Home > bios > Section 003, 9:30 a.m. class, comment here

Section 003, 9:30 a.m. class, comment here

Categories: bios Tags:
  1. Erin Starkebaum
    August 25, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    • Your Name. Year in school.
    o Erin Starkebaum, Sophomore
    • Where are you from?
    o Haxtun, Colorado. It’s in the northeast corner five hours from Lincoln.
    • Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    o For the journalism college and beautiful campus.
    • What is your major?
    o News-Editorial Journalism.
    • Career Goals?
    o I would like to be a photographer for National Geographic someday. I would like to work in magazines rather than newspapers, perhaps Women’s Health or the like.
    • Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    o I am very critical of my work so I look forward to learning more ways to critique myself and learn how to critique’s others’ work as well. I want to polish my writing skills and I feel this class will help me do so.
    • Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    o I love photography and going to Husker basketball games. I also like to read and create art.
    • Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    o I used to raise sheep and goats in Colorado and show them at the county, state and national fairs. I even went to Be a Champ Show Lamb Camp in Oklahoma one summer.
    • Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    o No, I have an older sister who graduated from Colorado State University last May.
    • On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    o I would like to say six, though I do have to look most everything up because I always second guess myself.
    • What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    o Currently I’m reading a romantic comedy called Restaurant Romeo. It’s something light on top of school work. I just finished reading The Time Traveler’s Wife, High Noon by Nora Roberts, and the classic Treasure Island.
    • What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    o I read Women’s Health and Cosmopolitan at times. I usually read the main stories on the MSN Web site. The DN is the only paper I read on occasion.
    • What is your favorite Web site?
    o MSN
    • Do you blog?
    o No I do not.
    • Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    o I was the reporter of the National FFA Organization chapter in high school. I wrote articles for the local paper, chapter updates for a local radio station. I kept records of events to create a scrapbook in which I took all the photos and did all the writing.
    o I also made many videos projects in high school. One for our elementary teachers’ retirement ceremony and documentaries of the girls’ state basketball tournament my team participated in my sophomore, junior and senior years. Other smaller videos were made for high school tech class of my own personal videos my friends and I had made all throughout high school.
    • Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    o No I am not but I would like to.
    • Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    o Yes I do.

  2. Megan Brincks
    August 26, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    • Your Name. Year in school.
    o Megan Brincks, Sophomore
    • Where are you from?
    o I am from Carroll, a small town in western Iowa.
    • Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    o When I visited the campus, I really liked the idea of attending a small college at a large university. The College of Journalism and Mass Communication offers that opportunity for me. I also really like that the campus is close to downtown. Even though Lincoln isn’t really a large city, it still gives me the feeling of a more urban area.
    • What is your major?
    o I am a News-Editorial major in the College of Journalism and Mass Communication. Sometime this year I plan to declare three concentrations, English, History and Communications.
    • Career Goals?
    o Someday I would like to write for or edit a magazine. Specifically, I would love to work at a horse magazine like Practical Horseman, Horse Illustrated or a magazine for a breed association.
    • Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    o I think that taking this course will help be become better at editing my own work. Sometimes I have problems finding ways to fix things that I know are wrong, and I hope this class will help me do that.
    • Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    o In addition to school, I love to ride horses and compete with the UNL Equestrian Team. Spending time with my friends and family is very important to me, and I love creative writing and reading. Despite what many people think I should read, I love reading light and easy books as a way to relieve stress at the end of the day. Books that are too intense are difficult for me to read during the school year because I have too much else to do to worry about the characters.
    • Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    o I have been pulled over eight times since I got my license four years ago. The result has been eight warnings. As of a few weeks ago, I have stopped lying to the cops with the understanding that it is my turn to get an actual ticket. Despite popular rumor among my family and friends, I am a safe driver.
    • Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    o In my immediate family, I will be the fifth person to receive a degree. Neither of my parents graduated college right away, but several years ago my mom received her teaching degree. My oldest sister is planning on beginning her master’s degree in the next few years. My other sister has her master’s, her fiancé has a law degree, my brother has an associate degree and his wife is working on her undergraduate degree. We really like to learn.
    • On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    o 7
    • What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    o “King of Torts” by John Grisham, “Strip Tease” by Carl Hiaasen, “The Horse and His Boy” and “The Voyage of the Dawn Treader” by C.S. Lewis, “She Went All the Way” by Meg Cabot, and “Enlightenment for Idiots” by Anne Cushman. I do not profess that this is a complete list of books.
    • What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    o I read the Daily Nebraskan when I’m on campus, and I read the headlines of the Journal Star and the New York Times. I don’t read any news magazines currently, but I occasionally pick up “Glamour,” “Cosmopolitan” or any various horse magazines I try to read.
    • What is your favorite Web site?
    o I will not lie; Facebook is the site I visit the most often.
    • Do you blog?
    o No, I don’t blog.
    • Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    o I wrote for the Daily Nebraskan last year. This past summer I had an internship with the Hooved Animal Humane Society in Woodstock, Illinois. As their publication intern I wrote articles for their magazine and other publications in the area.
    • Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    o For next summer I am still deciding if I will pursue another internship or if I will try to study abroad.
    • Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    o Yes, I do have an updated resume.

