Home > Uncategorized > Welcome to editing, morning class

Welcome to editing, morning class

If you are in the 9:30 a.m. class (News 201, Section 001), post your bio comments here.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. Seanica
    January 10, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Seanica Reineke. This is my second year, but I have enough credits to label me as a junior.
    Where are you from?
    Edgerton, Missouri.
    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I came to UNL because the journalism program is one of the best and UNL also has a dance program.
    What is your major?
    I’m double majoring in News-Editorial and Dance.
    Career Goals?
    I would like to become the editor-in-chief of a dance magazine.
    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    To be the editor of a magazine, you have to be really good at editing. I hope to learn more about AP style and be able to remember more of the AP rules without having to look at the style book.
    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I’ve been dancing since I was 3, so I’m very passionate about that. I’m also a volunteer for the Big Brothers Big Sisters program. I love to read and sing. I’m on the worship team at my church.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I was on a competitive dance team for 15 years and through that I was able to do something I doubt anyone else in this class has done before: I’ve danced with a fake man.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, both of my parents graduated from Northwest Missouri State and my sister graduated from UNL.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style
    6
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    Captivating by John and Stasi Eldredge; The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks; The Case for Christ by Lee Strobel.
    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    USA Today and Dance Spirit magazine.
    What is your favorite Web site?
    http://www.Pogo.com
    Do you blog?
    No
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I was an intern at the National Association of Farm Broadcasting this past summer.
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    Yes
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes

  2. Kelly Morris
    January 12, 2010 at 11:57 am

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Kelly Morris. I am a sophomore.

    Where are you from?
    I grew up in Golden, Colorado but junior year I moved to Elkhorn Nebraska. So Elkhorn I suppose.

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    It is in-state and has a great journalism program

    What is your major?
    I am a new/editorial major

    Career Goals?
    My ultimate goal is to be an entertainment writer at the Rolling Stone.

    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I hope to be better at spelling and to become a much better editor because I rarely catch my own mistakes in writing.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I absolutely love music, listening to it and playing it. I also love swimming and snowboarding and watching both.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    Once I was on the Bozo show.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, my parents both went to CU and my dad actually went back to UNO this semester to become a teacher

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style
    5

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I am re reading A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving currently because I really love that book. But anything by Marian Keyes or Sophie Kinsella.

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    I subscribe to Rolling Stone and generally pick up at least the World Herald and usually the New York Times as well.

    What is your favorite Web site?
    Definitely facebook.

    Do you blog?
    No

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    No

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    The only internship I have had was at the Lancaster County Democratic Office. It mostly involved phone banking.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    I have a list of things I have done, but I do not have it in a resume form.

  3. Emily Giller
    January 12, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    My name is Emily Giller and I am a sophomore.

    Where are you from?
    I am from Omaha, Neb.

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I came to UNL because of the in-state tuition and because of the scholarships i received from the university.

    What is your major?
    I have three majors: news/editorial, advertising and art.

    Career Goals?
    I would like a job in the journalism field but I’m not sure what yet. I have narrowed it down to reporting, editing, or photojournalism.

    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    By taking this class I hope to figure out if becoming an editor is a possible career choice for me.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I really like art. In Omaha I had taken 10 years of art classes, not including school art classes.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I have been to Israel. During the summer of 2006 I went on a youth mission trip with a group of Jewish teens from Omaha and spent a month there.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, both my parents went to college.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style
    I would give myself either a six or seven. I know the rules for AP style, however, I am human and I do tend to make mistakes every now-and-then.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I am currently reading Dear John and I am also reading Eats, Shoots and Leaves.

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    I like to read either the Omaha World-Herald or the New York Times. When I want to get news from the internet though I read msnbc.com.

    What is your favorite Web site?
    The only Web site I look at everyday is cox.com and that is to check my e-mail.

    Do you blog?
    I do not blog.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    No, I don’t really.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    Yes, I am waiting to hear back from a small newspaper in Omaha that is hiring interns this summer.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes I do.

