Home > bios > It’s all about you, AM class

It’s all about you, AM class

If you’re in the AM class, post your comments here.

Categories: bios
  1. Jeremy Hamann
    August 21, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Jeremy Hamann. Senior.
    Where are you from? 
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I am from Lincoln, NE. I chose to go to UNL because it was close to home and I wasn’t sure what I exactly wanted to major in going into college.
    What is your major?
    My major is broadcasting.
    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to get a sharper and more discerning editing eye from taking this class.
    What’s your dream job?
    My dream job would be to be a wilderness/adventure videographer.
    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I love to be outdoors, camping, hiking, climbing and backpacking. I also enjoy reading, swimming and dancing when I can get the time to do each.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    This summer I was a backpacking/backcountry guide in southwestern Colorado.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, both of my grandparents attended a university, they were the first generation of my family to do so.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    I would say that my knowledge on these topics is about a 7.
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I have been reading/ have read Dune by Frank Herbert, The Call by Os Guinness, Knowing God by J. I. Packer, Return of the Prodigal Son by Henri Nouwen, The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry and Freedom of the Hills which is an exhaustive backcountry manual written by various authors.
    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I like to read http://www.drudgereport.com, http://www.huffingtonpost.com, The Lincoln Journal-Star and occasionally The Daily Nebraskan.
    What is your favorite website?
    I love movies and so I am always checking http://www.rottentomatoes.com, I also love the comics of Kate Beaton who posts at http://www.harkavvagrant.com.
    Do you blog?
    No, I don’t blog.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I was a DJ on 90.3 KRNU for a couple of years and I produced my own specialty show for about a year.
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    No I am not.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    I believe so.

  2. Lucy Fitzpatrick
    August 23, 2010 at 11:31 am

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Lucy Fitzpatrick, Junior
    Where are you from?
 Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I am from Saint Joseph, Missouri. I came to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln because I wanted to go to a large state university, but wanted to branch out from most of my classmates who chose to attend the University of Missouri-Columbia.
    What is your major?
    Broadcast Journalism with an emphasis in production.
    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    To become a better writer with flawless skill.
    What’s your dream job?
    My dream job is to be an executive producer of “Nightly News with Brian Williams.”
    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I enjoy the media and entertainment in all forms. I am also passionate about relationships, whether those are with friends or family members.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I spent the summer living in New York City and interning with MTV Networks in the On Air Promos department of MTV.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    6.5
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I was very busy this summer and had no time to read. I am looking forward to reading The Other Boleyn Girl when I have time.
    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    When at school I pick up USA Today on an almost daily basis. I also check the USA Today application on my phone fairly regularly.
    What is your favorite website?
    The only favorite websites I have right now are the ones I use more regularly for school like Blackboard or MyRed.
    Do you blog?
    No.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I interned at KQ2 News in St. Joseph, MO during the summer of 2009. I also interned at MTV Networks in New York City during the summer of 2010.
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    I am not currently pursuing a media-related internship of job.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?

    I am currently in the process of updating my resume.

  3. Mitch Mattern
    August 23, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Mitch Mattern. Junior.
    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I am from Norfolk, Neb. I came to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln because it was close to home, and I was impressed by what the College of Journalism and Mass Communications had to offer.
    What is your major?
    Broadcast Journalism with an emphasis in production.
    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to have more confidence in writing and editing stories after this class.
    What’s your dream job?
    I would like to work on the production team for any show on ESPN or the Food Network.
    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I like playing and watching sports, watching movies and I really enjoy cooking.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I am a die-hard Chicago Cubs fan.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, my oldest sister also attended UNL.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    5
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    “The Book of Basketball” by Bill Simmons. “Hate Mail From Cheerleaders” by Rick Reilly.
    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    Sports Illustrated, ESPN.com, ESPN the magazine, The Daily Nebraskan and Yahoo! News.
    What is your favorite website?
    ESPN.com
    Do you blog?
    No.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I worked at 90.3 KRNU for one year, and The Daily Nebraskan for one semester.
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    Yes.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    No.