  3. Victoria Grdina
    August 26, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    • Your Name. Year in school.
    o Victoria (Tori) Grdina, Sophomore
    • Where are you from?
    o I’m from Lincoln, but I was born in Sioux City, IA, and moved from there to Lincoln when I was seven.
    • Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    o They had a great journalism program, and great programs in the other areas I was also considering studying. I also wanted to stay close to my family and friends.
    • What is your major?
    o News-Editorial Journalism.
    • Career Goals?
    o I actually don’t want to be a reporter. I’d rather edit, design, or write more creative pieces, preferably for a magazine, but my ultimate dream is to become a novelist or to write my own television series.
    • Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    o I hope to gain a better knowledge of grammar and AP style. English has always been my best subject, but sometimes I have a difficult time remembering small rules. I hope to learn how to make fewer mistakes, and how to catch more mistakes.
    • Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    o I work at Starbucks (on Pike Lake). I love reading and writing, but I don’t have time to do either as much as I would like. I love taking and editing photos, and doing pretty much anything and everything with my closest friends, especially grabbing coffee and playing Wii.
    • Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    o I can’t stand fuzz or feathers, but I love red roses.
    • Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    o No, my dad attended a university, but my mom attended nursing school.
    • On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    o 7. I think I’ll remember a lot more once it’s refreshed in my brain.
    • What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    o I wanted to re-read Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince before the movie came out. I love to read, but unfortunately hardly ever have time to get into a book.
    • What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    o I love Glamour, Marie Claire, Allure, and anything along those lines. Flipping through them at Barnes & Noble is my favorite way to relax. I have Yahoo.com as my homepage, and browse through the news stories every time I get online.
    • What is your favorite Web site?
    o Glamour.com, and of course, Facebook.
    • Do you blog?
    o No. I tried once and didn’t do a very good job keeping up with it.
    • Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    o I was on my school newspaper in high school for three years. I worked as a staff reporter, opinion page editor, layout editor, and co-editor in chief. I wrote a recurring column with a fellow staff member my junior year, and senior year I was given my own column.
    • Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    o No, but I am interested in one.
    • Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    o Yes.

  4. Carly Shinn
    August 26, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    * Your Name. Year in school.
    -Carly Shinn. Sophomore.
    * Where are you from?
    -Kansas City
    * Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    -Family ties as well as being able to start immediately at the journalism college.
    *What is your major?
    -News-Editorial.
    *Career Goals?
    -I would like to work internationally with humanitarian groups.
    * Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    -To improve my grammar and editing abilities.
    * Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    -I enjoy reading, music and art. I also like running from time to time. I feel strongly about certain humanitarian causes, especially the Invisible Children movement.
    * Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    -I was an Irish step dancer for 15 years before I started college.
    * Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    -No, my dad attended the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.
    * On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    -I would rank my knowledge at a seven.
    * What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    -I recently finished rereading”The Time Traveler’s Wife” by Audrey Niffenegger and “On the Road” by Jack Kerouac, as well as “Final Salute” and “Obit” by Jim Sheeler, “Paper Towns” by John Green, and the entire “Harry Potter” series.
    * What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    -I read the New York Times, The Daily Nebraskan and The Lincoln Journal Star. I also look at CNN.com.
    * What is your favorite Web site?
    -TheSelby.com is an amazing site that features “photographs, paintings and videos of interesting people and their creative spaces.” Oh yeah, facebook too.
    * Do you blog?
    -No.
    * Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    -I was a writer for my high school newspaper.
    * Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    -Not at this time.
    * Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    -Yes.