  4. Rhiannon Root
    January 12, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    Hello everyone! My name is Rhiannon Root, I’m a sophomore news-editorial major. I’ve lived in Lincoln for the vast majority of my life so it only made sense to come to UNL! True story, I practically grew up on campus. My dad has pictures of me learning to walk in Morrill Hall. Yeah, and there are some more dangerously cute stories, but I’ll spare you the details.

    First and foremost, I’m taking this course because I want to be a better writer. Good writers are not only good at generating ideas, but also can clearly and concisely communicate these ideas. I hope to that I’ll gain a lot of knowledge here, perhaps furthering myself in the world of journalism.

    When I’m not writing, slinging sandwiches or chasing down elementary school kids, I like to kick back and dive into a good book. Lately, I’ve been reading a lot more of the YA fiction, I really dig Libba Bray, Holly Black and Laurie Halse Anderson. (I just finished Anderson’s “Wintergirls,” it’s excellent.) But as I mentioned, my reading tastes are a bit random and I’m in the middle of Dan Savage’s “The Commitment.” I’m a huge fan of his column, Savage Love. But I’ll read practically anything, with the notable exception of technical manuals. Say it with me, “EWWWWW!” I try to read as much news as possible, usually on Yahoo.com. Sometimes I’ll hit The Huffington Post or Politico to add a splash of variety. I also read a bunch of other blogs, but there’s a big debate over whether that counts as news coverage and I’m on the fence there. I don’t blog, mostly because that demands a lot of time and energy that I cannot give at this moment.

    Right now I’d say my knowledge of grammar and punctuation is about a 7 on a good day, 5.5 on a bad day. I’ve picked up a bit of AP style from just sitting in the DN offices (diffusion, I tell you!) but I can’t say I’ve ever learned it formally, so I’ll rate it at a 3.5.

    Nope, I haven’t had an internship yet, but I am looking! I’ve even updated my resume since last semester. It would help if I knew what exactly I needed in an internship and what I was qualified for.

    That’s all I have for now, see you in class!

  5. Jackie Wiruth
    January 13, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    My name is Jackie Wiruth. I am currently a junior.

    I am from Lincoln, Nebraska.

    I came to UNL because it was close to home, but still one of the top journalism colleges in the United States.

    I am majoring in News and Editorial.

    I am not really sure of my career goals at this time. Hopefully this class, along with the others I am taking, will help me figure that out.

    I am taking this course because it is required. However, they usually require things for a reason, and hopefully it will help me to be a better more professional writer.

    I love traveling and photography. I’ll take a picture of anything, even trash. 🙂 In my opinion, anything can be art.

    Something rather odd that makes me unique is that I can swallow my tongue.

    My grandmother and my mother both attended universities, so I am not the first one in my family to do so.

    I have not paid much attention to grammar since high school, so I would say that I am at about a 5.

    I have read many books in the past three months, among them the Sookie Stackhouse series.

    I read yahoo news, and I honestly cannot claim to read much else, besides facebook updates.

    I do not think that I have a favorite website. The website that I use the most is Google.

    This is the first time that I have ever blogged.

    I do not really have any actual media/communication experience, but I did write for my school newspaper in high school. I was also a leading member of the yearbook staff. However, I went to a very small school, so that is not actually saying a lot.

    I am not pursuing a media-related internship or job at this time.

    I have not recently updated my resume, though I have been meaning to.

  6. Sarah Morris
    January 13, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    My name is Sarah Morris and I am currently a sophomore from Omaha, Nebraska.

    I came to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln because I was originally going into the pharmaceutical field and the university is excellent in preparing students for that area of study. It also helps that I receive in state tuition.

    Currently, I am double majoring in News/Editorial and Advertising in hopes of expanding job opportunities in my future.

    I have about three main goals for my career and I hope to reach at least one, if not all. My first is to write for a magazine such as National Geographic. I believe it would be educational yet really interesting to write about subjects of the world that few people can investigate themselves. Secondly, as part of advertising, I am really interested in public relations. Representing a company or organization appeals to me because I am a good listener but at the same time I get points across. I enjoy public speaking and being in the eye of the public. Last but not least, I have always wanted to be an editor. Since I was little my dad has always corrected my grammar if I said something wrong and I have picked up his habits of correcting others. It may not be very polite, but I easily recognize when there is a mistake.