  4. Ryne Stefankiewicz
    August 23, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Ryne Stefankiewicz. Junior.
    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    Omaha, Neb. I chose Lincoln because of the reputation of it J-School.
    What is your major?
    My major is News-Editorial.
    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to become a better line editor. I struggle to go line by line and see things. I prefer to look at them as a whole.
    What’s your dream job?
    My dream job is to be a sports reporter in Omaha, Lincoln or Chicago.
    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I love playing fastpitch softball — I am a pitcher.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I am a transfer student from Hastings College in Hastings, Neb.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, I am not.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    I would rate my skills at a 7.
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I read Tom Osborne’s most-recent book.
    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I read the Omaha World-Herald online daily. I also read the Daily Nebraskan.
    What is your favorite website?
    Facebook.com
    Do you blog?
    No, I do not blog.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I served as News Director, Copy editor, reporter and editor-in-chief of the Hastings College Collegian. I also served as a TV reporter for HCTV6. I interned at the Hastings Tribune, too.
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    Yes, I am at the Lincoln Journal Star.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes, I do.

  5. Chris Dorwart
    August 23, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    Your Name. Year in school. Chris Dorwart. Sophomore.
    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? I am from Omaha and decided to go to Lincoln because I’ve always been interested in journalism and I knew UNL had a good journalism program.
    What is your major? Right now, my major is news-editorial but I may double-major with advertising as well.
    What do you hope to get out of this class? Writing isn’t my strong point, so I hope to improve my writing and also be able to help people with their stories.
    What’s your dream job? I’m not really sure what my dream job is. I’d like to do a lot of things but it’s tough to narrow it down. Possibly a photographer, graphic designer or writer involving sports of some kind.
    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion? I really enjoy taking photos and I work for the Daily Nebraskan. I like staying active by participating in sports such as, tennis, soccer, snowboarding, etc.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique? I was a free spirit scholar my senior year of high school…I can also wiggle my ears.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? No, all my brothers and now my sister is and both my parents attended college.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style? I’d have to say 7, I know some things just from high school and working for the Daily Nebraskan. Mostly like common sense stuff but I have never had a style book.
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months? I should read more but I really don’t. I like Dan Brown’s books a lot, so whenever he has a new one I really like to get those.
    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly? Yahoo is set as my homepage and I like to read USAToday, the World-Herald and the Daily Nebraskan. I also do like SportsIllustrated but don’t currently subscribe, although I do subscribe to ESPN the magazine. I like action sports so I occasionally read the TRANSworld snowboarding magazine.
    What is your favorite website? Favorite website, besides facebook, is probably Yahoo since it’s my home page or USAToday.
    Do you blog? I don’t blog but I do plan to start. I figure I should learn as I progress as a journalist. I actually recently got a wordpress but still have yet to figure it out.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? I’ve never really done much with websites but I’ve always worked in newspaper and yearbook in high school. Also working for the Daily Nebraskan and I had an internship with The Reader in Omaha before college.
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time? I haven’t started looking but plan to get an internship for next summer.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files? No I do not.

  6. Danielle Kaster
    August 23, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.

    My name is Danielle Kaster and I am a senior.

    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?

    I am from Omaha and decided to come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln because my newspaper teacher told me they had a great journalism program.

    What is your major?

    I am majoring in news editorials, broadcasting and political science.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?

    I want to be confident in my writing. I want to know which word to use without having to look up the correct spelling.

    What’s your dream job?

    My freshman year I wanted to work for ESPSN and be a sports anchor, however, after a few years here I have found my interests have grown more towards politics. I either want to report on political matters or teach political science at the college level.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?

    I love to work out and do it every day. I have also loved reading since I was very little and could spend hours reading a book.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?

    After I graduate I plan on taking time off to travel and pursue modeling.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?

    No I am not. My dad went to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and graduated from the engineering college.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?

    I would have to guess around a 6.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?

    It may not be very informational or professional but I reread the Twilight and Harry Potter books all the time. I also read The Purpose of Life and The Ransom of Mercy Carter.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?

    I read the Omaha World Herald online.

    What is your favorite website?

    victoriasecret.com

    Do you blog?

    I have a blog but have yet to write anything. I am not sure what I want to say.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?

    In high school I was the editor of the paper and the head anchor for our news program but other than that my experiences are limited.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?

    At the moment I am not.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?

    Yes, I do.

  7. Meagan Jungman
    August 24, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    our Name. Year in school.
    Meagan Jungman. Junior.

    Where are you from? Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I am from Papillion, NE, and I came to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln because I had heard great things about the Journalism College. The scholarships that UNL offered me also helped.

