Home > Uncategorized > New vs. old media, AM class

New vs. old media, AM class

If you’re in the AM class, please comment here on the Mashable post.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Seanica
    April 19, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    I think the rivalry between the “old and new” media outlets is great, and I think the Daily Collegian should welcome the challenge Onward State is bringing with open arms. That is really the way I would respond if I were the editor of the Daily Collegian. Collegian’s Editor-in-Chief Rossilynne Skena seemed to respond in a very defensive manner and she seemed very narrow-minded. I would definitely recognize what Onward State is bringing to the campus and try and find a way for my newspaper to compete and maybe change a bit in order to really throw Onward State on its heels.

    Yes, traditional media should embrace social media. So many people around the world are involved with different social media outlets. Those outlets offer new ways of gaining information that weren’t possible even 10 years ago! Traditional media needs to go with the flow of social media in order to stay in the game of life. I see myself in more of the online camp because it just seems easier for me as a college student. I didn’t use Twitter until I had to for our assignment, but I already see the possibilities that it has and the way I can use it to better myself as a journalist. I think that by staying involved with Twitter and the other social media outlets, I will be better prepared for my future as a journalist. I also think that I need to do a better job of keeping up with the traditional media, though. Yes, technology is changing things, but I still think it’s important to keep traditional media and the traditional ways of gathering news alive.

  2. Damien
    April 21, 2010 at 1:13 am

    Reading the Marshable post only confirmed what I already thought: traditional and new media are fighting to control the next generation of news coverage. My only issue with this is that I think convergence, not separation, is key to the survival of the journalism industry in coming years.

    There are elements of the “old media” that need to remain in tact. Old media retains its credibility by using sources beyond the World Wide Web to tell stories. Old media also boosts its credentials by having college-trained journalists producing the bulk of its articles. Social media doesn’t require a degree; instead, it only requires a connection to the Internet.

    There are elements in social media that will allow the news industry to evolve alongside technology’s rapid pace. Social media outlets such as Twitter and Facebook not only get the news out to a large audience quickly, but they allow for the audience to interact more effectively with the media.

    As I said above, convergence of these two ideologies will help the media keep up with a constantly changing technology base.

  3. Emily Giller
    April 21, 2010 at 10:46 am

    I think the rivalry between the Daily Collegian and the Onward State is understandable. The Daily Collegian is a traditional newspaper that doesn’t want to conform to the changing media. Then there is the Onward State, which is an online-based media outlet. It has taken traditional news writing and shaped it to fit the evolving trends of news covering. Not only that, but the Onward State has linked to stories written by members of the Daily Collegian. If I were editor of the Daily Collegian I would be a little peeved that this new Web site was posting stories that my staff had written. However, I do understand the evolution of new media. I think it’s easier for someone my age to understand the benefits of social media because I grew up with it.
    News outlets don’t necessarily have to embrace social media completely. I think that as a news source papers should become more aware of social media and try to use some of it, however, I don’t think they need to completely ignore the print paper in order to keep up with their online publications.
    Web sites do make it easier to find specific stories I want to read, however, there is something to be said about picking up a traditional newspaper and reading it. As a college journalist I see the importance of using new media. Like I mentioned before, I grew up with new media. Although new media is important, I am one of the few people who would still rather open a newspaper than read a story online. I find that reading stories online is more difficult and sometimes the stories aren’t complete because writers were trying to post their stories as quickly as they could. However, I do know that journalism is changing and I need to make sure I familiarizing myself with social media if I want a career later on in life.

  4. Kelly Morris
    April 21, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    Of course I can understand the rivalry between the Daily Collegian and Onward State. Onward State is priding themselves in being the new face of media, where as Daily Collegian is the traditional newspaper. If I were editor of the Daily Collegian I would be a little upset that Onward State was getting so much attention, but at the same time, some of the links are leading to the Daily Collegian so it helps them out too. I suppose I would happy that I was at least getting paid at the Daily Collegian as well, where as Onward State is posting links for free. I think that traditional media should embrace the new style because the times are changing, and this new way of blogging is next in line, just like the computer was to the typewriter. I definitely see myself as more of an online newspaper person because that is where I get most of my news and I think it is a lot easier to handle, more earth friendly and much quicker in news updates. Unlike a newspaper which comes out once a day, I could update readers every second with the news. Journalists now need to know a lot more about computers and technology as well as being able to take pictures quickly and post them with a story, but the general idea of getting out the most important news quickly is still the same.

