Home > Uncategorized > Section 003, 9:30 a.m. class, What’s it take?

Section 003, 9:30 a.m. class, What’s it take?

Answer the blog questions due Sept. 8 here if you are in the morning class.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Pat Radigan
    August 31, 2009 at 11:57 pm

    My name is Pat Radigan and I am a junior News/Editorial major from Sioux Falls, South Dakota. After starting at the University of South Dakota, I transferred to UNL to attend a large university with a good high level athletic department and a daily newspaper. When you add in UNL’s great big school environment and long list of resources for students, I was sealed on coming to Nebraska.
    I don’t have a clear vision of where I am expecting my career to take me, but I do know I want to work with either the media or sports or both because I have enjoyed the happiness and joy both of those mediums can bring, and enjoyed their impact on society. I believe if I can work in field I not only enjoy, but also have a great respect for, that I would be working and challenging myself everyday.
    I am taking this course in an effort to have someone with editing and journalistic experience to refine and add to my knowledge and experience with editing and AP style.
    I am very passionate about a lot of hobbies and interests in my life, but my most prominent interests and hobbies are mainly sports and entertainment related. When I am around a TV or computer or any sort of media device, my first instinct is, and always has been, to check sports, or ESPN, first and to truly digest the information. It doesn’t have to be a sport I currently like or follow, I just love the draw and excitement of sport, and learning about new sports and ideas is just as interesting as learning more about the sports I already follow. My other real love is music. I always listen to music, and all sorts of music, because I thoroughly enjoy how emotional and personal music is, and all the positive things it brings into my world.
    One surprising thing about me is that while I may seem headstrong and bold to a fault, my personality is really to try and be as helpful and as much of a team player as I can possibly be. I think the combination of confidence and all-for-one mentality come from my background in team sports and my relationship with my brothers. And speaking of my brothers, both of them graduated from in-state schools, although my older brother was a Husker for two years. Both of my parents also graduated from and in-state institution, although my dad’s college degree in criminal justice doesn’t really apply to his operation of the two Dairy Queen stores he owns.
    On a scale of 1-10 I would rate my grammar and AP skill at near a 9. I have had two years now of working on a college newspaper (one of which won a Pacemaker award) and also worked on a newspaper in high school (another Pacemaker winner) and have always enjoyed reading and writing to the extent my friends are sometimes taken aback by my grammar police type attitude towards properly using the english language.
    In the past three months I have acquired all of the Harry Potter books in paperback, so I have reread the entire series to further my sick addiction to HP (it might not be AP style but my lifestyle causes me to feel odd referring to it as Harry Potter so I use the abbreviation in most non-formal writing situations).
    As far as magazines and newspapers, I read sports magazines while checking out the Omaha World Herald and the USA Today at nearly the same rate. When I turn to the internet for news my first and usually only stop is at CNN.com.
    My favorite website is by far ESPN.com not only because of their sports news, but also because of the additional content (from online columns to videos) that is exclusive to the web.
    While I have never blogged, I have a variety of experience with the media. I have designed pages, as well as written sports stories for both the Volante (University of South Dakota weekly paper) and also the Daily Nebraskan. In high school I worked at designing, writing as well as advertising and photography and liked getting to do just about all aspects of the newspaper.
    At this point I do not have any media jobs on my radar, but I am interested in working at a media internship this upcoming summer.
    I have designed and created a visually appealing resume, but at this time have not updated it to include my work at Nebraska.