    What is your major?
    Originally, I was a News and Editorial major in the Journalism school, but last year I changed majors and am now pursuing a degree in Secondary Education with an endorsement in English and journalism.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to hone my grammatical skills and better understand the AP style.

    What’s your dream job?
    Eventually I would like to become a tenured English professor and teach satire, focusing on literature as well as it’s place in the media.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I am a very devout reader, and I also enjoy painting (when I am able to find the time).

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I have a crippling addiction to caffeine. If I do not get my daily fix, I develop rather painful headaches and stomach cramps. I have a problem.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    I am not the first person in my family to attend a university. My father has a Bachelor’s Degree in Business, and my mother received a Bachelor’s Degree in Primary Education and a Masters in Reading Comprehension.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    If I had to rate myself based on my knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style, I would have to confess that I am, at best, a 7.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I recently finished a fantastic collection of short stories by Bernard Mallamud.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I am an avid reader of National Geographic, the Economist, TIME magazine, Slate.com, CNN.com, and the Onion.

    What is your favorite website?
    My favorite website is currently Cracked.com. I spend far too much time on it.

    Do you blog?
    I do not, nor have I ever had a blog

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I have relatively limited media experience. However, I am the assistant editor of the DailyER Nebraskan, which consumes most of my free time. In terms of communication, I have had social networking accounts for several years, and recently learned how to use Skype.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    My credited work (practicum and eventually student teaching) at high schools, work, and the DailyER keep me incredibly busy. Though I would like to, I have far too much on my plate to consider pursuing an internship at this time.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    I do not have an updated resume, and I should probably change that.

  8. Samantha Rendon
    August 24, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Samantha Rendon, Senior.
    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I’m from Tyler, Texas. I chose to come to Nebraska because of a great scholarship offer and the opportunity to go somewhere different for four years.
    What is your major?
    Advertising, Pre-Law
    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to improve the quality of my own writing and my ability to spot mistakes.
    What’s your dream job?
    I’m a senior and should probably have an idea of what I want to do but, honestly, I don’t know. As cliché as it sounds, in whatever I end up doing, I just want to know I’m helping people.
    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I love to dance! I also love volunteering; it gives me a sense of purpose. Reading and napping are some other hobbies of mine too.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    My mother is from Colombia and our family is currently planning a trip down so my grandparents can renew their wedding vows.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, both of my parents were the first in their families.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    Grammar and punctuation- 7
    AP Style- 0
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    Norton Anthology of Literature by Women (Summer Reading Course) and I’m currently reading Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin.
    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I follow CNN, ABC, InStyle, People, SELF, npr, adage and AdFreak on twitter.
    What is your favorite website?
    Facebook and twitter
    Do you blog?
    No.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    Last summer, I interned at my hometown’s CBS affiliate station. I wrote stories, conducted interviews, and tagged along for commercial shoots and advertisement sales.
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    I currently have a marketing internship as the campus rep for Victoria’s Secret PINK.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes.

  9. Marissa Coopersmith
    August 24, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Name: Marissa Kaye Coopersmith. Year in school: junior.

    Where are you from? Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I am from San Jose, CA. I came to school here at UNL for a number of reasons. I just really liked the school and the campus and all of the pieces fell together for what I was looking for here at Nebraska.

    What is your major?
    My major is advertising. I also have concentrations in marketing and news-editorial.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I want to gain as much editing experience in college as I can. Seeing as this is a beginner’s course, I hope that this class can serve as a great foundation for that.

    What’s your dream job?
    I want to work for a top magazine (ex. People) as their advertising director or editor. I want to manage the ads that are displayed in the issues and have a say in the companies we decide to advertise with.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I’m very focused and determined in whatever I do. Therefore, I need to stay busy at all times. I balance school, work and sports. I am a server at Olive Garden and put in about 25 hours a week and I also play lacrosse here at UNL. I also work on a ranch back home in the hills of northern California. I love riding horses and being out in the country side. It’s a nice break from all the city noise and city lights.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I think what makes me unique is where I’ve been and how I’ve grown up. I haven’t traveled the world, but I’ve lived in New York, Pennsylvania, California, and here in Nebraska. I’ve seen all walks of life, worked with all different kinds of people, etc. I am also a year young for my grade and went to college when I was still 17, so I’ve had a lot of life experience crammed into such a short lifetime.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    I am not. Both of my parents attended college.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    I would rate my skills and knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style a 6 on a scale of 1-10.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I have not read any books over the summer months.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I don’t subscribe to any specific magazines. I’ll pick one up or buy one here and there that catches my eye or looks interesting to me on the shelves. As far as newspapers, I like to go through the San Jose Mercury News every morning. It’s hard for me to get into the local papers here in Lincoln because I’m not as familiar with the city. I’m still working on that part. But as far as national papers, I like to read through USA Today when I can.

