Home > bios, Uncategorized > It’s all about you

It’s all about you

Welcome to 201, Beginning Editing.

Please copy this and then answer each question below in the comment section designated for your class. Make sure you (1) put your name at the top and (2) that you pay attention to spelling and grammar. After all, this is an editing class. Don’t push the button until you flawlessly edit what you’ve written. You may want to consider writing your answers in Word so you can spellcheck before you post. Then, copy and paste your comments. Don’t forget: Blogs are public so anyone can read what you’ve written.

Finally, if there’s something relevant about yourself that you want to add, please do so.

This assignment is due by the start of class Thursday, Aug. 25.

Your Name. Year in school.

Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?

What is your major?

What do you hope to get out of this class?

What’s your dream job?

What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?

Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?

Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?

On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?

What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?

What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?

What is your favorite website?

Do you blog?

Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?

Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?

Do you have an updated resume in your files?

Categories: bios, Uncategorized
  1. Kay Kemmet
    August 23, 2010 at 11:09 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Kay Kemmet
    Sophomore

    Where are you from?
Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    Bismarck, N.D.
    The journalism college attracted me to UNL, and after visiting and receiving my financial aid package, it seemed to fit. I wanted to leave the state for college, mainly because N.D. does not have an established journalism program, and UNL was the closest and best choice for me.

    What is your major?
    I am a news-editorial journalism and English major. Spanish also interests me, and after I study abroad during my junior year, I might have a third major.

    What do you hope to get out of this class?
    I plan on being a reporter and have used the AP stylebook regularly since I started working as a journalist in high school. However, I have never received formal training beyond English classes and former editors making red marks. I’m hoping this class will help me to hone my skills.

    What’s your dream job?
    My dream job would be working as a correspondent in a third world country for an established and successful American news source. I am really interested in cultural issues in different countries, especially issues women face. The issues of smaller, less established countries tend to lack representation, and I want to report on the lives of people in these nations.

    What outside interests, hobbies do you have? In other words, what is your passion?
    I am becoming consistently interested in creative writing mostly because I am finding my own skill. I have always been interesting in formulating stories but have never felt confident in myself as a fiction writer. Basically, I love writing in every shape and form and am constantly fascinated by words.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I was raised on a cattle farm in a small North Dakota town— 200 people and shrinking small. We would be eating dinner, always red meat, and someone would mention that we were eating Joe, the family’s favorite steer. Now, to the constant dismay of my father, I am a semi-vegetarian. I have completely eliminated red meat from my diet and rarely eat other types of meat. Mostly, meat just grosses me out especially raw meat, and as a cooking lover, it is just easier to eliminate it rather than completely lose my appetite.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    All my siblings have attended college, but I am the first person in my family to leave the state. I have four older siblings who all live in Bismarck, N.D.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP Style?
    During high school, my part-time job was working at my hometown newspaper writing stories and memorizing the AP stylebook. I would rate my knowledge at 6.5, and I am ready to up that score!

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    During the summer I read “Anthem,” “Tree Girl,” “The Book Thief,” the first two novels of the Millennium series by Stieg Larsson, “Less than Zero,” “The Bell Jar” and three textbooks for an independent study about Latin American civilization. Currently I’m reading “Lolita” and the last Millennium book depending on my mood.

    What magazines, newspapers and news websites do you read regularly?
    I am a huge fashion magazine junky and religiously read Vogue, Nylon, Marie Claire and InStyle in print and online. I regularly read New York Times online and the Daily Nebraskan during the school year. During the summer, I interned at my hometown newspaper, so I read that paper everyday and now I read their website regularly.

    What is your favorite website?
    My favorite website changes regularly, but right now I can’t get enough of lookbook.nu which has different fashions and styles posted by young adults internationally.

    Do you blog?
    I do not have a blog, yet. But I have started putting together a website, and when I finally travel abroad, I hope to keep a blog about my experience.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I began working for my hometown newspaper as a junior in high school and am still on their payroll. Whenever I return home, I pick up stories or fill in as a copy editor. I also work at the DN. Last year I was a copy editor, designer and features reporter, and this year I have cut it down to just design and writing.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    Currently I am working at the DN, acting as design editor for the Dailyer Nebraskan and working as the recruiting assistant for CoJMC. In my job at the college, I edit and design recruiting materials.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    I haven’t updated my resume since last spring, but I consistently add clips to my portfolio.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

