Home > bios > Welcome to editing: It’s all about you

Welcome to editing: It’s all about you

Welcome to 201, Principles of Editing.

Please copy this and then answer each question below  in the comment section designated for your class.  Make sure you (1) put your name at the top and (2) that you  pay attention to spelling and grammar. After all, this is an editing class. Don’t push the button until you flawlessly edit what you’ve written. 

Finally, if there’s something relevant about yourself that you want to add, please do so.

  • Your Name. Year in school.
  • Where are you from?
  • Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
  • What is your major?
  • Career Goals?
  • Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
  • Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
  • Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
  • Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
  • On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
  • What books are you reading or  have read in the past three months?
  • What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
  • What is your favorite Web site?
  • Do you blog?
  • Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
  • Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
  • Do you have an updated resume in your files?
Categories: bios
  1. Lacey Mason
    August 26, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    * Your Name. Year in school. My name is Lacey Mason and this is currently the last semester of my junior year.
    * Where are you from? I was born in here in Lincoln. I went to elementary school in Friend, Nebraska. I graduated from high school in Crete, Nebraska and then moved to Lincoln.
    * Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? I came to UNL because it has an excellent journalism program.

    * What is your major? I am a News and Editorial major.
    * Career Goals? Honestly, I am not entirely sure where I want to go or what I want to do yet.
    * Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? I want to easily find errors in my writing and the writing of others. When turning in a paper or a story for the DN I’d like the editor’s attention to be focused on editing content rather than grammatical errors.
    * Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? I am passionate about animals, recycling, women’s reproductive rights and equal rights regardless of sexual orientation. I also believe health care should be provided to all citizens as well as making sure funding is available so that everyone can attend college or some form of higher education.
    * Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique. I met my sister for the first time about a year and a half ago. I still have two sisters and a brother I haven’t met as well as a father I haven’t met.
    * Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? In my immediate family, yes.
    * On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style? I would rate it about a 6 if were being honest.
    * What books are you reading or have read in the past three months? I have been working on reading the book “Eat, Pray, Love.” It has been slow going because I am easily distracted. I tend to have more interest in reading about current events these days.
    * What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? I like Newsweek, National Geographic, CNN.com, BBC.com, The Daily Nebraskan, and the New York Times.
    * What is your favorite Web site? I would have to say my favorite site is Google.com because with that one site I can get to any site I will ever need.
    * Do you blog? I do not blog. I write a lot but I don’t want to do for free what I hope to later do got a living.
    * Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? I have worked with my high school’s newspaper and am currently working for the DN. Other than those I have only used social networking sites.
    * Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? I have applied for a few internships and currently work for the Daily Nebraskan.
    * Do you have an updated resume in your files? It was updated a couple of months ago but I believe it could use a revamping.

  2. Derek Brandt
    August 28, 2009 at 10:40 am

    Your Name. Year in school.
    My name is Derek Brandt and I’m a sophomore.

    Where are you from?
    Columbus, Nebraska

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I was interested in a big school and it was the closest one. Not to mention, I love the athletics here, and one day hope to cover them professionally.

    What is your major?
    News Editorial

    Career Goals?
    I’d love to write for a sports website covering college or pro athletics. I’d also love to host my own radio show.

    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I hope to learn more advanced editing skills.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I absolutely love sports. Otherwise, I enjoy the occasional video game or spending time with friends.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I write for a magazine called Big Red Report.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    Immediate family, yes.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    I’d give myself a six.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    Honestly, I didn’t get much reading done this summer.

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    Sports Illustrated, ESPN, the DN and the USA Today

    What is your favorite Web site?
    My favorite website is probably ESPN.com

    Do you blog?
    I will as part of this class!

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I write for Big Red Report magazine.

    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    Not particularly, although I am always looking for an open door.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes, I do.

  3. Christa masters
    August 28, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    My name is Christa Masters, and I am a junior at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

    Where are you from?
    I am from Lincoln, Nebraska. I have moved only once when I was 2 years old from one end of Lincoln to the other side.

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I came to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln because I like familiarity.

    What is your major?
    My major is advertising and art.

    Career Goals?
    After I earn my degree, I want to become an art director at an advertising agency in Texas.

    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I hope to become a stronger writer by taking this course. I want to become more confident in my grammar and story telling without referring back to my stylebook every time I come across word problems.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    When I am not in school or studying, I am probably practicing routines for the university flagline. Everyone 1-2 weeks, we learn a new routine and put it with our new show that we perform every half time during football games. I am passionate about photography, fashion and music. Although, I don’t wear Ed Hardy everyday or wear much makeup, I am an incredibly aesthetic person.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    Something that makes me different from most people is that I am the most “sick-healthy person” that I know with the exception of major diseases. I have asthma, all sorts of allergies, eczema and my contacts never seem to stay in my eyes just right. Yet, I have a high tolerance for pain so I never know when I am actually sick.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    My dad actually graduated from high school in Syracuse, Nebraska as a junior. Then he attended Nebraska Wesleyan because University of Nebraska refused to accept him at such a young age. Around his junior year in college, he began taking chemistry at the University of Nebraska, and he got his master’s degree in biochemistry.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    I would say that I am about a 5 in that scale. I have forgotten a lot of AP style, grammar and punctuation since my freshman year when I took JOUR102. Although, it just means that it will be easier for me to retain information this time around.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    In the last three months, the only books I have read were for my anthropology class during summer school. The only book I read entirely was Waterlily by Ella Deloria.

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    On occasions, I will read Cosmo other than that I read facebook.

    What is your favorite Web site?
    I wouldn’t say my favorite website is facebook, but that seems to be the first website I go to before I check my email.

    Do you blog?
    I used to blog in middle school. I hope there is no correlation between what I used to blog about and what we will be blogging about in this course. And without a doubt no abbreviations will be used.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    In high school I was a yearbook photographer, otherwise no.

    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    Not at the moment, but I would like to this summer.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    I do not.

  4. Steven Cain
    August 31, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    My name is Steven Cain, and I am beginning my junior year of college.
    Where are you from?
    I hail from the small town of Dakota City.
    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    The University of Nebraska-Lincoln was a logical choice for upper-level education because of the broad range of studies and the benefits of in-state tuition.
    What is your major?
    I am a News and Editorial major.
    Career Goals?
    I would like to write for a regular publication. More specifically, I would like to write about technology.
    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I hope to gain a better understanding of AP style.
    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I am an avid Mac user and computer enthusiast.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I have never been on a commercial airplane.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, my older sister went to Cornell University, and both of my older brothers came to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    I would rate my knowledge to be roughly 7.
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    Over the summer I read “God in the White House”.
    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    I read articles on gizmodo.com, macnn.com, and engadget.com regularly.
    What is your favorite Web site?
    My favorite website is facebook.com.
    Do you blog?
    Yes, I just started blogging for Club Red.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I was a member of our high school’s “School News” news team.
    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    Not presently, but it is something I am interested in.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    I do not.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

