Home > bios > It’s all about you, PM class

It’s all about you, PM class

If you are in the PM class, post your comments here.

Categories: bios
  1. Taylor Dahl
    August 23, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    Where are you from? Scribner, Nebraska

    
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    For the great journalism program and to get a great education.

    What is your major?
    Broadcasting/News-Editorial

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    To continue my learning of the skills of editing.

    What’s your dream job?
    Working for a broadcast team for the University of Nebraska.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I love sports, I love discussing sports preferably college football.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique? I am double jointed in my shoulders and elbows.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    Yes

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    Three to a four

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    Dreamseller by Joseph Frantz and Brandon Novak

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I read sportsillustrated, the omaha world herald, the lincoln journal star, I read the websites huskersillustrated.com and espn.com

    What is your favorite website?
    Youtube.com

    Do you blog?
    No

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I have an internship with HuskerVision. Also I have taken the basic communications classes.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    I am currently employed at HuskerVision.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes

    Taylor Dahl
    JOUR 201

  2. burzynskibullard
    August 24, 2010 at 8:32 am

    Kay Kemmet
    Sophomore

    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    Bismarck, N.D.
    The journalism college attracted me to UNL, and after visiting and receiving my financial aid package, it seemed to fit. I wanted to leave the state for college, mainly because N.D. does not have an established journalism program, and UNL was the closest and best choice for me.

    What is your major?
    I am a news-editorial journalism and English major. Spanish also interests me, and after I study abroad during my junior year, I might have a third major.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I plan on being a reporter and have used the AP stylebook regularly since I started working as a journalist in high school. However, I have never received formal training beyond English classes and former editors making red marks. I’m hoping this class will help me to hone my skills.

    What’s your dream job?
    My dream job would be working as a correspondent in a third world country for an established and successful American news source. I am really interested in cultural issues in different countries, especially issues women face. The issues of smaller, less established countries tend to lack representation, and I want to report on the lives of people in these nations.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I am becoming consistently interested in creative writing mostly because I am finding my own skill. I have always been interesting in formulating stories but have never felt confident in myself as a fiction writer. Basically, I love writing in every shape and form and am constantly fascinated by words.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I was raised on a cattle farm in a small North Dakota town— 200 people and shrinking small. We would be eating dinner, always red meat, and someone would mention that we were eating Joe, the family’s favorite steer. Now, to the constant dismay of my father, I am a semi-vegetarian. I have completely eliminated red meat from my diet and rarely eat other types of meat. Mostly, meat just grosses me out especially raw meat, and as a cooking lover, it is just easier to eliminate it rather than completely lose my appetite.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    All my siblings have attended college, but I am the first person in my family to leave the state. I have four older siblings who all live in Bismarck, N.D.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    During high school, my part-time job was working at my hometown newspaper writing stories and memorizing the AP stylebook. I would rate my knowledge at 6.5, and I am ready to up that score!

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    During the summer I read “Anthem,” “Tree Girl,” “The Book Thief,” the first two novels of the Millennium series by Stieg Larsson, “Less than Zero,” “The Bell Jar” and three textbooks for an independent study about Latin American civilization. Currently I’m reading “Lolita” and the last Millennium book depending on my mood.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I am a huge fashion magazine junky and religiously read Vogue, Nylon, Marie Claire and InStyle in print and online. I regularly read New York Times online and the Daily Nebraskan during the school year. During the summer, I interned at my hometown newspaper, so I read that paper everyday and now I read their website regularly.

    What is your favorite website?
    My favorite website changes regularly, but right now I can’t get enough of lookbook.nu which has different fashions and styles posted by young adults internationally.