    I hope to further my knowledge in grammar and gain insight to real situations that I may come across in the future.

    Since I was seven years old I have swam on a competitive swim team. I was on varsity all four years of high school and my sophomore year I qualified for the state championships. Also in high school, I was on the varsity golf team. Aside from sports, I am a frequent movie goer. I own several DVD’s in which most of them are comedies.

    One thing that makes me unique is that I have been to more places outside of the United States as opposed to inside the country.

    I am not the first person to attend a university, instead I am the sixth person to attend.

    I would like to say that my knowledge is about an eight, however in reality I know it is more around a six or seven.

    In the past three months I read The Vampires Assistant and a book for history class that I found to be rather interesting. During the school year I rarely have time for leisurely reading.

    I regularly read Cosmopolitan, The Omaha World Herald, and The Daily Nebraskan.

    My favorite website is probably textsfromlastnight.com because I always enjoy a good laugh.

    No I do not blog.

    In high school I took a speech class that helped students improve their public speaking skills. I also work at jobs that require me to have knowledge about certain information as well as relay it to the public.

    I am currently working for Brokaw Marketing as an intern this spring semester.

    Yes I do have an updated resume in my files.

  7. Kristin Bauer
    January 13, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    Hello everyone! My name is Kristin Bauer, and I am a sophomore News-Editorial and Broadcasting major. I am from Merna, a very small town in western Nebraska. Merna is made up of approximately 300 citizens. I attended a consolidated high school and graduated with a class of 25 students.

    I chose the University of Nebraska- Lincoln because of the excellent journalism program. Before touring UNL, I had every intention of attending a smaller college, located closer to home. As soon as I toured UNL, saw Anderson Hall, and got a feel for the Lincoln campus, I was sure that UNL was the school for me. My family is often teased because we each attend a different University of Nebraska. My brother is currently in graduate school at the University of Nebraska at Omaha and my sister attends the University of Nebraska at Kearney.

    My entire life, I have had two main interests: writing and music, so naturally, my ultimate goal is to work for a music-based magazine. Music is something that I am very passionate about. Not only do I have a very expansive CD collection, but I also collect vinyl LPs. I started collecting vinyl when I was in high school. I started by inheriting my Dad’s old records. When I moved here, my collection grew by a sizable amount. Where I am from, there are no record stores. I also really enjoy attending concerts, which feeds to my obsession with music. Live music is always a completely different experience than just listening to a CD or a record.

    I also enjoy reading. It is something that I encounter every day of my life. I am currently reading a book written by James Frey called “Million Little Pieces.” When I finish this novel, I plan to read “The Lovely Bones” by Alice Sebold because the movie looks interesting. I subscribe to both Rolling Stone and Spin Magazine. I also read the Lincoln Journal star and the Daily Nebraskan every day. I often visit http://www.cnn.com, along with http://www.usatoday.com. Although I visit these sites on a regular basis, I spend most of my time on the computer on networking sites like Facebook and Twitter. I used to spend time blogging, but I stopped after graduating from high school.

    A unique fact about me is that I am a vegetarian. After my grandpa died of heart disease three years ago, I started to abstain from eating meat. Since Nebraska is often conveyed as “beef country,” this may seem unusual to some people.

    Last summer, I interned at a radio station near my hometown. I worked as the news director at KCNI/KBBN in Broken Bow, Nebraska. I gained a lot of experience while I worked there. I became comfortable talking on the air and also learned how to cover different events such as school board meetings, city council meetings, and public hearings. I learned so much this summer, but I learned even more last semester in News 202.

    I am not currently pursuing a media related internship or job. After this summer, I felt that I needed a break from the pressure that comes along with being on the air every day. I currently work at an office on campus. It is still a stressful job, but in a different way. I am most definitely ready to get back to reporting! I hope to get another internship this summer.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, I would rate my knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style at 5. I am taking this course to further my education as a journalist. I am also taking this course to improve my writing and editing skills. I hope to gain confidence in my writing and knowledge of AP Style and grammar.

    I always keep an updated resume on my computer in case I need it for scholarships or job applications.

