Home > Uncategorized > Section 002, 3 p.m. class, What’s it take?

Section 002, 3 p.m. class, What’s it take?

Answer the blog questions due Sept. 8 here if you are in the 3 p.m. class.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. lilacshreiks
    August 31, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    My name is Chelle Boomgaarden and I am a junior News-Ed and Political Science major. I’m from Omaha, NE.

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?

    I came to UNL because going to Columbia College in Chicago was far too expensive and my parents had already helped my brother and sister through college.

    Career Goals?

    I would love to travel for my job, whatever it is, and eventually move to Europe. I know some Spanish and will possibly teach in Spain for a year after I graduate.

    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?

    Writing skills are useful in almost all professions. Though I do not plan to become a reporter or editor I know having a good editing eye will help me later.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?

    I’m passionate about activism, especially in regards to women’s and queer rights. I’m involved in a leadership position in UNL’s Queer Student Alliance (QSA) this year. I love to read, create art and be outside.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.

    People always tell me my name is spelled weird.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?

    No, the third among my siblings and my father went to college.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?

    I would rate myself at a 5 or 6.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?

    The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien
    Bastard Out Of Carolina by Dorothy Allison
    Tales of Ordinary Madness by Charles Bukowski, poetry
    Jailbird by Kurt Vonnegut
    The Lord of the Rings trilogy (again) and The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkein
    The Overcoat by Nikolai Gogol

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?

    Rachel Maddow
    CNN
    The New Republic

    What is your favorite Web site?

    It’s hard to say.

    Do you blog?

    Yes, when I have time to (which is rare).

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?

    Not much, if any. I took the summer course of Beat Reporting this summer and wrote a few stories for the Seward County Independent. I was features editor on my high school paper The Green Light for a semester.

    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?

    No.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?

    It’s close to updated. I have to add in the Seward County Independent bit.

  2. lilacshreiks
    September 1, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    Questions: What traits must a good editor have? Do you think you have the temperament to be a good editor? Why or why not? If you were applying for a copy editing job, what qualities would you emphasize on your resume?

    A good editor must be a manager and adept at multi-tasking. S/he is not only responsible for one main job, but must focus on headline writing, caption writing, editing stories and having an eye for macro editing with layouts.

    Keeping these things in mind I do not think I have the temperament to be a good editor. Flow, coherence and general grammar and spelling are things I am able to edit well enough for my own use, but as a profession I do not think I could live up to the job.

    If I had to apply for a copy editing job I would bring up my previously mentioned strengths and mention that I have taken photography courses and would have a good editing eye for photos.

    -Chelle Boomgaarden

  3. Samantha Millard
    September 5, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    What traits must a good editor have? Do you think you have the temperament to be a good editor? Why or why not? If you were applying for a copy editing job, what qualities would you emphasize on your resume?

    I think the traits that a good editor must have are reliability, quick decision making, great grammar and awesome spelling. The editor has to be a master at all of these things because if something gets published that is incorrect or false, s/he is the one who gets blamed. It also takes a great amount of responsibility to be an editor.

    Thinking about all of these things, I do not think I would make a great editor. I would consider my grammar and spelling skills very good. I struggle when it comes to quick decision making and working under pressure. I like to plan things out and know what I am going to be working on each day. I definitely do not work well under pressure, therefore I probably would not make an awesome editor.

    If I were applying for a copy editing job, I would bring up my grammar and spelling skills. I would focus on my reading and writing skills and my responsibility. I would mention that I am a hard worker and very efficient at getting things done.

    -Samantha Millard

  4. Courtney Pitts
    September 6, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    What traits must a good editor have? Do you think you have the temperament to be a good editor? Why or why not? If you were applying for a copy editing job, what qualities would you emphasize on your resume?

    Editors must never hesitate; they must never hesitate to check facts, ask questions or confront section editors and reporters about potentially libelous stories. Also, good editors should have experience and appreciation for writing. I liked how John McIntyre explained “macro-editing,” or looking at the big picture. Editing is often misinterpreted as nitpicking; however, editors make stories not only grammatically flawless, but also organizationally and factually flawless.