    Do you blog?
    I do not have a blog, yet. But I have started putting together a website, and when I finally travel abroad, I hope to keep a blog about my experience.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I began working for my hometown newspaper as a junior in high school and am still on their payroll. Whenever I return home, I pick up stories or fill in as a copy editor. I also work at the DN. Last year I was a copy editor, designer and features reporter, and this year I have cut it down to just design and writing.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    Currently I am working at the DN, acting as design editor for the Dailyer Nebraskan and working as the recruiting assistant for CoJMC. In my job at the college, I edit and design recruiting materials.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    I haven’t updated my resume since last spring, but I consistently add clips to my portfolio.

    You can see all comments on this post here:

  3. Anna Reed
    August 24, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    Anna Reed
    Sophomore

    Where are you from? Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I am from Omaha. I decided to come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln because my scholarships required that I go to a school that was in state, and the Journalism College was very good.

    What is your major?
    I am a News-Editorial major.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to learn to be able to evaluate and critique my own, and others’ writing better. I also need to learn the proper AP citation methods.

    What’s your dream job?
    I would love to be a traveling photographer for a newspaper or magazine.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    My favorite thing to do is travel. I studied abroad this summer, and I am hoping to take at least a semester to study abroad my junior or senior year. I also love to swim and hang out with friends.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    This summer I studied abroad in Costa Rica, and went to the Grand Canyon. I am also a mentor for a learning community this year.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No. Both of my parents have multiple master’s degrees.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    I am maybe a three or four.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    Right now I am reading The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin. This summer I read some classics I thought that I should know, including Catch-22, The Grapes of Wrath, and Pride and Prejudice.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I read The New York Times, the Omaha World Herald, and the Daily Nebraskan everyday. I also like to read Vogue and Glamour.

    What is your favorite website?
    I like hulu.com and theonion.com.

    Do you blog?
    No, I do not.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I currently work for the Daily Nebraskan as a photographer.

    Are you pursuing a media-related internship or job at this time?
    I already work for the DN, but I am hoping to get an internship at a newspaper this summer.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    No. I should probably do that.

  4. Mallory Miller
    August 24, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    Mallory Miller. Sophomore.
    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I’m from Council Bluffs, IA. I came to UNL because I liked the journalism school and it was away from home, but not far enough away that I couldn’t visit when I wanted.
    What is your major?
    Journalism
    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to further my editing skills.
    What’s your dream job?
    Working for the Walt Disney Corporation in promotions and marketing.
    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I love movies and TV. I also enjoy teaching swim lessons.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I’m the Mass Media Learning Community mentor this year.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    Probably about a 4 or 5.
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I read a lot of short books over the summer, typical summer reading types of books. I also reread Pride & Prejudice for about the 20th time.
    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I always read the top headlines on yahoo throughout the day and I subscribe to Vanity Fair.
    What is your favorite website?
    Facebook.com
    Do you blog?
    No.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    Not really, just high school stuff.
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    No.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes.

  5. Bob Al-Greene
    August 24, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    Bob Al-Greene. Senior.
    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    Omaha. I got a scholarship, and UNL is a good distance away from home without being too far.
    What is your major?
    News-Editorial.
    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    A better understanding of AP Style, so it becomes more instinctive.
    What’s your dream job?
    Illustrator.
    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I’ve always been an artist. Drawing is what I do best.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I’m working on illustrating several comic books with a number of different writers currently.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    7.
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I’m currently reading Isaac Asimov’s “I, Robot,” as well as Phillip Roth’s “Everyman” and a number of graphic novel series including “Preacher,” “Sandman,” and “Y: The Last Man.”
    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    HuffingtonPost.com, Wonkette.com
    What is your favorite website?
    Tumblr.com.
    Do you blog?
    I maintain a blog of my artwork, but it’s been a while since I posted. I also have a Tumblr, if that kind of counts as a blog.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I’ve worked at the Daily Nebraskan for the last three years in a number of positions, including page designer, columnist, artist, cartoonist, reporter and summer editor.
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    I still work at the DN as an artist, copy editor and cartoonist.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    It’s at least a few months out-of-date.

  6. Katie Fennelly
    August 24, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    Your Name. Year in school. Katie Fennelly. Sophomore.