  5. Rachael Ruybalid
    August 26, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    My name is Rachael Kathleen Ruybalid and I am a Senior.
    Where are you from?
    I grew up in northern Virginia but moved to Aurora, Nebraska when I was sixteen.
    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I came here partly because of the strong Journalism program but mostly because of the cheap in state tuition.
    What is your major?
    News Editorial Journalism
    Career Goals?
    I want to be successful.
    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I LOVE to edit and correct mistakes. I’m want to become better at that so that someday I can possibly get a job as a copy editor.
    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I love horses, softball, designer shoes and dancing.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I am a very small person with a huge bunch of opinions! I am extremely opinionated about many different things and I will stand up for what I think/believe. People are sometimes surprised that someone as little as I can hold such a large attitude 🙂
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    Definitely not…my dad has several degrees and is a tax attorney.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    Probably around an 8
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I’m currently working my way through the writing of Jodi Piccoult. She’s writes fiction but her stories are very powerful. Each of her books is centered on a hot topic like designer babies, assisted suicide or the death penalty to name a few. She brings the debate home with her writing, taking you off your high moral horse and making you think about what you would really do in a certain situation
    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    Glamour, People.com, Lincoln Journal Star, the DN
    What is your favorite Web site?
    facebook of people
    Do you blog?
    no
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    not really
    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    no
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    yes

  6. Bethany Trueblood
    August 26, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    • Your Name. Year in school. Bethany Trueblood, Junior
    • Where are you from? Omaha, NE
    • Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? Honestly, I picked UNL because it’s so close to home and I knew a lot of people from my high school going to UNL. I also didn’t really know what I wanted to do with my life and there weren’t any out-of-state schools that stood out to me.
    • What is your major? News-Ed
    • Career Goals? I’d like to write feature stories for a newspaper/magazine that require traveling to neat places. I’d also like to do some photography work.
    • Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? I hope to develop a better newswriting style.
    • Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? I love playing the piano and guitar, journaling, reading, playing tennis, taking pictures, riding horses, listening to music and going to concerts. This summer I worked at a camp in Texas and I have developed a passion for the wellbeing of kids. I would love to adopt children someday.
    • Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique. I worked as a wrangler with horses at a summer camp.
    • Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? Yes
    • On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style? 6
    • What books are you reading or have read in the past three months? I’m currently reading The Pursuit of God by A.W. Tozer.
    • What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? I used to get Brio and Beyond regularly but they are currently not publishing it anymore. I try to read the Daily Nebraskan often and pick up the New York Times when I can.
    • What is your favorite Web site? Does Googel count?
    • Do you blog? Occasionally
    • Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? Perhaps….I write for the DN
    • Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? No
    • Do you have an updated resume in your files? Somewhat…I updated it last semester

  7. Michael Todd
    August 28, 2009 at 12:41 am

    Your Name. Year in school.
    I’m Michael Todd and a junior.
    Where are you from?
    I’m from Alliance, Neb., smack dab in the middle of the panhandle.
    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I came mostly because of a scholarship UNL offered me but also because of the journalism college’s reputation.
    What is your major?
    I’m a news-editorial major.
    Career Goals?
    I’d like to work for an arts-oriented magazine as a reporter, copy editor or both.
    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    It will be advantageous to know how editors fit into the picture. I hope to hone my writing in terms of grammar and focus.
    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I enjoy writing songs, ballroom dancing, drawing doodles and following new and discovering older music both for fun and for a job I’m about to start at KRNU as music director.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I write songs for friends who provide poetry, ideas or big favors. It’s sort of a special currency that keeps my ties with those I’m close to strong.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No. My mom and dad both went to college at the University of Nebraska-Kearney, and my sister graduated from Chadron State College last December.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    I’d say it’d be about a 7.
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    Technically, I’m almost finished with “City of Thieves” by David Benioff and “July, July” by Tim O’Brien, but I haven’t picked either up in more than a week. In the past three months, I read “A Man Without a Country” by Kurt Vonnegut, “Bright Lights, Big City” by Jay McInerney and “Couch” by Benjamin Parzybok.
    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    For magazines, I’m subscribed to New York Magazine, Death + Taxes, Paste and American Songwriter. I read the Daily Nebraskan daily and the Journal Star and World Herald almost daily. Nationally, I frequent the New York Times and NPR Web sites. I also subscribe to a wide array of podcasts, as well as a number of RSS feeds that I check occasionally.
    What is your favorite Web site?
    I can’t get enough of http://hypem.com/. It aggregates music blogs and is a great place to find new favorites.
    Do you blog?
    Yes, I started one a week or two ago, and I’ve been posting the songs I’ve been writing along with some older material. In another tab, there is the beginnings of a Discoveries section in which I’ll take note of whatever songs by other artists catch my attention. And in a third tab, I’m posting the articles and columns I’ve written for this fall’s Daily Nebraskan.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    Yes, since last fall I’ve been working for the DN as a reporter for the features section. This January I started as a copy editor and have since moved to slot editor for a couple nights.
    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    I would like to do an internship next summer, but I haven’t whittled down the options yet.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Almost. It’s from last May.