  5. Rhiannon
    April 21, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    Journalists need to be tech savvy, this has been true in the past and it is especially true today. The rivalry between the two college newspapers is fascinating, and I can’t help but wonder if they are trying to accomplish the same goal but through entirely different means.

    Both are trying to make sure their student body is educated about issues on campus. The newspaper, The Daily Collegian is more traditional, has a bigger staff and over one hundred years of experience. Onward Slate is newer, using all sorts of online features to appeal to their audience. Both methods are effective, but each reaches a different audience.

    The editor-in-chief at the Collegian said something really wise about the rivalry. Social media is great for getting out short bursts of information and newspapers have an advantage in that they can be more detailed, she said.

    Social networking should be an aspect that journalists embrace so as to woo new readers. However, social media should not be the focus. The basics still apply no matter what the outlet is.

  6. Sarah Morris
    April 21, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    I think that traditional media should embrace social media. The world is changing and so is the way media is percieved. However, traditional media should not lose its meaning. As a college journalist I like the online camp because it is more accessible.
    I think that in order to prepare for journalism in the future, using tools such as Twitter and Facebook are essential to the new ways of the media. Understanding how these are used, a journalist can use them to his or her advantage.

  7. Kristin Bauer
    April 21, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    What do you think of the rivalry between the Daily Collegian and Onward State?

    I think the rivalry between the Daily Collegian and Onward state is natural. Any town or city that has two different news sources is going to have some healthy competition. Where I am from, there is one newspaper and one radio station. The two media sources have an unspoken rivalry. I know this because I worked for both places. It was interesting to be on both sides.

    In the case of the Daily Collegian and Onward State, it seems like the Daily Collegian has more of a problem with Onward State than Onward State has with them. The article says that Onward State has no problem re-linking stories from their competition. The Daily Collegian, on the other hand, is strongly against it. It seems to me that the old paper is having a hard time adjusting to the new ways of journalism.

    If you were the editor of the Daily Collegian, how would you respond to the launch of Onward State?

    If I were the editor of the Daily Collegian, I would try to use the Onward State Web site to my advantage. Since the Daily Collegian has been around longer, and has more experienced journalists, I would send my reporters to cover the stories that are attracting readers to the Onward State Web site. I would also try to staff some of the students that are part of the Onward State staff, and try to learn the ways of new journalism. The editor of the Daily Collegian needs to be more open-minded and start accepting that journalism is changing and people are gravitating towards the web to get their news.

    Do you think traditional media should embrace social media? Why or why not?

    I think traditional media should embrace social media. The world is constantly changing, and new technologies are being introduced every day. Every business changes the way it works to adapt to the new technology, and newspapers shouldn’t be any different.

    As a college journalist, do you see yourself as someone who fits better in the traditional camp or the online camp?

    If I could put the breaks on the transformation that journalism is undergoing, I would. I definitely think that I fit more into the traditional camp. Part of the reason I declared journalism as my major is because of the huge role that newspapers played in my life up to this point. The old style of journalism is slower paced, and gives reporters more time to double check their work. The new style of journalism is intimidating!

    Do you think you need to do anything differently to prepare for a career in journalism today?

    It’s more essential to be able to use technology. Journalists today need to know how to do more than just take notes on a piece of paper. It’s essential to know how to use programs Indesign, Photoshop and Illustrator. It’s also important to understand social media sites like Twitter and Facebook. Obviously, this is something that reporters in the past did not need to know.

  8. Ryan Evans
    April 21, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    This rivalry at Penn State between the traditional Daily Collegian newspaper and the online publication, Onward University, presents an interesting snapshot of what is taking place in the entire journalism industry. Obviously, the Internet has already completely changed the manner in which content is produced and consumed. The instantaneous nature of the web provides the timing that news organizations have always sought to break their stories before the competition. Sites like Onward University will no doubt become even more common as the industry evolves.
    This being said, I do not necessarily look at these two publications as rivals, but as two distinct information sources. The Daily Collegian is a content originator while Onward University is a content gatherer and presenter, much more like a blog. If I were the editor at the Daily Collegian, I would take this same view but I would also be sure that my own publication would be willing to evolve to take advantage of all resources available to us online.
    The Internet is not going away and journalists need to accept that. Traditionalists need to accept that a major change is happening in the way that consumers get their news and that things will never stay the same in an industry like this one. If an organization is to remain successful, it must invest in online resources. As students, we are fortunate to have grown up with much of the technology that is being utilized so that we will probably be more comfortable when new technology continues to pop up. Indeed, the Internet is not only the future, but the present and we must all be ready to use it to our advantage.

