Home > Uncategorized > 201 Spring 2009 students: It’s all about you

201 Spring 2009 students: It’s all about you

Welcome to 201, Principles of Editing.

Please copy this and then answer each question in the comment section.  Make sure you (1) put your name at the top and (2) that you  pay attention to spelling and grammar. After all, this is an editing class. Don’t push the button until you flawlessly edit what you’ve written. 

Finally, if there’s something relevant about yourself that you want to add, please do so.

  • Name. Year in school.
  • Where are you from?
  • Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
  • What is your major?
  • Career Goals?
  • Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
  • Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
  • Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
  • Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
  • On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
  • What books are you reading or  have read in the past three months?
  • What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
  • What is your favorite Web site?
  • Do you blog?
  • Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
  • Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
  • Do you have an updated resume in your files?
Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. Amanda Bergstrom
    January 13, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Name. Year in school.
    -Amanda Bergstrom -Sophomore

    Where are you from?
    -Wilcox, Nebraska

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    -I always planned on attending a college with a pre-professional program in veterinary science, but I was not certain I wanted to leave the state, so UNL was my top pick. I then solidified my decision when I was informed that UNL offered a bachelors degree program in Agricultural Journalism.

    What is your major?
    -I am double majoring in: Agricultural Journalism-News/Editorial and Animal Science-Business (Marketing).

    Career Goals?
    -I hope to one day work for a well-established cultural magazine, such as “National Geographic”, or possibly work for a branch of the government involved in agriculture.

    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)?
    -I have never been very good at editing my own work; I tend to think too fast when I type and either skip words or misspell them.

    What do you hope to get out of it?
    -I hope to achieve better editing/proofreading skills; both for myself and others.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    -I am interested in animals and their well-being; I currently work at a veterinarian clinic here in Lincoln. I enjoy dancing, both for the exercise and the thrill of learning something new. I am also a very passionate reader and writer; I normally finish my day by doing one or the other.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    -I have always found reading to be a great adventure. I prefer to buy books because I see no point in enjoying a book only one time; every book I own I have read at least twice, if not more, and I always discover something new. Also, when I am buy a new installment in a series I never read the new one without first rereading the series from the beginning.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    -No, my older brother has already graduated from college.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    -Between a six and an eight, it simply depends on what I am working on.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    -I am currently reading “Eldest” by Christopher Paolini but my book taste varies greatly from science-fiction to fact, it all depends on my mood when it comes time to pick a new one.

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    -I prefer more local newspapers to national ones, such as the Omaha World Herald and The Lincoln Journal Star. I normally don’t read magazines or watch news online, but I do like to watch CNN.

    What is your favorite Web site?
    -I truthfully do not have one; I don’t actually spend a lot of time online.

    Do you blog?
    -No

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    -I recently worked for the Food Science Department through UNL as a case study writer for the Entrepreneurship Program.

    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    -I am planning on getting an internship next summer in an agricultural media related position.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    -Yes

  2. Morgan Demmel
    January 13, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    Name. Year in school.
    Morgan Demmel; sophomore.

    Where are you from?
    Boulder, Colorado.

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I wanted to go somewhere out of state, but close to family and close enough to drive home. I have grandparents in Omaha and Kearney and my sister is a senior at UNL. Also, I have always been a Husker fan.

    What is your major?
    Broadcasting and News Editorial.

    Career Goals?
    I want to be a news reporter or anchor in a large television market.

    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I hope that this course will help improve my proofreading so that I can more easily edit my stories. Also, I hope to improve my grammar and knowledge of the AP Stylebook.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I love to dance and sing. I also love to spend time in the mountains and in the sun. In the winter, I spend time skiing with my family and in the summer, I love to golf, bike and hike.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    In the summer of 2003, I traveled to France and Italy to perform in a choral musical festival with the Colorado Children’s Chorale. Part of the tour included a performance for a mass at the Vatican.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    My knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style rates as a 7 on a scale from 1 to 10. I am very familiar with grammar and punctuation but I struggle with remembering AP style.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I started the “Twilight” series over winter break and I haven’t been able to stop reading the books. I am almost done with the fourth book in the series.