    Where are you from?
 Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? Omaha. I came to UNL because it’s hard to turn down free money.

    What is your major?
    History/News-Ed

    What do you hope to get out of this class? I’m still on the fence about majoring in News-Ed, so hopefully after this semester I can decide to stick with it or jump ship to Broadcasting or Advertising.

    What’s your dream job? I would love to work for a non-profit organization, especially one that provides resources and services to the homeless/others in need to help them create a better life for themselves. Basically, anything that is centered around helping others.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion? I love getting to know other people. Last year I volunteered at People’s City Mission three days a week. I am also an RA, so free time doesn’t really exist.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique? I am a die-hard Mets fan. Going to a game at Citi Field a month ago was hands-down the highlight of my summer.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? No.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style? Maybe a 4?

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months? Johnny Cash’s autobiography, Water for Elephants, Beautiful Boy, Persepolis.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly? The New Yorker, Rolling Stone, Daily Nebraskan, Lincoln Journal-Star.

    What is your favorite website? Hulu

    Do you blog? No.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? No.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time? No, working for Housing consumes my life.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files? Yes.

  7. Andrew Mach
    August 24, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    Andrew Mach. Senior.

    Where are you from? Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I’m originally from Aberdeen, S.D., but I decided to come to UNL to study journalism. I knew I didn’t want to stay in South Dakota, so I only applied to out-of-state schools.

    What is your major?
    I’m pursuing a triple major in broadcasting, news-editorial and German.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I would like to improve my writing skills, and I know editing is a vital component of solid writing.

    What’s your dream job?
    My dream job would be to work as a digital news associate at a major television network in New York City.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I’m a bit of a theatre freak. If I had enough spare cash, endless amounts of free time and easy access, I would love to see every show on Broadway. That’s probably another reason why I’d like to end up in New York. I also like to play tennis.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I’m not looking at the camera in my driver’s license photo, because the woman at the DMV told me to look at her hand, which was six inches to the right of the camera lens. It would actually be a pretty good picture if she hadn’t ruined it for me. I guess I’ll know better for next time.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No. Both of my parents attended schools in South Dakota.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    I’ll give myself a solid 7.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    “Imperial Bedrooms” by Bret Easton Ellis, “Der Besuch der Alten Dame” by Friedrich Dürrenmatt and “Faust” by Goethe

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    “Esquire” and “Details” magazines, “The Lincoln Journal Star,” “The Omaha World-Herald,” “The Washington Post” newspapers and NY Times, ABC News websites.

    What is your favorite website?
    Wimp.com – it’s far more interesting and worthwhile than it sounds.

    Do you blog?
    No.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    Most recently, I was a documentary video intern at The Washington Post. Last spring, I was a member of the ABC News On Campus bureau. Before that, I gained international experience while interning at ZDF Morgenmagazin, the morning show of Europe’s largest television network and The Local, an online news website, printing Germany’s news in English, both in Berlin, Germany. Prior to that, I created multimedia projects for the International Quilt Study Center & Museum in Lincoln and was a student reporter for The Norfolk Daily News.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    I’m currently reprising my role as one of the four members of this semester’s ABC News On Campus bureau at the college. As a bureau member, I’m a reporter, videographer and producer for ABCNews.com.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes.

  8. Cory Dozier
    August 24, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    Your Name. Year in school. My name is Cory Dozier and I’m a senior, although I have three semesters left because I was a non-traditional transfer.

    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? I am from Genoa, Nebraska which is a town of about 900 people near Columbus, Nebraska. I came to the university to earn a degree in photojournalism and because my then fiancee and now wife was transfering here as well to get her biology degree and pursue dentistry at the Med Center’s Dental College.

    What is your major? News/Editorial/Photojournalism.

    What do you hope to get out of this class? Required credits to earn my degree.

