Home > Uncategorized > Welcome to Editing, afternoon class

Welcome to Editing, afternoon class

If you are in the 3 p.m. class (News 201, Section 003), post your bio comments here.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. January 12, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    Hello to all classmates. I’m Alexis from Malaysia and I’ve been in UNL since last fall semester. I’m a transfer student, hence I’m currently in my junior year. I chose UNL because of its good journalism school (yay!) and the scholarship they offered me. I’m a News-ed major and I hope to write for newspapers after graduating. I’m interested in war and investigative journalism and although I understand that I most probably wouldn’t end up in that area of reporting immediately after graduation, I hope I wouldn’t lose sight of that dream job of mine. I hope to learn editing skills, which are vital for every journalist and through the acquired skills, I am able to write with less mistakes.

    I play the guitar and it’s one of the rare things I’ve not given up on. I like outdoor activities (kayaking, hiking, etc.) One surprising thing (something I didn’t realize until recently) is that I might be the first in my family to earn a degree in a university.

    I would rate 7 for my grammar, 7 punctuation and 3 for AP style. Books I’ve been reading for the past three months are: Native Speaker by Chang-Rae Lee, Woman Warrior by Maxine Hong Kingston (I like this one a lot) and Mrs. Dalloway. I try to read the Daily Nebraskan, the Lincoln Journal Star and The New York Times daily. I subscribe to CNN, The New York Times and USA Today’s RSS feeds on my Google Reader. I started blogging on blogspot since 2005. My favorite website is jamieoliverdotcom because watching his shows helps me unwind after a long day in classes.

    I did a 3 month internship in 2006 with a magazine targeted for college students before deciding on doing a journalism major. I am not attached to any media-related organization now but I’m hoping to secure an internship for this coming summer. I don’t have an updated resume in my files (yet).

    See all of you in class!

  2. Kyle Dump
    January 12, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    Hey, my name is Kyle Dump. I’m half-way through my second year here at UNL, to be honest, I’m not sure what my title is. Sophomore maybe? Junior? It’s all kind of messy. Anyway, I’m from Hartington, Neb. a town of approximately 1500 people. I came to the University because I liked Lincoln and the campus and, frankly, I was nervous to move out-of-state. I’m glad I made the decision though.
    I’m now currently a Journalism – News Ed. major and an English major. I haven’t the slightest idea what I’m going to do with either of those degrees, but, no matter what it is, I plan to change the world. Naive, I know, but I can’t help it.
    I’m hoping that this course will help me do that. I’ve always learned that being able to edit yourself was a sure way to be ahead in the game, so I figured I’d learn a little more about it.
    Outside of class I like to hang out with my friends, read, write, play video-games, watch movies, the list could go on, but I digress.
    I’m neither interesting nor unique, but I do really love to write. I consider it my duty to open peoples minds with what I have to say. Wether or not I’m good at it remains to be seen.
    Both of my parents attended universities, and from an early age it was apparent that I had no choice but to follow their lead, for which I am thankful.
    I’d consider myself a pretty good editor already, maybe a seven on a scale of 1 to 10. My parents own newspapers, so I’ve been learning AP since the day I could put my fingers to a keyboard
    I haven’t had much of a chance to read in the last three months and the few books I’ve managed to read weren’t really noteworthy. They were mostly just paper-back blarney.
    I frequent facebook (of course) along with google news and the New York Times widget for Mac.
    I’ve written for my parents’ newspaper for longer than I can remember and for the last semester I’ve been writing for the Daily Nebraskan.

    I’m looking forward to a great semester.

  3. Arman Zeljkovic
    January 12, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    My name is Arman Zeljkovic. This is my second year in school, so I am a sophomore.
    Where are you from?
    I am originally from Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina.
    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I came to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln because I live in Omaha and my parents wanted me to stay close to home.
    What is your major?
    I am a Journalism News-Editorial major. However, I plan to take up English as a second major soon, so I will be a Journalism and English double major.
    Career Goals?
    I want to be a federal prosecutor in either Arizona or California
    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I hope to become better at applying the AP style rules to my writing. I hope to be able to easily remember the important style rules and not have to flip through my book every time I have a question.
    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I love everything about sports. I love to play sports, watch sports on television and read about sports.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I can speak Bosnian fluently.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No. My parents attended a university while they lived in Sarajevo and my older sister attends UNL as well.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style
    I would rate myself around a six or a seven. I have taken classes previously in high school and at UNL where I was given AP style and grammar tests, so I have a decent working knowledge. My problem is remembering the specific rules, so I constantly question whether something is written correctly or not.
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I have read Octavian Nothing Vol. I recently over break. I am currently reading Opening Atlantis and Octavian Nothing Vol. II.
    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    I regularly visit ESPN.com as well as SportsIllustrated.com for all of my sporting news. I check NYtimes.com and CNN.com on a daily basis as well.
    What is your favorite Web site?
    My favorite website is ESPN.com. It is my homepage and I find myself checking it up to six times a day, just to see if anything new has occurred.
    Do you blog?
    No, I have never blogged.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I have no media/communication experience whatsoever.
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    No, I have no interest in finding a media-related internship as I am currently employed.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    No, the only resume that I have on file is the one the I worked on during my first semester of my freshman year.