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    I usually read the Lincoln Journal Star. There aren’t magazines that I read regularly. When I search for news online, I use the CNN Web site.

    What is your favorite Web site?
    I really like Post Secret.

    Do you blog?
    No.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I am the co-host of a weekly show on the campus radio station.

    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    Yes. I am trying to find a summer internship at a television or radio station in Denver.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes.

  3. Jaclyn Tan
    January 14, 2009 at 1:04 am

    Name. Year in school.
    Jaclyn Tan. I’m a senior.

    Where are you from?
    I’m from Malaysia and live near the capital city, Kuala Lumpur.

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I’d always wanted to study overseas and my parents encouraged me to go for it because it would broaden my worldview. My two aunts in the U.S. also thought it was a good idea, so I got into a credit transfer program at a college that had transfer agreements with various American universities. I chose UNL from the list because it has a good journalism program, and also because I got a good scholarship.

    What is your major?
    Broadcasting and news-editorial, with minors in English and political science.

    Career Goals?
    I hope to gain some experience as a reporter and editor/producer in America before I go on to graduate school. Eventually, I hope to return to Malaysia to teach journalism and be an advocate for freedom of the press. Malaysia is a parliamentary democracy, but press freedom is restricted by government permits, which newspapers have to renew annually.

    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I’m taking this course to find out what an editor’s job is like. I hope that after taking this class, I can write better and think more critically.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I like singing in choirs. I also love reading. I really enjoy learning new languages and I hope to learn many more, including Japanese and French. I’m passionate about working with the youth of Malaysia and that’s why I hope to eventually teach in a college or university back home.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I’m Chinese-Malaysian and speak English, Malay and Mandarin. Malay is Malaysia’s official language and is similar to Indonesian. I know a little of Japanese and French because I took beginner-level courses in those languages as well.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, both my parents attended college.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    I would give myself a 7 for grammar and punctuation and maybe a 6 for AP style.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I read a few British novels for a British novels class I took last semester and actually enjoyed them, especially Jane Eyre. I’m currently reading The Screwtape Letters by C. S. Lewis. I think it’s interesting because it’s written in the form of letters from a senior demon to his nephew about how to keep a man away from God. It’s meant to be a satirical piece to show how the devil might work and how the reader can overcome his tricks.

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    In Malaysia, I used to read Reader’s Digest regularly. I also read The Daily Nebraskan. I’m trying to read the other newspapers such as the Lincoln Journal Star and The New York Times more regularly too. Most of the time, I watch CNN or go to the Google News Web site to read the latest news.

    What is your favorite Web site?
    I really like http://www.hulu.com because it’s easy to use and compiles links to television series and movies (that are legally available to watch online) on one accessible Web site. I enjoy watching House M.D., CSI and The Daily Show with Jon Stewart on it. I’ve also recently started watching The Office and Secret Millionaire.

    Do you blog?
    I used to blog but not very regularly, so I deleted my blog. I just found out I will have to blog for my NewsNetNebraska class though.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I’m a volunteer voice-tracker for UNL’s student radio station, 90.3 KRNU.

    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    No, but I’m searching for an internship for this summer.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes.

  4. John Ray
    January 14, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    Welcome to 201, Principles of Editing.

    Please copy this and then answer each question in the comment section. Make sure you (1) put your name at the top and (2) that you pay attention to spelling and grammar. After all, this is an editing class. Don’t push the button until you flawlessly edit what you’ve written.

    Finally, if there’s something relevant about yourself that you want to add, please do so.

    Name. Year in school.
    John Ray, Sophomore

    Where are you from?
    Hastings, Nebraska

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I had been visiting friends here since I was a sophomore in high school, so I always knew i wanted to come here.

    What is your major?
    News Editorial and Broadcasting

    Career Goals?
    Well, my dream job would be to work at some kind of entertainment/music magazine like Rolling Stone or Alternative Press. Otherwise I want to be a reporter for a news station.

