Home > design > Design favorites, A.M. class

Design favorites, A.M. class

If you’re in the a.m. class, post your comments here.

Categories: design Tags:
  1. Lucy Fitzpatrick
    November 29, 2010 at 11:24 am

    http://www.newseum.org/todaysfrontpages/hr.asp?fpVname=CT_NHR&ref_pge=gal&b_pge=2

    I chose the New Haven register because it grabbed my attention from just the small thumbnail alone. What really grabbed me at first glance was its use of color. I don’t know what color is typically used for the nameplate, but I liked that the color used on this day matched up somewhat with the color of the woman’s sweater in the dominant photo. Although the color wasn’t identical, it brought my attention from the nameplate to the photo and then to the story. I liked the use of photos underneath the nameplate. Sometimes in class we’ve seen how this doesn’t work effectively, but here I can sill easily ready the nameplate while at the same time enjoying the use of photos. I think there is definitely an entry point on this page, it’s the photo above the fold. It is clearly dominiant. I like that the headlines and photos were smaller beneath the fold. I also liked how the color tied in at the very bottom of the page. The differences in the two sports stories dislplayed on top was also effective in showing distinction between the two photos. I liked the use of alliteration with both of those headlines. The only thing I didn’t like was the small amount of white space above the caption on the photo beneath the fold.

  2. Mitch Mattern
    November 29, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    http://www.newseum.org/todaysfrontpages/hr.asp?fpVname=NJ_SL&ref_pge=tpt

    The front page of The Star-Ledger grabbed my attention because of the way it presented the WikiLeaks story. Many newspapers, such as the New York Times, went with a single picture for the story. But The Star-Ledger set itself apart by using five small photos with captions explaining how certain countries and world leaders were implicated in the documents released by WikiLeaks. Below these five photos is a large photo of the founder of WikiLeaks, Julian Assange. The photo has text on it, but it I think it is one of those situations where it actually works. The headline for this story is also very effective. This main story takes up about two thirds of the front page, but there is a lot of good information. The other smaller stories along the side and the bottom of the page also have effective, attention grabbing headlines. Only one other story has a photo, but there is not too much gray on the page. Overall, this front page is well organized and does a better job of presenting the WikiLeaks story than most other papers.

  3. Danielle Kaster
    November 30, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    http://www.newseum.org/todaysfrontpages/hr.asp?fpVname=NV_SUN&ref_pge=gal&b_pge=7

    I really liked the front page design for the Las Vegas Sun. The main photograph was of an over-the-top burlesque dancer in a deep red dress. The woman is putting on a matching hat. The color caught my eye instantly and the woman’s facial features made me take a second look. They followed the rules of keeping one picture dominant. The story below talks about Christina Aguilera and her new movie. The front page has two other smaller pictures and a total of three stories. The look of the page was very clean and modern. The font for headlines was different than I normally see and some some headers were in red ink.

  4. Justin Van Nostrand
    November 30, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    http://www.newseum.org/todaysfrontpages/hr.asp?fpVname=AL_HT&ref_pge=gal&b_pge=1

    The front page of The Huntsville Times grabbed my attention instantly. The page puts Barack Obama’s face huge right in the middle with a big, red speech bubble that says “Pay Freeze.” The headline reads “The two words nobody wants to hear…” and then Obama’s speech bubble finishes the sentence. The page is really eye catching and definitely makes you want to read more when you see a blown up image of the President’s face and the words pay freeze coming out of his mouth. The story goes on to include how a pay freeze will affect some people in Huntsville and how it will not affect others which definitely sparks community interest. The rest of the page is fairly uneventful but the main story is enough to draw readers in.

  5. Elle Engebretson
    November 30, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    The newspaper that I like is the front page of The Forum from today’s paper. The visual that caught my eye was a huge milk glass in the center of the page, with milk being poured into it from the top boarder of the page. The headline underneath in bold letters read “VITAMIN D DEBATE.” The glass was the main picture on the page but the rest of the stories were neatly organized and easy to find with bold titles. The reason I chose this newspaper was because of the strong visual. I looked at many papers and none jumped out at me like this. It is a clever and an appealing visual that other papers didn’t have. It isn’t a boring picture of a glass of milk. It was an interesting graphic design. I also liked the use of white space. Even though there was only one picture, the paper was still consistent and the overall design on the package was nice. It isn’t too cluttered with words, the layout breaks up the stories well and each headline draws its own attention because of the boldness and the size of the font used. Other readers would be drawn to this front page because it’s out of the ordinary. They will be intrigued with why there is a huge glass of milk on the front page.

    https://my.unl.edu/webapps/portal/frameset.jsp?tab_tab_group_id=_2_1&url=/webapps/blackboard/execute/courseMain?course_id=_303489_1

  6. Meagan Jungman
    November 30, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    http://www.newseum.org/todaysfrontpages/hr.asp?fpVname=VA_VP&ref_pge=gal&b_pge=11

    The front page graphic on the Virginian-Pilot made enough of an impression on me that I actually read the story it illustrated. The article was about the effect the pay freezes on federal workers would have on alleviating the U.S. deficit. The large, red-orange circle represents the deficit, and thus covered most of the front page. It also had very little text placed over it, thus giving the reader a sense that the deficit is a very large, intimidating thing. On the other hand, the small white circle inside the large orange circle represents the federal savings the pay freeze will generate. The contrasting sizes and colors, along with informative captions paint a very clear picture for readers. The graphic is successfully informative enough to convey the entire meaning of the story, and yet striking enough to make the reader want to pause and learn more about the issue it depicts.