  4. Magie Wieneke
    January 13, 2010 at 12:20 am

    Hello all, my name is Magie Wieneke. I am in the second semester of my second year here at UNL, technically a sophomore still I believe or I might be a junior I am not sure. I come from a small town in Minnesota called Luverne and I chose UNL because of the Journalism school. My major is currently News-Editorial but I am thinking of changing this to an English major with emphasis in creative writing, but not 100% yet. I am not the first to attend a university in my family but I might be the first to come out with a degree. And my knowledge of grammar and punctuation would be somewhere around 7 or 8 maybe, AP style might be more a 6 though.

    For the longest time my goal has to been to get out there and work for an entertainment media source, whether it be magazine or online or dealing with television as well. I am just really into anything movie, television, music related, it’s one of those silly childhood things I never grew out of. Just instead of being famous I want write about celebrities and interview them.

    Something that makes me unique…I collect pennies I guess is kind of dorky and interesting. I started in like eight grade or so when a teacher suggest we try to save one each day till we graduate and see how much we had. I failed at the everyday thing but I just started collecting them and putting them in a bag, by the time I graduated I had somewhere around fifty dollars. And since then I have started again and will cash those in when I graduate from college.

    As far as books I currently am in the middle of both The Importance of Music to Girls by Lavinia Greenlaw and Lion Among Men by Gregory Maguire from the Wicked series. Before those I read Me and Orson Welles by Robert Kaplow. I wish I had more time to free read but textbooks seem to be my only companions lately. I am horrible at reading actual newspapers; I will pick up the Daily Nebraskan sometimes but other than that I am pretty pathetic. Magazines I read when I can afford them, are things like Seventeen, I have thought working there would be amazing, Entertainment Weekly, People, and other entertainment focused publications. Websites are the same type; E!Online, Just Jared, Perez Hilton, and etc. I also frequent Twitter and Facebook and LiveJournal quite often, Twitter probably being my overall favorite. I have blogged, not regularly or on a constant basis but yes I have.

    I don’t have a whole lot of media or communication experience; I was editor of my high school paper my senior year but it wasn’t much. I feel I have a pretty decent understanding of how media works; but I am no expert and am always willing to learn more. Depending on what I do with my major I was looking at getting an internship with my hometown paper to test out the waters more. I do not have a current resume in my files either, something to work on.

    Eek this is stupidly long and I apologize for that, I get really wordy sometimes. I am however excited to see what this semester and this class will bring.

  5. Courtney Smith
    January 13, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    Hi everybody, my name is Courtney Smith. I’m currently in my second year at UNL, but I think I’m technically a junior. I’m from Pawnee City, Nebraska, a small town of around 1,000 people. I chose UNL because I loved the campus, the big city feel and it was close enough to home, while at the same time not being too close. I was incredibly nervous at first, but I definitely think I made the right decision.

    I’m an Advertising major, although I actually want to be a studio photographer. I hope to own my own studio and to have the opportunity to incorporate traveling into my career. This class actually isn’t a requirement for me, but I chose it as an elective because I love to read and write and it drives me nuts to find typos and grammatical errors. Because of that, I want to learn how to be a great editor to make sure I don’t make those mistakes myself.

    I’m very passionate about photography. I love to watch movies, watch sports, play sports, read, hang out with my friends, etc. I love to travel, and I hope to do a lot more of it throughout my life. I grew up around cars—mainly old, classic cars. My parents own a body shop/salvage yard in my hometown, and I grew up helping my family work on the classic cars my dad was rebuilding. Throughout my childhood, we constantly attended various car shows. Over Christmas break, my dad and I began restoring a classic car just for me. We are working to rebuild a 1956 Chevy Bel Air, and I’m excited to be entering into this big project with my dad. But that’s about as unique as I get! 😉

    I am the first person in my immediate family to attend a university. I’m an only child, and neither of my parents attended a university, but I admire how successful they have both become.