    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I want to learn to write stories with much better grammar and punctuation because I believe I suck at it.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    Music

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I play guitar, and I haven’t bought a CD in a long time because I now by all my music on vinyl records.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    Immediate family? Yes

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    Honestly? 6 maybe.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I don’t read, but for my english class we’re going to read High Fidelity.

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    Rolling Stone, Transworld Skateboarding, CNN mobile, Absolutepunk.net, Daily Nebraskan and the Journal Star.

    What is your favorite Web site?
    Absolutepunk.net

    Do you blog?
    Usually I dont, but I had to every week for my internship this past summer at NTV news.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I worked for NTV news this summer in their Grand Island beuro. I filmed and edited news stories with one of their reporters, Steve White.

    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    I applied for the Warped Tour Pit Reporter, where I would travel the country with a traveling music festival and blog at every stop, and I plan on applying at 417 magazine in Springfield Missouri

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes

  5. Marcy Pursell
    January 14, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    Name. Year in school.
    -Marcy Pursell, sophomore

    Where are you from?
    -I grew up in Waterloo, Nebraska and moved to Omaha during my sophomore year of high school.

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    -I came to UNL because it was close enough to home in case of emergencies, but it was far enough away to still be on my own.

    What is your major?
    -I’m double-majoring in news-editorial and advertising.

    Career Goals?
    -I came to college intending to become a photojournalist, which is still an option, however I have found that I also enjoy page design. I can’t see myself as a reporter or as an editor, but I’m leaving my options wide-open.

    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    -I hope to learn better editing skills because I feel that they are not as good as they could be.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    -I love to run and competed in cross country and track in high school. I’m a distance runner and plan to run the marathon at the end of the semester. I enjoy photography and love reading in my free time. I’m passionate about making a difference and helping others.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    -One of my goals in life is to write a novel.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    -I’m the first person to attend a university in my immediate family, however members of my extended family have previously attended a university.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    -6

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    -I honestly have no idea how many books I’ve read in the past three months. I visit the library constantly, rotating books in and out. I also reread a lot of books. Over winter break I read Lion’s Bride and The Treasure, both by Iris Johansen. I also read The Pagan Stone by Nora Roberts.

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    I rarely read magazines or news Web sites unless I have to. I pick up the Omaha World-Herald on a regular basis and sometimes take a peek at the Lincoln Journal Star and the Daily Nebraskan.

    What is your favorite Web site?
    I like http://www.google.com because it’s an easy search engine and can be quite helpful.

    Do you blog?
    No, but there’s a first time for everything.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I’m a little confused about what media/communication exactly means, but I feel like it deals more with broadcasting, so I would say I have little experience in that line of work.

    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    Yes, I have a few deadlines approaching in early March for a few newspapers in the Midwest.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes

  6. Mekita
    January 14, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    Name. Year in school.
    Mekita Rivas – sophomore

    Where are you from?
    Native Lincolnite

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I’ll be honest, I did NOT want to stay home, but considering I’ve always wanted to pursue journalism, it just made sense to go to UNL for its accredited program. Oh, and the scholarship money didn’t hurt.

    What is your major?
    News-Editorial

    Career goals?
    It shifts from day to day. As of late, I’m wanting to be an arts/culture/fashion writer for a newspaper or magazine

    Why are you taking this class (besides the fact that it’s required)?
    Editing skills are fundamental.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    Writing, loving life, coffee.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I am a first generation American for both of my immigrant parents.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    5, and that’s being generous.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    Quite a few. Some of my favorite have been The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros and Residence on Earth by Pablo Neruda.

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    Cnn.com, The Economist, New York Times, Lincoln Journal Star

    What is your favorite Web site?
    Probably Facebook. CNN is a close second.

    Do you blog?
    Occasionally.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    Minimally. I wrote a story for the Norfolk Daily News. I am currently a Community Columnist at the Lincoln Journal Star and will have a fashion column in the DN soon.