    The rest of the front page layout is also very clean, orderly and does not distract from the main story.

  7. Marissa Coopersmith
    November 30, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    http://www.newseum.org/todaysfrontpages/hr.asp?fpVname=WI_DT&ref_pge=gal&b_pge=1

    I know we were supposed to choose one that we thought really worked, but instead I chose this one for all the reasons that it doesn’t work. This is the cover of the Daily Tribune in Wisconsin. The first thing I noticed was the dollar bill rule discussed in class. This front page definately does not pass – there’s way to much text and not enough imagery. There’s only one main photo and there are no smaller images to support it anywhere on the page or any that go with the other stories. You would think that the only story they included a photo with would be the main, most prominent one, but instead, the story up top has the biggest headline font. Not only that but the headline is completely boring. Also, the font for that headline isn’t consistent with any of the other headlines on the page. Consistency was one of the key factors discussed in the article and this front page doesn’t seem to have much of that or a very unique layout. There’s not much boldness or anything eye-popping on the page whatsoever. I think the Daily Tribune’s design could use some much needed improvement…

  8. Jeremy Hamann
    November 30, 2010 at 11:50 pm

    http://www.newseum.org/todaysfrontpages/hr.asp?fpVname=CA_SCS&ref_pge=gal&b_pge=2

    I chose the Santa Cruz Sentinel’s front page as my choice because of how it presents me the story of the escaped convict. I am hit with three three strong subheads “The Escape,” “On The Run” and “The Arrest.” These three subheads have summaries of the information that I need to know now. I get a good summary of events before I even get to the main image, which is a strong one.In light of this, if I were to choose a theme that this front page had I would say it was: “need to know.” Underneath the large photo we are only given two stories encompasing all of the paper’s 5 wide columns. This design does not overwhelm, it instead clearly presents what the editor thinks we need to take away from a potentially chaotic story. Another striking thing about this front page is that the photos take up a majority of space. The editor must have thought that the images of myriad law enforcement officers set the desired tone.

  9. December 1, 2010 at 12:42 am

    http://www.newseum.org/todaysfrontpages/hr.asp?fpVname=AL_HT&ref_pge=gal&b_pge=1

    This is the Huntsville Times newspaper. I browsed through the first couple pages on the website and this one really caught my eye. I like cutout backgrounds a lot. When there is a really good photo and a design team can work their magic, cutouts can be incredible design techniques. I’d think you’d only want to do a cutout if it really worked. There are times when people do cutouts in headlines and they don’t work at all. Ex: http://www.newseum.org/todaysfrontpages/hr.asp?fpVname=HI_SA&ref_pge=gal&b_pge=3

    The guy stretching is not a good angle. A cutout background will work and draw someone in if the photo would look just as a good as a normal photo. The Huntsville Times paper drew me in because I knew it was Obama’s face and then I saw the little speech-box. That really caught my attention. It was very bold and I wanted to know what the pay freeze was all about. Then the main headline was “Two words nobody wants to hear”. Now I want to know what those words are and I’ve become interested in this story so I may read it, especially with all of the stuff going on in politics these days.

    The page looks very clean and well done. Whoever does this pays great attention to detail. i don’t really like the teaser photo at the top. It could’ve been a better one. One thing I don’t like about Obama’s face is how it seems to be coming out of the story. I wish they would’ve had the story on the other side and had his face just come out of the side. It would’ve made it look better. The story looks secluded now and since Obama is facing to the left people won’t look to the right. People follow pictures and whatever direction they are pointing. You don’t want a picture taking someone’s eyes off the page and away from a story. In the Honolulu paper. The mug of the lady on the far right. She is looking off to the right. When I saw that I was wondering what she was looking at and it kind of makes me take my eyes off the page.

    The Huntsville Times really stood out because of how clean it was compared to the others. They didn’t have too much on the page and had almost everything that needed to be said. They planned it well and it really showed.

  10. Samantha Rendon
    December 8, 2010 at 1:54 am

    http://www.newseum.org/todaysfrontpages/hr.asp?fpVname=UT_SLT&ref_pge=gal&b_pge=11

    One of my favorites from today’s front pages came from The Salt Lake Tribune. From the thumbnail images, the large image of the gun is what caught my attention. After taking a closer look at the entire page, I noticed that it is quite different from most other front pages. There appears to be more white space. Although there are lots of stories on the front page, it seems less overwhelming because there is more white space. I also like that the layout at the bottom of the page is different. Instead of a few small stories and the weather running across the bottom horizontally, they appear in their own mini columns across the bottom third of the page.

    I like that there is a lot of information and pictures on the front page yet, it doesn’t seem intimidating or cluttered. Beyond the page layout being balanced, I noticed that the stories are also well balanced when it comes to the variety of topics they cover on this front page.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