  8. Becky Gailey
    August 30, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    •Your Name. Year in school.
    I am Becky Gailey, and I am a sophomore.
    •Where are you from?
    I am from Mechanicsville, MD, which is about a 90 minutes south of Washington D.C.
    •Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I had lived in the same house my whole life, so I wanted to go far away. I applied to the three schools in the Mid-West whose journalism schools impressed me the most, and when I visited the schools, Nebraska was the one that made me feel most at home.
    •What is your major?
    I am dual-matriculating in news-editorial and international studies with an emphasis on African.
    •Career Goals?
    I would love to be a foreign correspondent in Africa.
    •Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    My grammar is passable but needs improvement, and I definitely need to expand my knowledge of AP Style. I would like to learn how to be my own editor.
    •Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I love to travel, especially when it involves a road trip. I play soccer and lacrosse, and I would go see a musical everyday if I could. I enjoy reading fiction, but I love reading biographies more than any other genre.
    *Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    There is nothing I want more than to go to Africa, specifically the Swahili Coast. I am trying to study abroad in Tanzania this spring. Everything is working out so far, but if something falls through I would just go next year.
    *Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, about half of my family attended West Virginia University. Every family reunion inevitably turns in to a trash talking contest.
    •On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    5. I forgot a lot over the summer.
    •What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    A friend finally convinced me to read Ayn Rand this summer, and I fell in love. I’ve read “Anthem,” “The Fountainhead” and “We the Living”, which is the most tragically beautiful books I’ve ever read. I started reading “Atlas Shrugged,” but I am going to save that for winter break. I am currently reading “We wish to inform you that tomorrow we will be killed with our families: Stories From Rwanda” by Philip Gourevitch. Yes, it is a bit morbid, but it offers an interesting look into the lives of many different people involved in the 1994 genocide.
    *What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    I read the DN almost every day, and sometimes I pick up USA Today as well. I usually check cnn.com daily to keep up with the news.
    •What is your favorite Web site?
    I am by no means an addict, but I do enjoy Facebook.
    •Do you blog?
    No.
    •Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    No.
    •Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    Last Thursday I started an internship with Mary Garbacz and Strategic Discussions for Nebraska. So far I have just been transcribing video interviews, but Mary said I will have opportunities to become involved in the interviews and possibly be able to write articles for SDN’s publication.
    •Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes.

  9. Kat Ladwig
    August 30, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    • Your Name. Year in school.
    • Kat (Katherine) Ladwig. Junior.
    • Where are you from?
    • Albert Lea, Minn./ St. Paul, Minn.
    • Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    • I wanted to try something different, and I received a scholarship.
    • What is your major?
    • Broadcasting and News-Editorial.
    • Career Goals?
    • I would like to be either an investigative reporter or an editor.
    • Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    • I hope to gain a much firmer grasp on AP style and editing in general.
    • Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    • I play on the UNL women’s club volleyball team. I love to read, learn languages, draw, hang out with family and friends, play any and all sports and enjoy the outdoors. I am passionate about equal rights, my family and close friends, animal rights and organic farming/production.
    • Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    • I am a somewhat short, Caucasian female with a 27-inch vertical. I am pretty proud of that fact.
    • Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    • No, both of my parents and two older brothers have all graduated college. However, I am the first one to attend a university outside of Minnesota.
    • On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    • I would rate myself at six at the moment.
    • What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    • “The Testament” by John Grisham, “1st to Die” by James Patterson, “Night” by Elie Wiesel, “The Greatest Generation” by Tom Brokaw and am rereading the Harry Potter series.
    • What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    • The Economist and People.
    • What is your favorite Web site?
    • I spend a lot of time on cnn.com
    • Do you blog?
    • No.
    • Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    • I was the co-editor of my high school sophomore paper and then the main feature writer for two years on the senior school paper, The Ahlahasa. I also wrote for the sports section of the Daily Nebraskan during my freshman year here at UNL.
    • Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    • Yes.
    • Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    • I need to update the last 3 months.