    On a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate my knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style around a 7. I feel fairly confident in my knowledge of grammar and punctuation, but I’m hoping this class will give me a better grip on AP style.

    I haven’t had much time to read lately, but I’m hoping to incorporate more reading into my schedule this semester! My favorite can’t-put-it-down books are those written by Nicholas Sparks and the Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer. I’m embarrassed to admit that my most regular form of news is delivered weekly via People Magazine. I also like the Lincoln Journal Star, and I’m hoping to commit myself to reading it daily. My favorite and most frequented websites are Facebook and Hulu. Actually, Hulu has become sort of an addiction to me. I’ve found myself regularly watching twice as many television shows, just because I can watch them on Hulu. I have never blogged, but I’m working on creating a blog to showcase my photography business.

    The only media and communications experience I have is writing for my hometown’s local newspaper as part of my high school journalism class. At this time, I am not planning on pursuing a media-related internship or job. I don’t have a current resume in my files, but that is definitely something I need to be working on!

    See you in class!

  6. patrick breen
    January 13, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    Hello everybody, my name is Patrick Breen, a sophomore News-Ed major, from Omaha, Neb.. I came to UNL because of the quality of the journalism program here.

    My career goals haven’t been set in stone yet, mostly because of the changing landscape of this changing field. I do know that I will be happy anywhere in the journalism field that I am given an ability to create. I’m a photographer, but am willing to bend to fit whatever the field sees fit in the future.

    I’m taking this course to improve my writing. I always try to capture the moment in my photographs, but the cutlines are where readers can get some more facts, or meat as I’ve been told to call it. Hopefully I will improve my ability to write captions correctly and quickly.

    I am extremely passionate about photography. I won’t lie, I have developed a slowly growing distain of writing. I will try to not let that show through in this class. As for something that makes me unique, I would say you won’t find someone with more of a drive to shoot photos. Since I first seriously picked up a camera nearly five years ago, I might not have even put it down. Before I started my freshmen year I took an internship with the Cedar County News in Northeast Nebraska. I worked last summer shooting the effects of the recession across rural Nebraska, and this summer I will be heading to shoot in Kyrgyzstan.

    I’m not the first person to attend college in my family. My father is a public defender for the state and my mom also attended Creighton in Omaha, Neb..
    I would like to think I know AP style pretty well and would rate myself somewhere near seven. (Referencing the fact that one through nine are spelled out and 10 and above are numerals.) But I should be forthright in the fact that I might be the worst speller you’ll find in college.

    Most of my reading has been in graphic novels. I re-read “The Watchmen” and I love Robert Kirkman’s stuff, “The Walking Dead” and “Invincible.” As far as reading newspapers, I do almost everything online. I frequent the New York Times and the Omaha World Herald, and the Daily Nebraskan is the only thing I read in ink.

    My favorite website is probably espn.com. I do like to watch sports and definitely love to shoot them.

    I do have a blog and a flickr where I display my photos. I have journalism experience from high school and my internship at the Cedar County News. I am pursuing some internship possibilities and have an updated résumé but it is currently difficult since I will be in Kyrgyzstan for the beginning of the summer.

  7. Lauren Vuchetich
    January 13, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    Your Name.
    Lauren Vuchetich
    Year in school.
    Sophomore
    Where are you from?
    Lincoln, NE.
    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I came to UNL because of the good reputation the journalism program has.
    What is your major?
    News-Ed
    Career Goals?
    I don’t have any specific goals other than writing.
    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I hope this class helps heighten my awareness of both my own technical writing as well as others’.
    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I love to read and write, to be with friends and family. I also really enjoy baking and sewing.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I am considering a second major in etymology. Also I’ve taken up a hobby of cross stitching rap lyrics/sub-pop references/ vulgar things and framing them for friends and for my own entertainment.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    I am not the first person to attend college in my family. My parents both have degrees and instilled a high value in education in my siblings and I.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    I would probably rate myself somewhere around a 7 to 7.5. I’ve always found grammar fascintating, but I’m not the strongest speller and I often neglect putting commas where they belong. I’m pretty well versed in MLA style after being beaten over the head with it throughout high school and college.
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I’m currently reading the Road by Cormac McCarthy.
    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    I read the New York times and BBC news pretty regularly. I also wander over to the Onion occasionally.
    What is your favorite Web site?
    Toothpastefordinner.com
    Do you blog?
    No.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I was on the yearbook staff at my high school for three years. First as a copy writer, then as the business editor, and finally editor-in-chief.
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    No.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    No.