    What is your favorite website?
    Cafepress.com. If you haven’t been on cafepress, you should check it out. They have all kinds of personalized items and awesome designs that can go on T-shirts, mugs, etc.

    Do you blog?
    I do not…

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    The only experience I have is through any life experience and the classes I’ve taken here at UNL. I have yet to get any internships under my belt…

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    I have been really interested in doing an internship with Pandora, but unfortunately, they have told me that they have yet to establish an internship program and will not take any interns. Therefore, my search continues. I hope to have one set up for next summer.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    I do not. I had a resume on file last summer, but my computer crashed and I haven’t made one since. It is definitely on the to-do list!

  10. Mary Rezac
    August 24, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    I am Mary Rezac and I am a junior.
    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I grew up on a farm near Valparaiso, Nebraska. I came to UNL because of the scholarships I received here. I also came here because my family has always gone to UNL and I knew I would receive a good education.
    What is your major?
    Secondary English/Journalism Education
    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to become better at editing both my own writing and the writing of others.
    What’s your dream job?
    I would love to experience teaching English in a foreign country. I also think it would be fun to try teaching in Alaska for a year or two.
    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    My biggest passions are my Catholic faith, summer camp, and music. I lead a FOCUS bible study on campus, I have worked at a summer camp for 6 years, and I’m in the Cornhusker Marching Band.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I snuck out of a convent in Poland this summer. I was on a pilgrimage with some friends and a priest, and we were staying in a convent near some mountains. We wanted to go hiking the next day, and so we wanted some food. However, the convent locked its front doors and gates by 9:00 p.m. every day and we hadn’t had time to get to the store that day, which was right across the street. A group of about four of my friends and I decided to sneak out a window and over the gate to go to the store. My guy friends were caught and scolded by the sisters, but they never knew I snuck out too.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    I am not the first in my family to attend a university, my mom received a business degree from UNL and my sister just graduated from UNL with a degree in Interior Design.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    I would rate myself at about a six or a seven. I was in a beginning reporting class last semester and learned a lot about AP Style, but I’m sure I’ve forgotten some of it.
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    Over the summer I read “Maurice and Therese: The Story of a Love” by Patrick Ahern, and I am currently reading “The Blind Side” for pleasure and “Don Quixote” for a class.
    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I read the Daily Nebraskan and the Journal Star. I also read CNN and the World Herald online.
    What is your favorite website?
    I would have to say hulu.com or youtube.com.
    Do you blog?
    Once upon a time, I created a blog. I usually forget that it exists, so I don’t really use it that much.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I was on yearbook staff in high school and I have been in other journalism classes, but other than that I really don’t have much experience.
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    No, I am not.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes, I do.

  11. Justin Van Nostrand
    August 24, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    My name is Justin Van Nostrand and I am a senior.

    Where are you from? Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I am from Lincoln. I came to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln because it was close to home and because the College of Journalism is excellent.

    What is your major?
    I am majoring in News & Editorial and also in Broadcasting.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to improve my writing skills especially in terms of format and style during this class.

    What’s your dream job?
    My dream job is to contribute to a lucrative technology blog. This would include covering events such as Mobile World Congress, Consumer Electronics Show, Wireless Enterprise Symposium, etc.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    My passion is technology, more specifically consumer electronics and especially smartphones. I literally spend all my free time “nerding out” in smartphone-centric forums and trying to soak in as much technology news as possible.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    My addiction to technology makes me unique, and also my ability and drive to break down that news and make it accessible to non-nerdy people.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    I am not the first in my family to attend a university. My Dad attended Northwest Missouri State University and and received a bachelor’s in Broadcasting.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    I like to think that my grammar is well kept and I often find myself on the receiving end of some harsh glares when I openly correct others’ grammar. I’ll give myself an 8 for both grammar and punctuation, and a 6 for AP Style.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I read an economics book called Animal Spirits, and before that a terrible mystery/thriller that was free on the Amazon Kindle application.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I read exclusively technology-related news from sites such as engadget.com, gizmodo.com, lifehacker.com, crackberry.com, precentral.net, androidcentral.com, autoblog.com, macrumors.com, berryreview.com, etc.