  10. Laura Maricle
    August 31, 2009 at 11:39 am

    Your Name. Year in school.
    I’m Laura Maricle, and I’m a senior.
    Where are you from?
    I grew up on a farm south of Albion, Neb.
    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    It is the only school in Neb. with an Agricultural Journalism program.
    What is your major?
    My major is Agricultural Journalism, and I’m completing the advertising sequence and public relations option. I also have an Animal Science minor.
    Career Goals?
    After graduating from UNL, I plan to take a job with Certified Angus Beef in Wooster, Ohio in sales, marketing and business development. I eventually hope to return to Nebraska and farm with my family.
    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I hope to improve my ability to edit text and perfect my own technical writing skills.
    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    My first passion is my faith. I love reading the Bible, listening to other people’s stories and sharing my own experiences. I value time with my family and friends. I enjoy being outdoors and working on the farm.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I was infatuated with learning about World War II as a middle school student. I read every book I could get my hands on.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No. I come from a long line of UNL graduates.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    Six.
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    “The Shack” by Paul Young, “Captivating” by John and Stasi Eldrege and “Rome Sweet Home” by Scott and Kimberly Hahn.
    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    Lincoln Journal Star, http://www.usagnet.com, http://www.agweb.com, http://www.krvn.com/news
    What is your favorite Web site?
    http://www.pandora.com
    Do you blog?
    No.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I was a student worker at Nebraska Educational Television my freshman year. I logged raw film and pulled cord for camera operators at Husker sporting events. I interned at Croplan Genetics this past summer, and I sent several news releases to local media outlets.
    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    No.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes.

  11. Andrew J. McClure
    August 31, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    • Your Name. Year in school.
    My name is Andrew McClure. I am a junior.
    • Where are you from?
    I am from Columbus, Neb., a city about 70 miles from Lincoln.
    • Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    The story that brought me to Lincoln is rather long and complicated, so to spare you the unnecessary details, I can tell you that I transferred to UNL after my freshman year of college. I attended the University of St. Thomas in St. Paul, Minn., but decided it was not for me and I transferred.
    • What is your major?
    Currently, I am double majoring, in both news-editorial journalism and political science.
    • Career Goals?
    Although I am hardly making any bold predictions, I would like to attend law school and earn my Juris Doctor. Assuming I accomplish that task, my career interests lie in politics. Whether that means working for political campaigns or running for public office, I do not know.
    • Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I hope to hone in my editing skills and additionally work on becoming a better crafter of journalistic publications. Already a critic of my friends’ grammar, I believe this class will help me polish and add to my store of skills.
    • Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    Nebraska football, running, cycling, skiing and hanging out with my friends are the things I am most interested in and therefore the most passionate about. I also enjoy the crosswords, word jumbles and Sudoku puzzles in newspapers.
    • Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    Two summers ago, I went on a bike ride in N.D. and Canada. One of the days we rode 104 miles. It was an extreme test of my stamina and physical ability.
    • Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, both of my parents are graduates of UNL, with my dad having earned his J.D. from the UNL College of Law.
    • On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    My knowledge of grammar and punctuation are definitely ahead of what I know about AP style. If rating all 3 together, I would guess my number would be around a 6.
    • What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    In the last 6 months, I have read Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, Catastrophe by Dick Morris and The Last Season by Eric Blehm are 3 books that I have read recently.
    • What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    Magazines I subscribe to and read are Powder, Skiing, Bicycling, Sports Illustrated, Cigar Aficionado, Wine Spectator and Gentlemen’s Quarterly. For newspapers, I ready the Omaha World Herald and the Daily Nebraskan on a daily basis. For news Web sites, I periodically check Google News, but otherwise, I just follow the links on Google News.
    • What is your favorite Web site?
    My favorite Web site is http://www.wikipedia.org/. Although people claim it is not a reliable source, it is, in my opinion, the greatest way to learn about a topic in less than 1 minute.
    • Do you blog?
    No I do not.
    • Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I was on my high school’s yearbook staff. Otherwise, I have no experience.
    • Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    No, currently I am not.
    • Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    No, but I am in the process of updating it currently.