  8. Han Sen Hau
    January 13, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    Hi everyone, I’m Han Sen and I’m currently in my junior year. I come from Malaysia and if you hadn’t known it already, we’re really famous for our food so go check it out. I chose University of Nebraska-Lincoln as my preferred institution because of its journalism school that has gained quite a reputation. I’m currently majoring in broadcasting though I try to be as versatile as possible.

    My ultimate dream is to work alongside anchors from CNN and I was further inspired after watching the likes of Campbell Brown and Christiane Amanpour, prime time correspondents for the network. I’m taking this course in hopes that it would, strangely, limit the number of words I’m producing for every article or assignment that I’m receiving. I don’t deny that I have a knack for writing long essays and clearly expressing my thoughts, but I occasionally have trouble presenting them in a concise manner.

    I’m fascinated with colors so my obsession with the latest trends in fashion should come as no surprise. Nonetheless, there’s only so much one can do with his or her wardrobe without standing out as an oddball. My second obsession would be music and my preferences can vary rather abruptly. As of now, I enjoy listening to gospel music. I guess everyone does this once in a while but whenever I’m taking a shower in an empty common bathroom, no matter the time, I would sing my lungs out.

    I am not the first in my family to earn a college degree. I was born and raised in a very competitive environment, as my cousins are mostly high achievers in their respective fields. I have very high expectations for myself, which could also mean my downfall at times since I take every single thing very seriously. I would give myself an 8 for grammar, a 7 for punctuation and a 3 for my grasp on the AP style.

    As much as I want to read for recreation, I find myself reading more for the sake of meeting deadlines. However, I’m an ardent follower of Terry Pratchett’s novels (The Color of Magic, Making Money, etc.) and I’d try to get my hands on them whenever time permits it. On a daily basis, I would read The New York Times and The Daily Nebraskan to catch up on current happenings. My favorite website would have to be, albeit cliché, Youtube.com. You just never know what you might find there.

    I used to blog but with the advent of Facebook, I seem to have neglected it. I’ve written for my college’s newsletter back in Malaysia and I’m still trying to land myself an internship. I do have an updated resume in my files.

  9. Dylan Guenther
    January 14, 2010 at 12:03 am

    Your Name. Year in school.
    My name is Dylan Guenther and I am a Senior as of this semester.
    Where are you from?
    I am from Columbus, NE.
    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I came to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln because it has such a great journalism school and it is close to home.
    What is your major?
    I am a news editorial major.
    Career Goals?
    I aspire to be a sportswriter. I love football and would like to do some type of football writing. I also am a freestyle bmx rider, and I would be interested in writing for a publication such as Ride magazine. Another love of mine is music, so music writing could also be an option for me.
    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I am taking this course because every writer can always become better at editing. Part of being a good writer is being a good editor, and I know I could get much better at it.
    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I am a huge Husker fan. I love football. It is easily my favorite sport. I ride bmx a lot. I like to go to concerts and music festivals. I am an avid bowler as well, and I am in a bowling league tuesday nights with some buddies of mine.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I have been to five music festivals. I have seen Bob Weir and Phil Lesh formerly of The Grateful Dead, George Clinton and Parliament Funkadelic and The Dave Matthews Band.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    Yes, I am the first person in my family to attend a university.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style
    I would say I am at around a 7.
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    I usually check my news online. I look at Yahoo news, ESPN, Sports Illustrated, Rivals, NFL.com, Journal Star, and Omaha World Herald.
    What is your favorite Web site?
    I would have to say espn.com is my favorite website.
    Do you blog?
    No I do not blog, but have always wanted to and am in the process of trying to get a sports website started with a couple friends of mine.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I don’t have any relevant experience.
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    I am looking into internships and am in the process of looking for a summer job.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    I have my resume done. It is fairly up to date, but I would have to make a few changes.

  10. Nick French
    January 14, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Nicolas French. Junior, kind of.
    Where are you from?
    Columbus, NE.
    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    The journalism program and proximity.
    What is your major?
    News-Editorial.
    Career Goals?
    To write and/or illustrate for a niche magazine.
    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I want to make my future editor’s job easy.
    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    Writing and playing music, drawing, painting, playing pool, golfing, playing basketball, and swimming.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I cook my Ramen noodles with egg batter slowly dropped and stirred into the boiling water.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    An 8 or so.
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, The Road, Slaughterhouse Five.
    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    The New York Times, The New Yorker, Pitchfork, Journal Star, National Geographic.
    What is your favorite Web site?
    Youtube.com
    Do you blog?
    My first time, honestly.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I’m a music director at KRNU and I used to phone canvass.
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    I recently got a job freelancing for The Journal Star in the Ground Zero section.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    No.