    What is your favorite website?
    Because I follow so many websites and don’t want to individually browse to each and every one I use and RSS reader to aggregate all of the sites’ stories. My choice of RSS reader is Google Reader, so my favorite website is reader.google.com.

    Do you blog?
    I write for a cellular news website which many people would consider blogging because it’s based on the WordPress platform. I have also maintained a personal blog but it’s mainly for private use so I can document personal events.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? Like I said earlier, I contribute to a website that focuses around smartphone news. I help to cover news as well as write my own editorials and reviews.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    Yes, I am currently paid to do the reporting that I have previously mentioned and consider it a job.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files? I have a resume that is fairly current, but it could certainly be update further.

  12. Elle Engebretson
    August 24, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Elle Engebretson, Senior.
    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I am from Crete, Nebraska. I transferred my sophomore year to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln from a college in Indiana. My old school did not have enough classes for my major so I choose UNL.
    What is your major?
    My major is Advertising with a focus in Public Relations.
    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to better my writing since it is vital in all areas of life.
    What’s your dream job?
    My dream job is either an event planner or to open by own bar.
    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    My hobbies are volleyball and photography. I play in a sand volleyball league for fun and photography has always been something I have loved.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    One thing about me is this summer I volunteered for the Special Olympics. It was a very rewarding and life changing experience.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, my entire family has gone to college. My brother recently graduated from Doane College.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    My knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style is about a 6-7. I worked with AP style frequently in high school during my journalism class.
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I just got done reading the series of The Girl With The Dragoon Tattoo.
    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I don’t read newspapers daily. I check news websites every couple times a week.
    What is your favorite website?
    I don’t have a favorite website. I don’t use the internet very much.
    Do you blog?
    No, I don’t blog.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    When I went to school in Indiana we had a PR class that was hands on. I was a leader of my group and we created PR campaigns for non-profit organizations.
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    I’m not pursuing an internship at this time. However, this summer I hope to have an internship.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes, I have an updated resume.

  13. Bethany Hebert
    August 24, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    Your name. Year in school.
    My name is Bethany Hebert and I just became a senior over the summer.

    Where are you from? Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I’m from Bellevue, Nebraska and I came to the UNL because it was in state tuition so I could afford it, but also far enough that I could get away from my mom and live on my own. Plus the campus is pretty.

    What is your major?
    I’m a Journalism news-editorial major, with minors in Japanese and Math.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I hope to gain a better understanding of the English language and maybe not make so many silly mistakes on future papers.

    What’s your dream job?
    What’s my dream job? Well, I suppose, to be a famous author. I don’t think I’m creative enough for that though, so I’d like to become a reporter and then hopefully get in a position where I could help make news, well, news again.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I love to read, and I’ve always been one for cultures. When I was in elementary school, I started looking up Mexican cultures to get a background of my own history and then I discovered other countries from there. My father’s in the Air Force, and I’ve traveled the country because of that, so one day I hope to have the money to travel the world. Other than that, I would say I like random things. I love Zelda, my twin brother and I grew up with it. I like rock climbing, there’s something exhilarating about using your whole body to do something. I also love music, though I can’t play a thing.

