers very much; I tend to get all my news stories online.
    What is your favorite website?
    My favorite website is probably Facebook. Social networking gives you so much power to connect with others across the world.
    Do you blog?
    I have a blog I created last year during my web design class. I don’t keep it updated, but I should begin blogging about my daily life. The one problem is the only people that would follow my blog would be my parents.
    Do you use Twitter? How?
    I do use Twitter, the main reason I use Twitter is to follow my favorite celebrities, and possibly be tweeted back by them.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    No, I feel if I need a journalism related job in the future, I need to get more involved, so that’s something I will be looking at.
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    Yes, I’m looking to get an internship with ‘bleacherreport.com.’ I would love to write articles about the Cornhuskers football team.
    Do you have a resume or portfolio? Is it posted on a website? If so, please provide a link.
    No, I need to create one though. I’m currently job searching and having a resume would really help.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