    What’s your dream job? My absolute dream job would be to work for National Geographic for ten months a year and have April and May off to stormchase Tornado Alley.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion? My passion is all things sports and extreme weather. I have yet to find a sport that I wasn’t able to adapt to and enjoy, nor have a found a storm that didn’t intrigue me or get my adrenaline pumping.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique? Throughout my life I have been a mild health nut. Participating in every sport that I have had the chance to, eating right and exercising. However, on March 1, 2008, I collapsed and died while jogging. Fortunately, I was spotted by a passerby and the paremedics were there quickly to revive me. They believe I was dead for six to ten minutes and they have no idea what really happened so they installed a pacemaker/defibrillator to correct any irregular rythms if need be.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? I am the first to attend a university and when I graduate I will be the first in my family to obtain a bachelor’s degree.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style? I feel I have a pretty good understanding of grammar and punctuation, so maybe a 7 or 8 in those categories. However, I know little about the AP style so I’d give myself a 4 in that area.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months? The last book I read was “Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas” by Hunter S. Thompson. Unfortunately that was over three months ago because I have quiete literally had no time for a book this summer because I worked between 70 and 75 hours a week throughout most of the break.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly? I inconsistantly read the Natinoal Geographic but during each semester I routinely read The Lincoln Journal Star and The Daily Nebraskan. I also routinely check MSN.com, Yahoo.com, and a satirical news website called Fark.com.

    What is your favorite website? Its a toss-up between Fark.com and Huskermax.com.

    Do you blog? I do not blog. Throughout my personal experiences I have found that bloggers are the most illiterate, classless morons on the internet. Obviously I undetstand that not all bloggers are this way but the vast majority of blogs that I have read were as incoherent as they were mindless.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? The little media/communication experience I have has been learned through my few semesters in the J school.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time? Not at this time because I need a steady job to maintain bills and keep my school loans at a minimum.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files? No.

  9. Jade Novotny
    August 24, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Jade. Junior
    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    Lincoln, in state tuition
    What is your major?
    news ed
    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    more editing knowledge
    What’s your dream job?
    book editor
    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    reading, rabbit rescue
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I studied abroad in Japan this summner.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    no
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    5
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    watership down, gilgamesh
    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    journal star, daily nebraskan
    What is your favorite website?
    http://www.bunspace.com
    Do you blog?
    no
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    some high school articles and photography
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    no
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    no

  10. August 25, 2010 at 12:06 am

    Kyle Bruggeman. Senior.

    Where are you from?

    Lincoln Nebraska

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    cheaper than Missouri and familiar

    What is your major?
    News Editorial

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    The rules and regulations regarding typed journalism

    What’s your dream job?
    Backpack journalist photo-documenting vanishing cultures

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    Photography

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    My brother and I are born on the same day three years apart. But since my brother shares this quality I guess it’s not technically unique.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    nope

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    7

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    Speed Tribes by Karl Taro Greenfeld
    A History of the Arab Peoples by Albert Hourani

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    NY Times
    Al Jazeera
    TIME
    Nat. Geo.

    What is your favorite website?
    lens [dot] blogs [dot] nytimes [dot] com

    Do you blog?
    no

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I worked as a graphic/web designer for an ad agency in Lincoln called the minnow PROJECT. And I still freelance today.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    yes

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    As a photographer I update my portfolio on a regular basis.

  11. Jessica Sluyter
    August 25, 2010 at 7:44 am

    Jessica Sluyter
    News 201

    Your Name. Year in school.
    My name is Jessica. I am a senior.

    Where are you from?
 Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I am from Lincoln. I transferred from SCC to UNL to study journalism.

    What is your major?
    My major is news-editorial and broadcasting.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to improve my grammar and learn more about editing.