  2. Rachael Ruybalid
    September 3, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    A good editor needs to be patient, attentive to detail, creative and have a good feel for their readers wants and needs. Editing can be tedious and timeconsuming. A good editor will have the patience to sift through everything in an article and evaluate it from several different view points.
    An editor needs to be attentive to detail for obvious reasons. An editor is the last barrier between the public and the article. If the editor doesn’t catch a mistake, it’s very likely that mistake will be printed and could be damaging to the paper’s reputation. An example of this would be the word “pubic” being printed instead of “public.”
    An editor needs to be creative. The editor writes the headlines and the captions underneath pictures and. Lots of times, the headline is what captures the readers attention and causes them to want to read the story.
    An editor needs to know what kind of an audience he/she has for the paper. The editor needs to make sure he’s putting stories in the paper that people want to read.
    I believe I have the right temperament to be a good editor. I love picking stories apart, finding mistakes and correcting them. I naturally edit as I write and I can’t continue writing if I know my grammar or sentence flow is wrong in a previous paragraph.
    If I were applying for a copy editing position, I would emphasize my patience, attention to detail and my diligence I don’t do anything halfway. I work on it until I know it’s as good as I can make it.

  3. Erin Starkebaum
    September 6, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    A good editor must have the curiosity of 2 year old and question every piece of prose placed on their copy editing desk. To argue with Bill Marsh of The Washington Post, editors do have the job of basic proofreading, just to a much deeper extent. They not only check grammar, spelling, AP style agreement, but also assure the tone, style and diction is appropriate for each particular article.
    John E. McIntyre, longtime editor of The Baltimore Sun, says editors investigate articles further. They examine and tweak article construction, cut the clutter and help the writer get to the point. Editors must be fair and critical. They must examine every fact from several angles and be absolutely sure the article is fit to be published.
    Being extremely critical myself, I think I could be a good editor. I look-up nearly everything I write and constantly question myself, which in turn means lots of time invested in growing my knowledge base and lots of rewriting. If applying for a copy editing position, I would emphasize my precise and inquisitive nature. I would also boast of my commitment to producing accurate, informative, high-quality work.

  4. Carly Shinn
    September 6, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    A good editor must be willing to do work that does not always get praised. There are many different kinds of editors, but each must pay careful attention to detail, clarity and accuracy. I believe I have the temperament to be a good editor because I am patient with my work and would not mind looking for errors and questioning content. However, I do not think I would enjoy the pressure that comes with making important decisions regarding content and overseeing other writers. If I were applying for a copy editing job I would emphasize my knowledge of AP Style and experience as a writer. As mentioned in the article by Bill Walsh, “copy editors are expected to be fully qualified journalists.” This means many have actual reporting experience to apply to their editing, which is what I would like to bring to such a position.

  5. Steven Cain
    September 7, 2009 at 9:16 am

    As far as editorial tasks are concerned, it seems that proofreading is much less important than many. Editors are also assigned the role of ensuring that the prose in an article is clear and readable. It is also the editor’s job to safeguard the publication from publishing anything that might be considered libelous. The editor has a very important role because they have the responsibility of quality control in every article, headline, and caption. An eye for detail is an essential skill for for editors, and I believe I have this skill. I enjoy the immense responsibility that I would have as an editor, and I even work better under the pressure of a tight deadline. If I were applying for a copy editor position I would emphasize my attention to detail, my ability to work under pressure, and my dedication to a quality publication.

  6. Lacey Mason
    September 7, 2009 at 10:00 am

    Editing copy is more than meets the eye. Contrary to popular belief, an editor needs to have more than just an excellent command of the English language and AP style. Editors need also need an understanding of the tone and flow of a piece. Just because something is grammatically correct doesn’t mean there’s not a better way to say it. In the same respect and editor also needs to know if there is a shorter way to say something. If something that is 20 words could be said in five, it’s best to keep t short. Editors also need to question everything. They have a thirst for truth and information. They take nothing at face value.
    Whether or not I have the temperament to be a good editor has yet to be determined. I will be honest, my goals lay with writing. I want to have the skills good editors have but I don’t know that it is where I am destined to be. I tend to be the type of person who rushes. Though being speedy is an important part of being an editor for a newspaper, I am not sure if I would be thorough enough. I need to work on that skill. I am also easily annoyed. I would be concerned for my reporters because I would openly express my annoyances and likely not be very lenient or forgiving. I get along better as part of the group and not necessarily the leader of the group. I would definitely not throw out any opportunities or say I would never be an editor or a good editor, though.
    If I were applying for a position as a copy-editor I would certainly emphasize my understanding of tone and the English language. I feel I have a solid understanding, which will continue to get better as my education goes on, of human nature and that’s important. We are writing for humans after all. I would also want to make special note of my education at UNL. This is a great college and I will want potential employers to know where I came from.