    I believe that answers all of the questions that were required for the assignment and then some. I look forward to the challenges that lay ahead in News 201!

  8. Ryan Evans
    January 13, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    Hello, I’m Ryan Evans, a junior with a major in broadcasting. Originally from Lincoln, I suppose I came to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln not only out of local convenience, but also due to the fact that I had heard very good things about the journalism program.
    I am not exactly sure what I want to be “when I grow up.” Ideally, I would be a producer and writer for National Public Radio, working not only on news stories but music and human interest pieces. My interests in broadcasting mostly lie in radio at the current moment, and the job market is certainly nothing to get excited about. With that in mind, the prospects of freelancing as a content producer may prove to be the most fruitful. Regardless of where I am headed, I am excited for the journey.
    I am actually not enrolled in News 201 because I have to be. On the contrary, being a broadcast major, I am interested in improving my reporting skills because it is difficult to avoid the fact that all fields in media are converging. As I see it, the better-rounded I am in the field, the better-off I will be.
    Aside from being a full-time student, I work 40 hours per week at Russ’s Market as the General Merchandise Manager. Additionally, I have been involved with Lincoln’s community radio station KZUM for over five years. When I’m not busy with school, working, or volunteering my time at the radio station, I enjoy catching local blues and rock music performance, especially at the legendary Zoo Bar in downtown Lincoln.
    Something that may be surprising about me is that I have had a love/hate relationship with college life. Perhaps it’s not interesting to you the reader, but I fascinate myself with how far I have come. I graduated from Lincoln Southeast High School in 2005, only to be pushed in to attending college when I wanted to take a year off. As the first in my family to attend college, I quickly became burned out after my first semester at UNL and did not return for another year. Even then, I was only taking a couple of classes and went through a couple of years of dropping out of classes before I decided to get serious. So, here I am, a 23 year-old junior who is finally ready to grab my degree by the horns
    I would rate my overall knowledge of journalistic pillars such as grammar, punctuation, and AP style near a six on a scale of one to ten. The expert will no doubt be able to find numerous errors in this very blog. It never fails to surprise me that, just when I think I have a handle on these areas, something manages to surprise me. That being said, I do feel that I have come a long way in my understanding of these areas in the last year, mostly due to helpful classes at UNL.
    Aside from books I am reading for school, I am enjoying reading a variety of books for pleasure at the moment. At the top of my stack is When You Are Engulfed in Flames, by David Sedaris, who is one of my favorite authors. I am also enjoying the latest book of poetry and fiction, Hello Sunshine, by one of my favorite musical artists, Ryan Adams. While Adams explores personal experiences through lyrics and poetry, I enjoy books by Sedaris because they are memoirs of his life experiences. His stories can be very funny and very sad, which are both no doubt relatable for everyone.
    To get my news fix, I read the Lincoln Journal Star daily, and visit a few websites such as Huffington Post and Salon to catch up on world affairs. Of course, The Daily Show with John Stewart is as good as any news program on television as well. I can honestly say that I don’t have a favorite website, more preferring to jump around the net to get my information and entertainment.
    While I have never before taken to the blogosphere, I have some experience in the media field. I was Editor for my high school yearbook, and began an internship around that time with KZUM radio here in Lincoln. A few months later, I began to produce and host a weekly program on KZUM, which I continue to this day. Monday nights, I program two hours of folk, blues, and rock music from national, international, and local artist, and provide background and news that fits in with the music. Also, I am currently the Secretary on the Board of Directors at KZUM. I’ve enjoyed the challenges and rewards that have come from working with a non-profit, community-based media organization, and have found a passion there. While I hope that this experience will help me in my employment prospects, I do not have a current resume on file. I would attribute to this to being content with my job at the grocery store, and life overall, I suppose.

  9. Ben Ayers
    January 14, 2010 at 12:01 am

    Ben Ayers

    Your Name. Year in school.
    My Name is Ben Ayers. I am currently a junior.

    Where are you from?
    I am from Omaha, Nebraska.

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I was originally planning on attending K-State University, but changed my mind due to the out-of-state tuition.

    What is your major?
    I am a News/Ed major.

    Career Goals?
    As of right now my main goal is obviously to get through school. I would like to move out East and work for a paper on the coast.