    What’s your dream job?
    My dream job is to be a book critic for a newspaper or a book editor for a book publishing company.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I love to read fiction books. When I’m not reading, I like to play tennis or go jogging.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I have nine siblings and I played the harp when I was younger.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No. My uncle just received his Ph.D. and my younger sister recently transferred from a community college to a university.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    I would rate myself at a 5. I try to use proper grammar and punctuation, but I often wish I could go back to ninth grade English to listen a little better.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I enjoy science-fiction and lately I have been reading the Sookie Stackhouse series and Vampire Diaries. But, my current book is “Still Missing” by Chevy Stevens.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I typically visit the Lincoln Journal Star, Time magazine, and Good Morning America’s websites.

    What is your favorite website?
    My favorite website for news is Good Morning America.

    Do you blog?
    No.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I have experience with writing, editing, and uploading online articles.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    At this time, I am looking for an internship with a book publishing company.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes.

  12. August 25, 2010 at 10:40 am

    Andrew Dickinson. Sophomore.

    Where are you from?
 Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I am from Overland Park, Kansas. I came to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln for a few reasons. For starters, I wanted to get out of Kansas, while still attending a good school for journalism. Scholarship opportunities from UNL and the good impression the journalism program made on me during visits made my college decision a very easy one.

    What is your major?
    I am a Journalism News-Editorial major.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?

    I hope to further my skills as a writer through editing and to understand the process behind editing more than I currently do.

    What’s your dream job?

    My dream job would be to be a part of some sort of major international photo-collective working on social documentary projects.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?

    I love photography. Almost everywhere I go, I carry my camera with me. I enjoy spending time with friends as well, and sometimes those two go hand in hand to make good photos.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?

    I grew up with six sisters and one brother. I got my fair share of torture from them via clear nail polish or clip on pearl earrings when I was too young to know any better.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?

    No, I’m not. Both of my parents graduated from college in Texas.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?

    5.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?

    I am currently in the middle of reading Exploding Into Life.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?

    I regularly read the Omaha World-Herald, Lincoln Journal Star, and visit the New York Times website often.

    What is your favorite website?

    A large majority of the time I spend on the computer is spent looking at photo blogs, many of which are made through WordPress. Because of this I’d say anything with .wordpress.com at the end of it falls under the umbrella of my favorite website.

    Do you blog?

    Yes, I do. I don’t write on the blog too often, but I upload photos to http://adickinson.wordpress.com as often as I can.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?

    I’ve spent one year working at the Daily Nebraskan as a photographer, travelled on a photo trip with the University to Kazakhstan this past summer and interned for five weekly newspapers in Northeast Nebraska as a photographer for the second half of the summer.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?

    I am currently preparing a portfolio in order to apply for internships for next summer.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?

    No, but I am in the process of working on a photo portfolio to show possible employers.

  13. Jarad Kinyoun
    August 25, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Jarad Kinyoun, Senior.
    Where are you from? Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I am from Lincoln, Neb, and growing up here has always made we want to earn a degree from UNL.
    What is your major?
    Broadcasting Production along with a major in News Editorial and trying to get a minor in History as well.
    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    Improve my grammar skills.
    What’s your dream job?
    Radio/Television broadcaster
    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    Sports, I play volleyball a couple nights a week and softball a couple nights as well. Then when winter rolls around lots of basketball. I am also passionate about Husker Football, and I am kind of a gym rat, I have to work out every day.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I would have to say serving in the Marines, or my interest in tattoos.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    Nope, there are degrees galore in the family.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    Not to comfortable with grammar and going to say a 3.
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    Plenty of history book on the British Empire, Gandhi, and the American West.
    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I ready daily the Lincoln Journal Star, CNN, ESPN and Fox News.
    What is your favorite website?
    It would easily be ESPN’s website.
    Do you blog?
    Nope.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I have been working for a friend doing radio Broadcasts for local high school basketball games. This fall going to hopefully start calling some the football games for the Great Plains Athletic Conference.
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    Not really, unless you count my answer to the previous question.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes.