    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    Sort of. I currently have an advertising/PR internship with Victoria’s Secret PINK. It’s a semester-long gig, so hopefully I can find something more journalistic for the summer.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Kind of. I need to add a few more leadership roles and positions, but for the most part it’s up-to-date.

  7. John Schreier
    January 14, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    * Name. Year in school.
    John Schreier. I’m a sophomore with junior standing

    * Where are you from?
    Omaha, NE

    * Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    It was a school with a really good journalism program (before I started looking at other majors and came back) that was so close to home.

    * What is your major?
    News-Editorial, with a minor/double major in history and a concentration in English.

    * Career Goals?
    I’d really like to work in sports (either in journalism or as part of the organization) but I wouldn’t mind teaching history or journalism in high school.

    * Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    My JOUR 102H class taught me a lot about grammar that I didn’t know before, and I was hoping to build upon that.

    * Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    My passion is sports. I’ve been playing sports since I was little and lettered in soccer and tennis in high school. I follow sports obsessively. I probably need something to distract me from sports.

    * Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I have a really good memory for random things like phone numbers, addresses, birthdays and directions. I’ve actually had friends tell me it was scary how many phone numbers I could remember off the top of my head.

    * Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    I’m the second. My dad graduated from Doane with a business and math double major.

    * On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    About 7 or 8

    * What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I’m just about to start a book called “How Soccer Explains the World: An Unlikely Theory of Globalization” for my world geography class. I’m really excited for that, especially considering I’ve played soccer since I was five years old.

    * What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    If you can imagine, I read a lot of sports media. I read ESPN Magazine and ESPN.com quite often, and my favorite newspaper to read by far is the Omaha World-Herald.

    * What is your favorite Web site?
    I’d have to say ESPN.com. It keeps me up-to-date about the world of sports and I really enjoy the columnists’ humor and analysis.

    * Do you blog?
    I actually just began a random sports blog on ESPN.com over break. I was really proud to find out a clip of it had been featured on the front page when I couldn’t see it. Occasionally I’ll produce a blog for Facebook, but it’s nothing too substantial.

    * Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I’m in my second year of writing sports at the Daily Nebraskan. I’ve covered soccer, tennis, gymnastics and football recruiting over the past 15 months. I also was on my high school newspaper. I was the entertainment editor during my junior year and was the editor-in-chief for my senior year.

    * Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    I’ve applied for two internships at medium-sized Nebraska (by state standards) newspapers.

    * Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes

  8. Mac Barber
    January 14, 2009 at 11:57 pm

    Name. Year in school.
    Mac Barber. Sophomore.

    Where are you from?
    Sioux Falls, SD

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I was brainwashed from birth to be a Husker, so coming here kind of seemed like the next natural step.

    What is your major?
    News Editorial.

    Career Goals?
    I want to be a news reporter at a major paper.

    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I hope to be able to better edit my stories before handing them in.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    Tennis, ping pong and running.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I’m addicted to fruit snacks. It’s a problem.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No. My dad went here.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    Knowledge of grammar: 8. Punctuation: 7. AP style: 6.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    None.

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    I read the DN and the Lincoln Journal-Star.

    What is your favorite Web site?
    http://www.watch-movies.net/

    Do you blog?
    No.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I worked on my high school newspaper.

    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    No.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes.

  9. Brittany Claxton
    January 15, 2009 at 12:10 am

    Name. Year in school.
    Brittany, Junior.

    Where are you from?
    Omaha, NE.

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    Close enough and far enough away from home. Also, most of my friends had already decided to attend UNL by the time I decided where to go.

    What is your major?
    News-Editorial.

    Career Goals?
    Travel, gain interesting and worthwhile life experiences, learn as much as possible and have great conversation (while producing quality work that will hopefully pay the bills).