    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I hope to improve my use of grammar and punctuation, which was never one of my strong suits throughout school.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I like reading. I am a big fan of watching poker tournaments on T.V. I like to write and I enjoy drawing a little from time to time. I also enjoy long moonlit walks on the beach.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I had back surgery in high school and was fitted with two titanium rods which are securely screwed into my spinal chord.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No I have had many relatives embark on a college career, although so far no one in my family except for my Mom and my Aunt has actually achieved a degree. I also have one older cousin who is on track to graduate from the University Nebraska- Lincoln before me.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    I would have to rate my knowledge of grammar and punctuation at around a 4 or a 5.
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?

    I recently finished reading Pride and Prejudice, and Zombies. I just started reading The Road.

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    I usually pick up a copy of the New York Times, other than that I do not read many magazines.

    What is your favorite Web site?
    My most frequented website is hotmail.com; my favorite website to visit is blackcabsessions.com

    Do you blog?
    I do not blog.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I do not have media or communication experience.

    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    At this time no, but hopefully in the near future.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Unfortunately I do not. I plan on starting one soon.

  10. Dan Hoppen
    January 14, 2010 at 12:10 am

    My name is Dan Hoppen, and I’m a sophomore from Omaha. I came to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln because I thought it would better prepare me for a career in journalism than my previous school, Hastings College. It’s a big school and I have a lot of friends that go here, and so far it’s been a good fit.
    My major is News-Editorial, and someday I want to be a professional sportswriter for a website or major newspaper.
    I’m not going to lie, I am taking this course because it’s required, but I think I can get a lot out of it. I work for the Omaha World-Herald over breaks and during the summer, and my editor suggested that I take an editing class so I could do some editing for them. Also, I know a lot of editors began their careers as writers and found they were better at editing and liked it more, and while I’m fairly sure I’m going to be a writer, I’m keeping my options open.
    My hobbies are playing basketball and spending time with friends. I’m passionate about several professional and college sports teams, notably the Indianapolis Colts, currently in the midst of another Super Bowl run.
    This may be more gross than unique, but I can drink a gallon of milk in an hour, which is supposed to be physically impossible.
    Both my parents went to school here at Nebraska, so I’m not the first.
    I would rate my knowledge of AP style and grammar at about a six or seven, so it’s something I need to improve on.
    In the past three months, I’ve read “Uncommon” by Tony Dungy, “Who’s Your Caddy?” by Rick Reilly, and I’m currently reading “Monday Morning Quarterback” by Peter King.
    I read the Daily Nebraskan and Omaha World-Herald almost every day. I don’t really spend much time on news Web sites, but Yahoo would be my primary online source.
    My favorite website is probably sportsillustrated.com, and I do not have a blog.
    As far as media experience goes, I have written several stories for the World-Herald. I was a page editor for the student newspaper at Hastings College last year and am currently a writer for the DN. I might try to get an official internship with the World-Herald this summer.
    And I did have a full, updated resume on my last computer, but then it died for no apparent reason. I’m in the process of putting another together on my new computer.