  7. Taylor Kessner
    September 7, 2009 at 11:40 am

    To be an editor, you need to have a base in reporting as well as editing. It gives the editor perspective. It takes a critical eye and the ability to spot libel. An editor needs to be able to verify facts and thus needs to have an unquenchable thirst for knowledge. You have to be able to spot questionable content and know when to cut something from a story. An editor needs to know AP style and have a strong base in grammar. Writing good headlines and captions are also part of an editor’s responsibilities.
    I think with time and instruction, I could be a good editor. I have never been afraid to edit my own writing on a macro level. Sometimes it’s a word that does not fit, but all too often, it’s an entire phrase or paragraph. I think good editors need to be able to spot that in a draft.
    If I was applying for a job as a copy editor, I would emphasize my attention to detail and word selection. Descriptive verbs and correct nouns are important to creating quality news; I think I can play a part in that. I think it’s also important to highlight experience with photo, video, and Web editing. Copy editors do more than just proofread.

  8. Christa Masters
    September 7, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    A good editor is someone who can spot a grammatical error from a mile a way, and they are constantly correcting their friends around them in conversations. This is the typical stereotype of an editor, but editors do much more than just spell check and fix grammar errors. Editors must establish who their reader is and understand if their reader would take interest in their article. For every article, editors must take into consideration if the diction and the vocabulary used are appropriate for the reader. One of the most important rules an editor can abide by is to make sure the story is accurate. Without accuracy, the creditability dissipates.
    In time, I could have the grammar skills that a good editor does, but I don’t have the patience or the nitpicking style of an editor. This may be because I am not as familiar with grammar, which I believe this class can help me to be friendlier to AP style. If I were applying for a copy editing job, the qualities I would emphasize on my resume that I learn quickly, think fast and I am interested in the design and layout of pages through Adobe Photoshop and InDesign. Copy writing or editing isn’t one of my strongest points, but I do enjoy making words look sexy through typography and other layout aspects.

  9. Victoria Grdina
    September 7, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    A good editor must have a solid and extensive knowledge of proper English and AP style. Any journalist or writer should have this as well, but it’s the editor’s job to make sure no mistakes slip by before being printed. For this reason, an editor must also be picky to a certain extent; even the smallest mistakes cannot be tolerated, and clarity and accuracy are essential as well. However, it is beneficial for an editor to also recognize individuality among its writers, and give them a certain amount of creative freedom in order for them to produce quality work. I think the most important quality an editor can possess, is knowing where to draw the line between letting writers have their freedom, and knowing when to call for changes.

    I think I do have the temperament to be a good editor. I’m picky, but open-minded. I know some editors only like and tolerate certain types of writing. Sometimes problems editors have with the writing are more personal than general; maybe the editor just didn’t like the piece. Sometimes that’s a valid reason, but sometimes it’s not. I like to think I’m open to all kinds of writing, as long as it’s accurate, clear, and interesting. I think it’s important to be open to many ways of approaching a piece, without letting low-quality work slip by, and I think I have that ability.

    If I were applying for a copy editing job, I would emphasize a strong English background, and any previous work that showcases a higher knowledge of English, journalism, or the subject I’d be editing most. Often times on résumés it’s beneficial to emphasize anything that will set an applicant apart from the rest, and show why he or she would be a valuable hire. Depending on where I was applying, I might want to emphasize any special expertise I had in the specific subject area I’d be editing; if I were applying to be a copy editor for Allure magazine, I might want to emphasize any previous work I’ve done in cosmetics or fashion.