    I would absolutely consider editing as a career choice. I work well under pressure, and I have no problem speaking up when I notice significant errors. However, I might have trouble making split-second decisions such as scrapping front-page designs to make room for breaking news minutes before deadline.

    If applying for an editing job, I would emphasize my attention for detail and fervor for checking facts. I would also stress my reporting experience and knowledge of article organization (the inverted pyramid). Most importantly, I would explain my awareness of the “big picture.” After all, an editor’s ultimate goal isn’t purely to print grammatically and factually accurate articles. The goal is also to print an entire publication that is entertaining, informative and understandable for readers.

  5. Alissa Skelton
    September 6, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    What traits must a good editor have? Do you think you have the temperament to be a good editor? Why or why not? If you were applying for a copy editing job, what qualities would you emphasize on your resume?

    A good editor has a decisive ability to edit grammar and content. Editing grammar is very important, but I almost think content is more important. The best editors check facts, make re-write suggestions and encourage writers to get the best interviews and content. Headline writing is extremely important and editors need to make sure headlines tell the most important facts of the story and grab readers’ attention. Editors must be AP style and grammar experts and be informed.

    I think I could someday have the temperament to be a good editor, but I don’t think I have the desire. I think I would be good at making decisions about newspaper content and I like to write headlines. In addition, I’d give good re-write advice to reporters. But editing is not something I am interested in. I hate spelling (but I do think it is important).

    If I were applying for a copy editing job, I would emphasize on my resume that I have editing experience. I would also emphasize my previous mentioned strengths. I would also note that I pay attention to detail and am good at giving constrictive criticism.

  6. Derek Brandt
    September 7, 2009 at 9:39 am

    What traits must a good editor have?
    First a foremost, I believe a good editor must be patient. Perhaps they will be required to check the same story more than one time. It is important that they keep their perspective during these times. Another important trait an editor should have is the ability to think on the fly and make important decisions quickly. The question of when and where a story should be run also comes to mind. Most editors are writers first, so they will already (hopefully) have the ability to detect what is good and what is bad writing.

    Do you think you have the temperament to be a good editor? Why or why not?
    I think I could be a great editor someday. I almost enjoy proofreading, even if I’m not a pro at it yet. I also enjoy thinking of fun or clever headlines and work well under pressure. Although for now, I am focusing on getting a start on my writing and reporting career, but according to the story, most editors get their start in reporting. But for now, being an editor isn’t in the cards.

    If you were applying for a copy editing job, what qualities would you emphasize on your resume?
    First of all, I would state every publication I have worked with and I would list what kind of deadlines I have worked with. I would give many examples of my work, and I would list that I am great under pressure, I’m great with proofreading, and that I enjoy deciding what goes where and what looks good in a publication.

  7. Erin Grant
    September 7, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    What traits must a good editor have? Do you think you have the temperament to be a good editor? Why or why not? If you were applying for a copy editing job, what qualities would you emphasize on your resume?

    The traits I think an editor must have are quick decision-making, detail oriented, extensive knowledge of the English language and an appreciation for news reporting. Bill Walsh says in his post on copy editors that they need to have experience in reporting. I think this is an important trait because it gives copy editors insight into what they are making changes to.

    I think I could be a good copy editor but some qualities I have would not fit with the job description. I tend to be more indecisive, which I believe is a characteristic a good copy editor needs to possess. I tend to be pretty detail-oriented but sometimes I just want to get the job done and skip the little details. However, I do have a knack for grammar, punctuation and spelling. That seems to come to me naturally.

    If I were to apply for a copy editing job today, I would bring up my skills in spelling, grammar and punctuation. I would also mention that I have experience as a reporter on my high school newspaper.

    -Erin Grant

  8. Ruth Angelina
    September 7, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    What traits must a good editor have? Do you think you have the temperament to be a good editor? Why or why not? If you were applying for a copy editing job, what qualities would you emphasize on your resume?