  11. Tom Grant
    January 14, 2010 at 12:26 am

    Hey guys my name is Tom Grant and I am a sophomore here at Lincoln. I’m from Omaha, Nebraska, where I went to Creighton Prep. I came to the University of Nebraska because I really liked how close it was to Omaha but also how it was something new. They also have a great college of journalism and law school. My major is News-Editorial but I also have an interest in broadcast.
    As for my career goals, I currently write for the Daily Nebraskan so it has given me a good idea of what it would be like to one day be a career journalist. My goals as of now are to one day have my own column where I can discuss the latest in Sports locally and around the country. I still have a lot to think about career wise but if I do decide to stay on the path I am currently on having my own column is definitely something I want to do.
    I am taking this course for two reasons. One is that it is obviously required for my major but also importantly is the fact that I will be getting valuable experience in editing which is crucial in the world of journalism and law. Being able to edit my own papers perfectly would be a tremendous help down the road and this class will help me get to that level.
    One of my biggest interests is sports. In high school I played baseball which took up the majority of my time but it was well worth it. My interests in not only baseball, but all sports has continued to grow and has led me to the being a journalism major. Something that makes me unique would be the fact that I can bowl backwards better than I can forwards. I’m not sure how, but one day I started doing it and I’ve actually become pretty good at it.
    I am not the first person from my family to attend a university as both my Mom and Dad graduated from Nebraska state schools. I do have a brother who is a freshman and also attends UNL. On a scale of 1-10 I would say my grammar and punctuation skills are about a six or seven. I feel I have a solid background but I also know there is much more for me to learn before I am even close to being considered top-notch. I have not read any books in the last three months but I do read the newspaper almost every day. I always read the Omaha World Herald and the Lincoln Journal Star because it keeps me up to date on what is going on around me. Since I write for the Daily Nebraskan I also read that on a near daily basis.
    My favorite websites are ESPN.com and MMAJunkie.com. ESPN is the best source for sporting news and I am an avid mixed martial arts fans. Both of these websites give me a daily breakdown on the latest developments and news. I do actually have my own blog that is dedicated to mixed martial arts but I really only use it in the summer as an outlet for my writing. My media experience is that I currently work for the Daily Nebraskan in the sports section. It has been a fun and eye opening experience that has really helped me improve as a writer. Sadly, I have a job other than an internship lined up for my summer and I do not currently have an updated resume though I would only need to add on some of my more recent experiences for it to be current.

  12. Damien Croghan
    January 14, 2010 at 1:57 am

    My name’s Damien Croghan, and I’m a sophomore.
    I’m from Council Bluffs, Iowa.
    I decided to attend UNL because it has a good journalism program. It’s also far enough away from home, but not too far away.
    I’m a news-ed major.
    I want to be a freelance backpack journalist, traveling and writing about what’s going on around the world. I don’t have any specific plans though.
    I’m hoping that taking News 201 will help me improve my writing skills by teaching me how to proofread and edit better.
    I’m interested in traveling, photography, reading, writing, et cetera.
    As I said in class, I don’t know if this really makes me unique, but I can speak Japanese. I’m not exactly fluent though.
    I’m the first person in my family to attend a university.
    I would give myself a 6 when it comes to knowledge of grammar, punctuation, and AP style.
    Currently, I’m reading Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas.
    I read Nylon magazine, Rolling Stone occasionally, Yahoo News, and Cnn.com.
    My favorite websites are Facebook, stumbleupon.com, and postsecret.blogspot.com.
    I don’t blog, but I occasionally write Facebook notes.
    I worked on my high school newspaper and for J-News last semester.
    Since this is my first semester being an RA in Abel, I can’t pursue any other jobs or internships.
    I don’t have a resume on file, but I should probably start working on that soon.

  13. Will Latta
    January 15, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Will Latta

    1. Your name and year in school? Will Latta: Junior.
    2. Where are you from? Calgary Alberta Canada
    3. What is your major? News Editorial with an emphasis in photojournalism.
    4. Career Goals? I’m still figuring things out on this subject.
    5. Why are you taking this course? Not only will it give me the ability to better edit and assist other writers and their work, but it will likely help me become a better writer myself.
    6. Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? I love snowboarding, playing sports, photography, and just relaxing outdoors.
    7. Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you feel unique. Well one thing is that I grew up in Canada, also I spent part of last summer in Rwanda studying the political, psychological, social and cultural effects of genocide.
    8. Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? Nope.
    9. On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style? 6.5 and I make a good effort to get things right when I don’t know the right answer.
    10. What books are you reading or have read in the past three months? Right now I’m reading “Sophie’s World,” which is a novel and an accurate history of philosophy as well. I’ve also recently finished a novel titled “The Magicians.”
    11. What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? None regularly.
    12. What is your favorite Web site? http://www.Hulu.com
    13. Do you blog? Nope, I do not, except right now and any other time I post for this class.
    14. Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? I’ve had articles published in Geneva, Nebraska and I’ve had photographs published in the Daily Nebraskan and the university newspaper at Columbia, Missouri as well.
    15. Are you pursuing a media – related internship or job at this time? I’m applying for a photography internship with Adventure Magazine.
    16. Do you have an updated resume in your files? Why yes, I do.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