  12. Elizabeth Venrick
    August 31, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    Your Name. Year in school.
    – Elizabeth Venrick, junior
    Where are you from?
    – Sioux Falls, SD
    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    – To get out of state, good journalism school; followed my sister
    What is your major?
    – News Editorial/Advertising
    Career Goals?
    – Become the next Erin Andrews, Entertainment/Health/Sports/Fashion magazine editor
    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    – Taking it to become a better editor and writer. I hope to improve in my writing and journalism skills as a whole.
    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    – My family and friends. Kappa Alpha Theta. Nebraska football. Working out. Watching movies.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    – I did an internship in Senator Barack Obama’s office last summer. I was his personal assistant’s assistant. I got to meet him!
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    – No. All of my family members have graduated from college.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    – 8
    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    – Confessions of a Shopaholic. Picture Perfect. Eat, Pray, Love. Nineteen Minutes.
    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    – Argus Leader, People Magazine, Women’s Health, US Weekly, Self Magazine, Omaha World Herald, ESPN, Prevention Magazine, Runner’s World, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Glamour Magazine, Lincoln Journal Star, The Daily Nebraskan, New York TImes.
    What is your favorite Web site?
    – Most visited is probably Facebook; favorite, all of the above.
    Do you blog?
    – No
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    – Editor of high school newspaper
    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    -No.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    – Yes.

  13. Taylor Kessner
    September 3, 2009 at 8:14 am

    •Your Name. Year in school.
    -My name is Taylor Kessner. I’m a junior.

    •Where are you from?
    -I come from the town of Malcolm, Neb., just 15 minutes from downtown.

    •Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    -I came for monetary purposes, but I have really grown to love it here.

    •What is your major?
    -I’m a news editorial major.

    •Career Goals?
    -I would like to write someday for either a feature heavy, online source or an online newspaper. My hope is to cover mostly hard news.

    •Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    -I hope to come away with a much better understanding of AP style, and a more developed critical eye towards my own writing.

    •Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    -I like to read and write. I also enjoy film and playing video games when time allows.

    •Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    -I have an irrational fear of falling out of moving cars.

    •Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    -No, but I’m the first to study journalism.

    •On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    -I’m going to play it safe and rate myself at about a 4. Even that might be overstating my knowledge of AP style.

    •What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    -I finally got around to reading book 7 in the “Harry Potter” series–big time letdown. I read a book a titled “Blue Like Jazz” by Donald Miller, which I enjoyed quite a bit for its good humor and honesty about the Christian faith. I read “Wild at Heart” by John Eldredge, another book written by a Christian author. This one though I did not like so much due to the author’s tendency towards dramatics. He also seemed to presume an awful lot, and I feel, sometimes even misrepresent the original authors’ intent when quoting scripture. I read a book called “House of the Scorpion” that I was lent by a friend. It was a young-adult book about cloning. It was weird to say the least. Lastly, I read “The Road” by Cormac McCarthy, which is one of the best books I’ve read in a long time. Now I’m balancing 2 books when I find the time: “Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas” by Hunter S. Thompson and “Neuromancer” by William Gibson.

    •What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    -I read the New York Times online and in print when I can get my hands on it. I sometimes read the Lincoln Journal Star and The Omaha World-Herald. I read the DN about every other day though. Sometimes, I visit the CNN breaking news web site and occasionally I’ll visit NPR’s site. I also like to read a bimonthly magazine called Relevant.

    •What is your favorite Web site?
    -I think if I had to choose, it would be xkcd.com.

    •Do you blog?
    -I have nothing to blog about. I should start though. It would be good practice.

    •Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    -I really don’t.

    •Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    -I’m haven’t been, but the possibility has been pressing on my conscience.

    •Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    -Yes, I do.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