  14. burzynskibullard
    August 25, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    KEVIN SHANAHAN
    Your Name. Year in school.
    My name is Kevin Shanahan. I am a Senior at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.
    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I am from Lincoln, Nebraska. I have lived in Lincoln for the entirety of my life. There were many factors that made me decide to come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. One factory that played a role in my decision to attend the University of Nebraska-Lincoln was my family. Every member of my immediate family attended UNL, and in fact, every member of my immediate family graduated from the college of Journalism and Mass Communications. Beyond my family ties to the University, factors such as not having the burden of an out-of-state tuition to deal with became much more relevant when choosing a school.
    What is your major?
    My current major is Advertising, within the College of Journalism and Mass Communications.
    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to not only improve my editing skills, but I hope to become an overall better writer upon completion of this class.
    What’s your dream job?
    If I were to choose one dream job that I could hold for the rest of my life, it would definitely involve music. I would love to travel the world and be involved with either one specific touring act, or a compilation of many.
    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    If I could explain my passion in one word, it would be music. I grew up playing the piano as well as the trombone and truly instilled that interest and passion in the subject. Recently I have moved away from the actual act of making music, but have become “obsessed” with live music. For the past four years I have been spending nearly all of my free time attending concerts and events across the US.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    One thing that makes me unique is the fact that every member of my immediate family graduated from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln with at least one degree in Advertising.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    I am not the first person in my family to attend a university. In fact, every member of my immediate family holds a degree from UNL.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    When rating my knowledge of grammar and punctuation, I would give myself an eight on the scale. I am generally very comfortable with grammar and punctuation when it comes to composition. As far as AP Style is concerned however, I do not hold the same comfort level. I would rate my comfort with AP Style at a five due to my limited background and limited work within the style.
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    One book that I have read in the past three months that stands out in my mind is, “Endgame 1945: The Missing Final Chapter of WWII,” written by David Stafford. I hold a history concentration, and World War II in particular has always been an area of interest for me. The book follows the stories of nine diverse individuals in nine diverse situations, during the final days of WWII.
    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    As far as newspapers are concerned, I regularly read the Lincoln Journal Star. My favorite magazines are Sports Illustrated and Rolling Stone.
    What is your favorite website?
    My favorite website is jambase.com. This website is a portal to live music anywhere in the US. All you do is pick a city and it will bring up a list of all of the live acts that will be coming to that area in the near future. Besides giving heads up on concerts, there are many articles posted on the site concerning the bands, etc.
    Do you blog?
    I personally do not blog.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I hold no real-world media/communication experience at this time.
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    At this time I am not pursuing a media- related internship.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    I do have an updated resume on my files.

  15. Brandon Jochum
    August 26, 2010 at 1:14 am

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Brandon Jochum. Senior.

    Where are you from? 
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I’m from Lincoln, NE. UNL trapped me with a scholarship.

    What is your major?
    My major is Broadcasting with an emphasis on Production.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to get some credit for a JOUR elective out of this class.

    What’s your dream job?
    My dream job is to be a professional musician but since that career is unlikely to produce much money, I’ll settle with anything having to with sound.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    My passion is for music and music technology. I also have a certain soft spot for particle physics, evolutionary biology, and philosophy.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I try not to compare myself to other people so I don’t know how I stand amongst my peers. I also believe that I am an utterly unexciting person. Perhaps it is my response to this question that makes me unique.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    I am the second person in my family to attend a university, after my mother.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    I would rate my knowledge of grammar and punctuation in between 8 and 10. My knowledge of AP style I would rank a 5.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I have been working on “The Dark Tower” series by Stephen King since January of this year.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I have an AP News app on my phone, which allows me to view top national, world, and local headlines.

    What is your favorite website?
    I don’t much like the internet, so I don’t use it for much other than school and social networking. If a gun was pointed at my head and I was forced to choose a favorite website, I would choose Google because I “google” bits of information very frequently.
    Do you blog?

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    My media experience lies mostly in the field of music. I have mixed and mastered several demo CD’s for local bands and often record and polish musical ideas I have.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    I am not currently pursuing a media-related internship or job at this time.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    I do not have an updated resumé in my files.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