  10. Elizabeth Venrick
    September 7, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    I believe an editor needs all the traits of a good writer, plus some. An editor must be responsible, intelligent, timely, have a good eye for proper grammar, spelling, punctuation. He/she must also be fair and honest and take into consideration who’s reading the material and who will be affected by the material printed. You have to be able to give orders and be stern, but also a good editor should be approachable and sincere.

    I think I do have the temperament to be a good editor. I love the concept of editing and finding mistakes in my own work and others. I like being in control and am not afraid to give orders and tell other people what to do.

    If I was applying for a copy editing position, I would emphasize that I am very, very organized. I love structure and deadlines and crossing things off of lists. I am punctual and have great grammar, spelling and punctuation skills. I have had experience writing and editing and know what makes a good story.

  11. Kat Ladwig
    September 7, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    I think that an editor, like any successful executive, needs to have a little bit of Obsessive Compulsive Disorder. The job required of a good editor goes beyond grammar and content skills. It’s about being extremely thorough and questioning the point of every word in order for the article to be as informational and professional as possible.
    I think that I have the temperament to be a good editor, because I find myself critiquing all aspects of journalism in everyday life. I drive my friends crazy when I make comments about their magazine content or grammatical errors, so I already know I’m analytical enough for an editorial job. I also enjoy hearing other opinions and incorporating those opinions to create more well-rounded journalism.
    If I were applying for a copy editor job, I would emphasize my analytical skills, patience in content and grammar checks and my ability to listen to other opinions.

  12. Megan Brincks
    September 7, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    From these two readings, I gathered that editors have many more skills than just the ability to find grammatical errors. Although this attention to detail is key, they must also be able to write headlines and captions, do layout, understand grammar and spot bad writing and fix it. I imagine great editors are like the really good teachers in grade school. They aren’t going to put up with any nonsense, but they still have the patience to explain mistakes. Editors must be extremely understanding to spend day after day cleaning up other people’s work. I don’t know if I would be a good editor or not. Even though I enjoy editing, I think it would be difficult for me to always be behind the scenes. I would want to do something besides the details every once in awhile.

    If I were to apply for a position as a copy editor, I would focus my resume on my experiences that involved self-editing since I have not done any copy editing. I would emphasize my perfectionism, responsibility and organizational skills. All of these things are important for an editor, and hopefully they would make me stand out to potential employers.

  13. Andrew J. McClure
    September 7, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    What traits must a good editor have?

    Being a good editor is something that is accomplished after hard work and many previous tries. In order to be successful as an editor, a person must have plenty of experience as a reporter or writer and know the common mistakes that these people tend to make. Without this knowledge, an editor is no more educated or competent than an average writer. But beyond the usual area of simple mistakes, editors must remember who their audiences are and what the readership wants to see in print. If lacking this ability, interest in a paper can quickly decline. Editors are also responsible for making sure that the credibility of a paper stays strong. When confidence is lost in a paper, it can take a long time or be impossibly to regain the trust of readers. A combination of all these traits together ensures that a qualified person is the final overseer of a publication.

    Do you think you have the temperament to be a good editor? Why or why not?

    After doing some editing in high school for our yearbook, I discovered that I do have the temperament to be an editor. Additionally, I enjoy editing the work of other people. Often times, my peers have found that editing is a difficult and unnecessary task, but after volunteering to share my knowledge of editing, they have found that it is an important and handy skill. Because of these occasional situations, it is my belief that I could be an editor who takes pleasure in editing.

    If you were applying for a copy-editing job, what qualities would you emphasize on your resume?

    First and foremost, I would emphasize that every piece of my résumé had been thoroughly spell checked numerous times along with being read over by several qualified people. Having an error on the first piece of paper you turn in to a potential employer would inevitably result in not being hired. Past the obvious, I would want to make sure that a potential employer knew of my previous experience as an editor for my yearbook, which only has one opportunity each year to produce a flawless annual. But my experience as a reporter for the on campus newspaper might be the most important bit of information. Also, depending on what type of publication I was applying to work for, such as a magazine or special journal, I would be inclined to advertise my background in that certain subject.