  9. Max Olson
    April 21, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    It makes sense to me that these two “papers” are rivals, because clearly they have wholly different ideals and goals. They would never merge, because neither offers what the other wants. The Daily Collegian is all about official reporting, done from an office with the old-fashioned (but not necessarily outdated) print model. It doesn’t care about online networking because it’s too worried about filling a paper and writing good stories. Onward State doesn’t want an office, because that would only complicate things and impair their ability to be spread across the entire campus. They don’t care about salaries or print editions, just coverage and building a strong online readership. Like the editor from Onward said in the blog post’s comments section, they don’t want to get paid because they don’t want to see it as a job. I can respect that, and I’m sure their creation of Onward will get them all journalism jobs anyway.

    If I were the editor of the Collegian, I’m not sure if I’d embrace them or see them as competitors – it would depend on how well I knew the people that ran Onward. Regardless, I would work to build my paper’s online presence as quickly as possible. That’s the best way to compete with Onward: Offer better reporting with an equal online presence. Traditional media MUST embrace social media, there’s no doubt in my mind. To try and avoid doing so is only postponing the inevitable, and really, what’s most important isn’t the writers but the readers. If Penn State’s students care more about getting their news online and in 140 characters, I’d do whatever I could to offer that.

    Right now, I think I’m more of a traditional journalist. I’m slowly trying to develop my online skills, but I’m certainly not someone who knows how to do HTML and I’m not even sure how Google Wave works. My goal is to work at a paper after I graduate. Who knows what paper that will be? Maybe it’ll be a paper that’s firmly traditional, or maybe it’ll be a tabloid-style paper with a strong online presence. You never know, maybe I’ll work for a website. I definitely think that having a full toolbox of online skills is growing more and more important today, because good newspapers know now that a strong online presence is essential to offering complete coverage.

  10. Dan Hoppen
    April 22, 2010 at 12:54 am

    I think the rivalry is something that is going on everywhere. It’s slightly more evident in this article because of the Penn State connection, but newsrooms all over the country are experiencing just what the Daily Collegian is. All print publications are in constant competition with their online counterparts, and the arguments are the same in newsrooms as they are in this story. Online publications, like Onward State, are able to report news more quickly, while print editions, like the Daily Collegian, are able to go more in-depth and establish a trusted relationship with sources.
    If I were the editor of the Daily Collegian, I would just keep doing what the paper has done. I would try to establish a Twitter feed and Facebook page that link to stories, but other than that I would stay the course. When students want well-written local news, they’re more likely to trust their award-winning campus newspaper than a startup website out of a dorm room, at least in my opinion.
    I do think it’s important for traditional media to embrace social media. The publication can create traffic to its site by linking to stories on its Facebook and Twitter pages, which gives the page hits and increases the amount advertisers are willing to pay. These are the kinds of things the young generation is into. If print media wants to stay relevant, it has to adapt and cater to the wants of its customers.
    I would consider myself in the traditional media camp, but I’m not against social media in any way. I see the purpose of Facebook for journalists and, after this last assignment, understand the usefulness of a Twitter account. While I prefer the print edition, journalism is changing. Publications are looking for people who can both write and use social media: if that’s what I need to do to get hired, I’ll adapt. For this reason, I think preparing for a journalism career is different today. The more multi-faceted a reporter is, the more coveted he or she is. Before, journalists were specialized (writer, editor, cameraman, etc.). Now, especially with the economy the way it is, newspapers are looking to hire applicants that can do more than one thing, such as someone who can write and post videos on the paper’s website. Today’s journalism student is expected to be more well-rounded and adjustable.