    A good editor must, first of all, be observant. A good editor must be quick in catching not only errors in grammar, spelling, usage and style of the copy, but also possible libel. A good editor has to be a qualified journalist. This means that he/she has to possess all the traits that a journalist has, such as good writing style and strong knowledge in the field being reported. A good editor must be fair and has a good common sense. He/she has to ensure that the story is just, consistent and credible. Creativity is another trait that a good editor has to possess because an editor is responsible for headline writing, probably the most important element in catching a reader’s attention. Last but not least, a good editor must be knowledgeable about the community because he/she has to know which stories will impact the community since the decision of which stories, photos and graphics will run and be featured most prominently fall to the editor.

    As of right now, I think I do not have the temperament to be a good editor because I do not have a good knowledge in both the language and the community. However, I think I can be a good editor with some training because I believe I am an observant person and am good in making objective decisions. I also believe I will do well in deciding which stories will catch the readers’ attention since I can almost always guess someone’s acts by putting myself in his/her position.

    If I were applying for a copy editing job, I would definitely emphasize on my objectivity and attention to details. I would also highlight my skill in creating a good layout for the newspaper so that readers will pick it up.

  9. Andrew Lamberson
    September 7, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    What traits must a good editor have? Do you think you have the temperament to be a good editor? Why or why not? If you were applying for a copy editing job, what qualities would you emphasize on your resume?

    If you aren’t patient when editing, the story will suffer. I have a tendency to skim my stories, not looking at every word because I just want to be done with them.
    Also, editors must have the eyes like a hawk and the knowledge of an elephant (because they never forget).

    These three qualities are vital in an editors career. An editor’s brain cannot shut down or get sidetracked easily.

    If I were to apply to be a copy editor, I wouldn’t have a lot to put on my resume. I get sidetracked very easily and my eye tends to wonder but I will never assume anything is right. The worst thing a copy editor can do is assume.

  10. Andrew Robeson
    September 7, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    What traits must a good editor have?
    A good editor would probably have great attention to detail and strive for perfection. When I imagine an editor I think of someone who would cringe if something was misprinted due to their complacency.

    Do you think you have the temperament to be a good editor? Why or why not?
    I think I have the ability to be a good editor if that is what I wanted to do. Whenever I read the paper I always ask myself questions about details, punctuation, and grammar that I think would make me a good editor.

    If you were applying for a copy editing job, what qualities would you emphasize on your resume?
    I would emphasize that I pay close attention to detail. I am always the person amongst my friends who takes it upon themselves to fact check something and it is very rare that something slips by me.

  11. Kevin Zelaya
    September 7, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    Questions: What traits must a good editor have? Do you think you have the temperament to be a good editor? Why or why not? If you were applying for a copy editing job, what qualities would you emphasize on your resume?

    An attention to detail, a good understanding of AP Style and as John McIntyre mentioned, an ability to ask simple questions are important traits to have to be a good editor. Having an understanding of history and developing news would also help an editor put news stories in perspective when they write their headlines and captions.

    Because I have consistently shown an aversion to improving my knowledge of AP Style as a reporter and I hate to edit classmates’ essays during peer reviews in English class, I adamantly confess myself lacking the temperament to become a good editor.

    Besides playing up any prior editing experience on my resume, I would also highlight reporting experience and historical expertise because this could help set you apart from someone else or make you more desirable.

  12. Alia Conley
    September 7, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    A good editor must think about many different aspects of the story. John McIntyre’s column showed me that not only do editors make sure grammar and spelling is correct, but that readers find the story interesting and important. An editor needs to be a “devil’s advocate” when reading a story. He should challenge the reporter to write more concisely, find better sources and remain objective, but an editor should also accept different writing styles of his reporters and not try to change every little thing. Most importantly, an editor needs to be decisive, and go with what hard decision he may have to make. In the end, an editor does work behind the scenes and a reporter gets the byline, but without an editor, a story cannot be at its full potential.

    I edited for a year in high school for my school newspaper, and I think I have the temperament to be a good editor, although I wouldn’t necessarily jump at the chance to be an editor right away. While editing, I think I do a good job of doing more than just looking for grammar errors and I give good constructive criticism. I’m a curious person, so I can ask questions that the reporter may not have thought about or answered in his story.
    By being a reporter I know editors that are too tough on writers are hated and not respected as much. When I edited stories, I tried to be as fair and helpful as possible. Editors walk a fine line between doing their job and ruining a writer’s hard work, and that’s something I encountered while editing. It’s a tough place to be, and I didn’t always love being in that situation.