  11. Reed Samson
    January 14, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    Hello, I’m Reed Samson and I am from Blair, Neb., which is a little over an hour north of Lincoln.

    I have always known I was going to attend Lincoln, as both my brother and dad did, and when I became interested in Journalism in high school I visited the J-building at UNL and was very impressed with it.

    I am a News-Editorial major, and as for goals, I have a little work left in that department. I have toyed with the idea of going to law school, pending on grades, if I don’t decide to pursue a career in reporting.

    I am taking this course for the same reasons that the higher-ups have decided to require it, to better understand the AP rules and further my editing skills. Those skills are crucial not only for a Journalism career, but in becoming a better writer in general.

    There are many things in the world that intrigue me, such as soccer, reading, girls, and people in general. Oh, and I also love to write.

    I’ve never been any good at telling others what makes me unique, however, my brother recently got married this last October and I suppose that is fairly interesting. He is now officially labeled as old in my book, although he is only 24.

    The whole of my immediate family has attended college, and graduated. My dad went on to law school and has influenced me to think about doing the same.

    As for my knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style, I would rate myself a 6. I was an editor for my high school newspaper my senior year, but only after some arm twisting by our editor in chief. The experience was good, but the job itself was very time consuming.

    I haven’t had as much time to look for new books or to read them for that matter, but over break I re-read a few favorites of mine, such as Ender’s Game. I don’t read magazines or newspapers regularly but I read them through every once in a while. Facebook, Pandora, and Omaha.com are the Web sites that I visit most regularly. My favorite Web site is Stumbleupon.com, which is really just a tool to find other interesting Web sites. I don’t blog, but I did write and edit for my high school newspaper. I’m trying to focus on school right now so, no, I’m not pursing a job or have an active resume on file.

  12. Rikki G.
    January 14, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    Rikki Giambruno, Sophomore
    Where are you from?
    Chaska, MN (west Minneapolis ‘burbs)
    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    Quite frankly I don’t remember. It probably had something to do with the J-school, Husker nation and others.
    What is your major?
    Broadcasting and News Editorial
    Career Goals?
    I’ve always wanted to be a sports reporter. I want to be as versatile as possible, (thus the Broadcast and News-Ed) hoping someday to be on TV, radio and print at the same time in some capacity. I’d love to use this career as an excuse to travel all across the U.S. and world.
    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    My grammar and AP skills could use a good sharpening. I came into my frosh year with very little concept of news style and I still have a lot to learn.
    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I’m the type of person that is down to try everything to have a good time. I love sports (NBA fan, Timberwolves), hip-hop (I’ll listen to anything that isn’t country) and eating. My mother was a chef and I’ve been a foodie since I was a kid. I’d love to travel while I’m still young and plan to do next spring semester abroad (I’m leaning toward Rome at the moment).
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique?
    I hate these types of questions. I have a diverse set of interests. I don’t define myself any single way.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    Nope. Both of my parents graduated college and my two older brothers recently graduated, as well. My sister will be attending Seattle U next fall.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style
    Considering I got a 66 on the AP pretest, I’ll go with a 6.6 for all.
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    I like ESPN the Mag, XXL, Slam, the Minneapolis Star Tribune for news and lots of Facebook.
    What is your favorite Web site?
    Facebook, Hiphopdx, Espn, Realgm
    Do you blog?
    Not for more than a few weeks at a time.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I wrote for my high school paper (it was a joke) and anchored for the school’s news show.
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time?
    Not at the moment. I’ll probably pursue one for summer ’11.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    I have a resume on file but it hasn’t been updated in months.

  13. Brett Bedel
    January 15, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    Your Name. Year in school. Brett Bedel, junior
    Where are you from? Omaha, NE
    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? It is close to home and I received a scholarship.
    What is your major? Education, endorsed in journalism and English
    Career Goals? To receive y teaching certificate and hopefully myPHD someday.
    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? I really hope it expands my knowledge in the the field of journalism, especially in editing.
    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? I absolutely love travel, more than anything.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique? I am up for anything. Spiradica. I love taking risks and trying new things.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? Yes
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style. Probably a 7 or an 8
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months? Twilight, yeah I’m one of those girls.
    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? CNN.com, Time, Omaha World Herald, New York Times.
    What is your favorite Web site? Facebook
    Do you blog? Not as much as I did when I was younger.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? No
    Are you pursuing a media- related internship or job at this time? No
    Do you have an updated resume in your files? No

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