    • Andrew J. McClure
      September 7, 2009 at 8:47 pm

      Apologies, I hit ‘Submit Comment’ before I meant to! Here is what was intended to be submitted.

      What traits must a good editor have?

      Being a good editor is something that is accomplished after hard work and many previous tries. In order to be successful as an editor, a person must have plenty of experience as a reporter or writer and know the common mistakes that these people tend to make. Without this knowledge, an editor is no more educated or competent than an average writer. But beyond the usual area of simple mistakes, editors must remember who their audiences are and what the readership wants to see in print. If lacking this ability, interest in a paper can quickly decline. Editors are also responsible for making sure that the credibility of a paper stays strong. When confidence is lost in a paper, it can take a long time or be impossible to regain the trust of readers. A combination of all these traits together ensures that a qualified person is the final overseer of a publication.

      Do you think you have the temperament to be a good editor? Why or why not?

      After doing some editing in high school for our yearbook, I discovered that I do have the temperament to be an editor. Additionally, I enjoy editing the work of other people. Often times, my peers have found that editing is a difficult and unnecessary task, but after volunteering to share my knowledge of editing, they have found that it is an important and handy skill. Because of these occasional situations, it is my belief that I could be an editor who takes pleasure in editing.

      If you were applying for a copy-editing job, what qualities would you emphasize on your resume?

      First and foremost, I would emphasize that every piece of my résumé had been thoroughly spell checked numerous times along with being read over by several qualified people. Having an error on the first piece of paper you turn in to a potential employer would inevitably result in not being hired. Past the obvious, I would want to make sure that a potential employer knew of my previous experience as an editor for my yearbook, which only has one opportunity each year to produce a flawless annual. But my experience as a reporter for the on campus newspaper might be the most important bit of information. Also, depending on what type of publication I was applying to work for, such as a magazine or special journal, I would be inclined to advertise my background in that certain subject.

  14. Michael Todd
    September 7, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    First, an editor must have a love for language. Once that’s for sure, other traits should follow suit: having a thorough by-the-book knowledge and good ear for syntax, punctuation, diction, content and fairness, to name a few. Also, a willingness to delve deeply into each story is vital. That means calling reporters when necessary and asking questions to clarify facts or quotations. And that’s just scratching at the surface; I think a good deal of the traits good editors have are learned and cultivated through experience.

    Of the most important temperaments, I think a good editor should have a cool-under-pressure temperament to deal with looming deadlines. It’s easy to scan stories in a flurry when worried about meeting deadline. Considering the errors that could go to print, it would be less of a burden to go over on time and have clean copy than print something not factual or grammatically wrong. I think I could handle the stresses inherent with the job.

    I think having both an inquisitive and open mind, although abstract, would be something to emphasize. As long as questions are being asked, as long as reading through copy is an intensive process, then I think the editor is doing a good job. So I’d call attention to any abilities I had that followed in line with that.

  15. Bethany Trueblood
    September 7, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    A great trait for an editor to have is an eye for catching mistakes. It would be awfully humiliating for a newspaper to print a story about a “Pubic” School rather than a “Public” School. More important than saving a newspaper from humiliation is saving it from losing a reputable name. Editors must also check information and sources to make sure that everything the paper puts out is correct and credible. For an editor to be successful at any of the many tasks he or she may have, prior reporting experience is a necessity.

    Editing has always been a strength for me. I have often found it easy to find mistakes in grammar and misspellings; it is often easy for me to tell when content needs some work, too. As for having the temperament for the job, I’m not sure I could handle the work or the responsibility. It is a satisfying feeling when I know I’ve helped someone make their paper better, but I don’t know if I trust my editing skills enough to allow someone to put something in a paper that I checked.