    If I were applying for a copy editing job, I would stress my knowledge of grammar and AP style first, but then show my experience as a reporter as well. Bill Walsh said editors often write headlines and captions, so emphasizing my writing skills would be important to show employers. Even though I copy edited in high school, I would still have the information on my resume because it shows employers the specific jobs I was required to do and that I have some editing knowledge.

  13. Chelsea Coli
    September 8, 2009 at 10:44 am

    I think a good editor must be able to look at an article or a caption and know what is wrong with it very quickly. A good editor must know grammar and spelling as well as be able to multi-task and make decisions very quickly. An editor must be enthusiastic about the work that’s being done, and must be able to motivate the staff.
    I personally do not believe I would make a good editor. I’d have no problem working with the staff, making decisions, multi-tasking and motivating the crew, but I struggle with spelling and grammar.
    If I were to apply for an editing position, I’d focus my resume on being able to make decisions for my staff as well as being able to work with them to motivate and check their work. Other than that, I wouldn’t have much to put on a resume.

  14. Sara Nelson
    September 8, 2009 at 10:54 am

    What traits must a good editor have?

    The traits that I think all good editors must have are decisiveness, confidence and a clear view of what is newsworthy. An editor must make quick, educated decisions confidently and be able to defend these decisions with good reason. It is also necessary for an editor to know its community; this enables them to determine what interests their audience. Editors also need to be experts in grammar, spelling and AP style.

    Do you think you have the temperament to be a good editor? Why or why not?

    Personally, I do not have the temperament or passion to be an editor. I tend to be indecisive when making decisions that affect a large group. Spelling has never been my strong suit and I am still in the process of becoming an expert at AP style.

    If you were applying for a copying editing job, what qualities would you emphasize on your resume?

    If I were applying for a copying editing job, I would emphasize my strong knowledge of my community. I would also focus on my self-determination and strong work ethic. I also take responsibility for the decisions that I make, and can make strong arguments defending these decisions.

  15. Jared Hanner
    September 8, 2009 at 11:23 am

    Questions: What traits must a good editor have? Do you think you have the temperament to be a good editor? Why or why not? If you were applying for a copy editing job, what qualities would you emphasize on your resume?

    A good editor must be able to make tough decisions without a lot of time to think about those decisions. An editor must have the confidence to send work back to assigning editors and individual reporters whenever necessary. An editor must also be willing to ask McIntyre’s big question: are we really sure we want to do this? Asking this question can keep the outlet out of major trouble or simply avoid running news that might not actually be news.
    I don’t know if I could deal with being an editor. When it comes to making decisions that editors have to make daily, such as: will this story end up in a lawsuit? I would find it hard to just make that call. I tend to analyze too much on things like that and the pressure involved to get everything on paper and out the door might not help to make my decision the right one.
    If I were applying for a copy editing job I would stress my skepticism concerning facts. I don’t often take things at face value and would be willing to do a lot of fact checking to make sure stories were being printed with the correct information.

  16. Alain Nguyen
    September 8, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    I believe that one of the most important traits a good editor must have is leadership. Knowing how to lead is an important trait when you are an editor because you’re responsible for the editorial direction and management strategy of the publication for which you’re at the helm of. This brings me to two more important traits which is being able to multi-task and having an eye for details. As an editor you are having to deal with so much and so many things at the same time so it is very crucial that one must know how to multi-task. Also, as an editor it is your responsibility for how the final product comes out so you must have an eye for detail; you must be able to find mistakes and glitches and things that don’t fit and make it look flawless.

    I think I could be a good editor. I definitely have an eye for detail and a hardworking ethic since editors work long hours and are usually the last one to leave the office. I am one of those people who don’t do anything halfway, because if you’re not going to do something, then do it right.

    If I were to apply for a copy editing job, I would state the qualities which I stated above. I would also put in my experiences and background. Being bilingual is important nowadays so I would emphasize that I can speak both English and Vietnamese.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