  11. Tom Grant
    April 22, 2010 at 3:51 am

    Personally, I find the rivalry between the two sources of media to be very interesting for a variety of reasons. The first thing that strikes me is how the Daily Collegian either does not have a website of their own or does not use it to their full advantage. Essentially the Onward State has taken students use of the internet and made it so a person can find all of their information while sitting in front of the computer they would be looking at anyway. The Daily Nebraskan is very good about getting each day’s stories up and onto their Internet site which I know is read and used extremely often. I think the Daily Collegian needs to accept that times are changing and media is taking to the internet. It’s not a bad thing, either. While I may not use a Twitter, millions of people do and having it as another outlet for your stories surely can’t hurt. If I were the editor of the Daily Collegian I would be sure to jump on the internet as soon as possible. As I said before, times are changing and while there will always be a place for print media, scores of people prefer to use the internet; why would you not give yourself every possible advantage when you have the option? I definitely believe that it is time for the traditional media to accept this new age of social media because it is just a part of accepting reality. Could you imagine how much worse off the Omaha World-Herald would be if they did not have a website? Their product would be essentially cut in half. It does not make sense to withhold from the Internet because it is so readily available to the consumer. The more places your stories are, the more they will be read. I personally feel like I can fit well in either environment though the new brand of social media is very interesting to me. I love getting my information fast and the Internet is the best place for that. I think I can write in a fashion that fits the Internet well and know it would be a place I feel comfortable handing out information. As for careers in journalism today, I definitely believe that you absolutely have to be well-rounded and able to use the Internet. As we’ve learned recently in class, several writers have their own Twitters and it is a great chance to get your work out there. If you do not accept the Internet I’m afraid you are putting yourself at an extreme disadvantage in the job market.

  12. Jackie Wiruth
    April 22, 2010 at 7:21 am

    I think that the Daily Collegian and Onward State should give over their rivalry. They should instead create a partnership. By doing this they could combine the best of both worlds. This is what I would do if I were the editor of the Daily Collegian. I would attempt to persuade Onward State to become a social media branch of the Daily Collegian. I think that traditional media should embrace social media. If they do not keep up with the times, they will be left in the dust. There are many benefits to social media. It is not something that the traditional media should ignore. As a college journalist I find myself right in the middle of the two camps. Traditional media should not be given up. The accuracy it provides is not something the world can afford to lose. However, new media must be embraced. As a college student today, I must learn the traditional way of doing things, but I also must learn how to operate within social media.

  13. DeShaun
    April 22, 2010 at 8:19 am

    I think the rivalry is kind of silly. If I was the editor of the Daily Collegian I would look at what good things Onward State is doing and try to see how we can use some of those things to our advantage. I think traditional media should embrace social media to some extent. If they don’t, they are losing out on potential viewers. You don’t have to lose your identity trying to stay relevant with the times. Like I found out from our Twitter assignment the Internet can be used to your advantage. As a college student I find myself closer to the social media side of things but I still keep traditional in mind. To prepare for the evolving world of journalism, I think I need to fully embrace the Internet and use it to my advantage by using blogs, Twitter and YouTube. Building these skills will help me when newsrooms embrace the Web and take advantage of it as well.

  14. Elle Engebretson
    September 6, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    I think the rivalry between Daily Collegian and Onward State is healthy. They both make extremely valid points when it comes to why they like their “type” of media better. It is good to see a college level, fun yet serious rivalry, that brings a nationwide problem more local and prominent.
    If I was the editor of the Daily Collegian I would be frustrated yet ready for the launch of Onward State. Competition is healthy and it would make me want to work harder and prove why traditional media is important.
    Traditional media has already started embracing social media. As shown in the article, CNN uses Twitter updates as a form of news. I think it is important that blogs, Twitter, Facebook and social media are taken serious by traditional media. The internet and new technology has made news available 24/7. People know the news before it even happens in some cases. If traditional media can see social media as a reliable and quality news media, it could enhance and even help mold traditional media.
    I see myself as someone who fits better with an online camp. I like hearing the news right away and from online. I don’t always have time to read a newspaper and it is nice to use my phone to check the internet and social media networks. Blogging is a great new media that is much about opinions as facts. To me, traditional media is falling behind and I would much rather work with an online media.
    As of now I wouldn’t do anything differently to prepare for a career in journalism. I have Twitter and Facebook and know enough about technology to stay with the latest news trends. Also, I want to focus mostly on Public Relations, such as event planning, rather than reporting so I feel I would prepare for that more than a traditional career in journalism.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