    Qualities I’d want to emphasize on a resume would be my experience writing as a columnist. I’ve had a lot of experience with grammar and style as a writer, and I would be able to apply all that I’ve learned to a job as a copy-editor. My writing experience would help me be able to recognize mistakes in another’s work.

  16. Becky Gailey
    September 7, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    A good editor must be able to work closely with a reporter to help them with the content of their story while remaining distant enough to find errors and question facts. Editors need to be knowledgeable of English, especially grammar and AP Style rules. Perhaps even more importantly, they need to have common sense. This can save papers from printing erroneous or libelous facts. Editors need to be succinct and efficient, but they also need to respect the work of journalists.
    I think I currently have the temperament to be a mediocre copy editor, which is obviously not acceptable. I believe I have a considerably better grasp of the English language than the average citizen, but I do not think I have enough knowledge of grammar and AP style to be a copy editor. This can obviously change. My main problem is my tendency to overwrite. Maybe I would be better at cutting words out of other people’s work than I am at cutting words out of my own, but I don’t know.
    If I was applying for a copy editor’s job, I would emphasize my knowledge of English. I would somehow mention that I have received good grades in all the English, writing and grammar classes I have taken. I would make sure one of my references was a professor from one of these classes. I would also list the different page lay-out and editing programs I can use.

  17. Pat Radigan
    September 8, 2009 at 12:41 am

    I think a good copy editor must be many things, and have the ability to be them all at once. They need to be able to look at a story, and see it like they were a reporter and how everything sounds and flows, while at the same time using a fine eye to spot not only grammatical or technical mistakes, but obvious or logical errors that may not be noticed by someone looking word for word rather than just reading the story. Every time someone picks up a paper and finds a mistake that should have been noticed by simply reading the story, it shows the copy editor or whomever edited the story must have been looking at it under such a narrow field of vision that they missed glaring errors. Copy editors must also be a reader and be able to analyze a story for its structure and how well it might be received. Is the story targeting the correct audience? How does the writer work to make the reader want to read the story, as well as finish it? These are questions copy editors must answer in addition to being the last line of defense against errors.
    Outside of the technical and skill set required to be an editor, is also the practical ability of one to work as an editor. To be able to successfully make deadlines and put out a good paper, editors must be able to work with multiple areas of a newspaper simultaneously. This takes a level of focus and mental awareness that is tough to master and maintain at a consistent level. Copy editors must be able to be a team player, while being able to be a leader when necessary. It takes great patience and people skills to work as an editor in a newsroom.
    In addition to the people skills required, an editors temperament must also be composed with patience and a team attitude. Selfish or hot-headed personality types would not work because the tasks associated with editing need to be undertook with humility. If the criticisms and banter of newsroom were taken personally or meant personally, it would be a very hostile environment that would not be good for getting the job done. An editor must have a strong knowledge, as well as strong convictions, while at the same time be willing to learn and to concede arguments when it is proper to do so.
    With that being said, I think my ability to separate myself from the newsrooms I’ve worked in would allow me to be a successful editor. My background in sports and teamwork would also contribute to my willingness to sacrifice the self for the betterment of the team, or at least I hope/think that would be the case.
    If I were applying for a position as a copy editor, I would emphasize all of the different areas of the newspaper I have experience in, working with design, photos, graphics and writing have all given me insight and experience that would help me to be an effective editor. While I believe my strong knowledge and command of the English language would help me in my duties, I believe my success would come in my ability to work with and even help many departments and other editors that I might have to work with.

  18. Laura Maricle
    September 8, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    A good editor must have a broad knowledge base, including correct grammar, good sentence structure, history and an understanding of the community. The editor is the quarterback of the newsroom, and needs to understand all the roles of his or her team. A good copy editor is respected and trusted by his or her reporters. A good editor is curious and inquisitive. He or she is also efficient and has good communication skills.
    Although I have no desire to be a copy editor, I believe I have some of the skills needed to be a good copy editor. I have good communication skills, and I work very well on teams with my peers. However, my editing skills desperately need improvement as well as my knowledge of history.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