    Tell me one interesting thing or surprising thing about you-something that makes you unique?
    Well, the twin thing always allows me to be unique but I doubt that counts for much. I can spin a rifle and at one point I memorized 120 digits after 3.14 of pi. It was for a contest and candy. Other than that…I like to build things. I love putting together furniture I bought, and I wish I could learn more to make things myself but I never have the time.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    Technically no, my dad was able to go later on in his life because of the Air Force, though he’s the only one on either side that has attended a university. However, I am the first grandchild, aside from my twin brother, and I will be the first and youngest to graduate out of my family.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style? One, final answer. See right there the computer tells me I’m making mistakes but I feel like to fix that sentence removes my voice and the seriousness I feel about it. I really have no idea about grammar or any of that. I’m surprised they let me into English AP in high school. My family is from Louisiana, so it makes it really difficult for me to hear anything wrong with my sentences. Though when I type, I like to use a “proper” voice inside my head.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    What books haven’t I been reading? I do enjoy an author by the name of Murakami. As well as several other authors in the fiction category. I recently bought a psychology book, mainly because I was in the mood to understand the mind. Does “Where’s Waldo” count? I think that challenges individuals to pay attention to detail. I read a couple of superman/batman books. One of them gave you clues to try to figure out the criminal. I guess you can say I’ve been reading a little bit of everything. Except romance, that stuff is just silly.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    Since I’m a poor college student, I haven’t the luxury of prescribing to a newspaper. Though I do have magazines sent to me, but not of my own free will. Now that I’m back in school for the year though, I enjoy reading the Journal Star and Omaha World Herald. As for websites, I mainly check my yahoo feeds, and see if there is anything worth looking more into.

    What is your favorite website?
    I didn’t have a computer until the end of my freshman year of college, so I don’t care to look on the internet much or at least I don’t know how to search for fun things. So the site, stumbleupon.com is really helpful to find new sites.

    Do you blog?
    I did recently; I don’t keep it up anymore. It was mainly for my family and friends back home while I was in Japan. I just stated interesting things I noticed or experiences daily, so they wouldn’t miss a thing.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I suppose I was a photographer for my yearbook staff my junior year of high school. I was going to be a reporter my senior year, but calculus and JROTC were more important to me at the time and all three were only available during two class periods. I have no other experiences.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    I would like to, in fact my advisor was trying to push me since I’m a senior. However, I wanted to take the basic classes first, so I could feel more confident about my position and like I deserved to be there.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    For jobs yes, I’m currently looking for new employment, as for internships no.

  14. Rachel Albin
    August 25, 2010 at 12:41 am

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Rachel Albin, senior.

    Where are you from? Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I was born and raised in Lincoln. When I was a junior in high school, I attended the Nebraska High School Press Association summer camp at UNL and it sold me on the College of Journalism and Mass Communications.

    What is your major?
    I have two majors: news-editorial and Spanish.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I want to learn how to edit quickly and accurately.

    What’s your dream job?
    I haven’t quite pinned down my dream job. Ideally, I’d like a job that combines Spanish with either journalism or advocacy.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I love to travel. I want to go somewhere on the other side of the world, perhaps Russia or Japan.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you –something that makes you unique?
    My brother, my sister and I all speak Spanish fluently. My parents speak no Spanish.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    I would give myself a seven.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I started reading “How to Invest $50-$5,000” by Nancy Dunnan but I found a blog that explained it all in a way that’s easier to understand. I picked up “Sex, Drugs and Cocoa Puffs” by Chuck Klosterman but I put it down because the first chapter was too whiny for me.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I get headlines and news alerts from the New York Times in my inbox. I read the Daily Nebraskan and check the headlines in the Lincoln Journal-Star and the Omaha World Herald. I get a surprising amount of news from LearnVest.com, a finance blog for women that has a daily newsletter.

    What is your favorite website?
    LearnVest.com

    Do you blog?
    No.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I have worked at the Daily Nebraskan since the fall of 2007. I had reporting internships at the Kearney Hub in Kearney, Neb. and the Bismarck Tribune in Bismarck, N.D.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    I already have a job at the Daily Nebraskan. I would like a summer internship in journalism or Spanish-to-English interpretation.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes.

  15. Dustin Hunke
    August 29, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    Dustin Hunke. Junior.

    Fremont (NE), I was interested in the Journalism program.

    News-Editorial Journalism.

    I want to improve my editing skills and improve my writing as well.

    Freelance music reporter.

    Artistic expression in many forms.

    I fear pandas.

    Yes.

    7/10.

    Eaters of the Dead – Michael Crichton, New York Trilogy – Paul Auster, The Uniteds States of Wal-Mart – John Dicker, Now Is The Dawning of the New Age New World Order – Dennis Laurence Cuddy

    Lincoln Journal Star, Kansas City Star, The Reader, various CMJ (College Music Journal) magazines, various music blogs

    craigslist.org

    I somewhat blog…I update a playlist to my radio show once a week.

    5 years radio experience, worked Arts & Entertainment for the Daily Nebraskan, ran a Lincoln music zine 2 years ago

    Pending better skills acquired through more class experience.

    No.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