    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I am looking forward to better understanding the process and structure of journalism.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    Dance, music, yoga (sometimes) and coffee.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    This past summer I was living/working in Okoboji for 2 and a half months. I traveled to Mexico and took a few road trips across the country for concerts with some friends.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    8.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    Maggie Cassidy by Jack Kerouac, Zen Mind, a handful of books by female authors for my English class last semester.

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    New York Times, Rolling Stone, occassionally CNN.com.

    What is your favorite Web site?
    YouTube is funny.

    Do you blog?
    No.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    Only what I have learned in class.

    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    I hope to have an internship this summer, possibly a media-related job next semester.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes.

  10. Andrea Vasquez
    January 15, 2009 at 10:27 am

    * Name. Year in school.
    Andrea Vasquez, sophomore
    * Where are you from?
    Walnut Creek, California (in the Bay Area)
    * Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    What first attracted me was a scholarship, and then I thought it’d be a good chance to experience another part of the country.
    * What is your major?
    News-editorial and Spanish
    * Career Goals?
    To be a reporter, ideally for something like National Geographic.
    * Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I like grammar and style rules, and I’d like to be confident in my knowledge of some of the tricky ones.
    * Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    Daily Nebraskan, community service (Big Brothers Big Sisters), travel
    * Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I used to be very quiet and shy, but through friends and experiences I’ve come out a lot more. I also tend to be very ambitious and excitable.
    * Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    Yes
    * On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    8 (maybe I’m giving myself too much credit)
    * What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    Wicked by Gregory Maguire and The Seventh Victim by Alan Jacobson (my good friend’s father)
    * What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    Cosmopolitan (I know, I know), Daily Nebraskan, Lincoln Journal-Star and msn.com
    * What is your favorite Web site?
    freetetris.org
    * Do you blog?
    No
    * Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I worked on my high school newspaper for three years and this is my fourth semester at the Daily Nebraskan.
    * Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    Yes, I have an internship for this summer at the Grand Island Independent.
    * Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes

  11. Rachel Sullivan
    January 15, 2009 at 11:17 am

    • Name. Year in school.
    o Rachel Sullivan, junior.
    • Where are you from?
    o Hastings, Nebraska currently.
    • Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    o Honestly, I got too overwhelmed when I looked out of state so I gave up. I got a scholarship here, too.
    • What is your major?
    o My full major title is textile and apparel design with journalism/mass communications: news editorial with a minor in Spanish. Yep.
    • Career Goals?
    o I’m going to do something unthinkable for me and borrow from text jargon when I say, goals…LOL.
    • Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    o I’m better at proofing than writing. I also dislike involuntarily talking to people I don’t know. I hope to commit the entire AP stylebook to memory.
    • Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    o I like playing various musical instruments, listening to way too much music, reading a lot, drawing with charcoals and pen and ink, photography, design in general, used bookstores, thrift stores, cats, coffee…
    • Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    o I dislike questions like these. They always make you end up looking self-absorbed or vain. I have a cool vintage camera collection. My oldest is a 1930s foldout camera that has a mirror for a viewfinder. My newest is a 1970s Pentax, my favourite. I also spell things with the British/Canadian spelling.
    • Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    o Nein.
    • On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    o I would go with an 8. I’m pretty anal about grammar and spelling. I generally judge a person’s character when they misuse either. Apostrophe abuse gives me epileptic spells. As for AP, numbers and hyphens always give me problems.
    • What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    o I read To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf and Jazz by Toni Morrison over break. I’m currently re-reading the Wrinkle in Time series by Madeleine L’Engle (not just for 12-year olds!) and East of Eden by Steinbeck in addition to a collection of Hemingway short stories and En La Ardiente Oscuridad b y Antonio Buero Vallejo. I have problems focusing on one thing at a time…
    • What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    o New York Times website more than the paper, but I do read it occasionally. I like Zink magazine because they have amazing photography.
    • What is your favorite Web site?
    o Asofterworld.com hands down. Beautiful photography combined with brilliant linguistics? Heck yes!
    • Do you blog?
    o That’s a negative.
    • Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    o I was the one of the photographers and the chief photo editor for This Season magazine that the students of the textile department put out. I wanted the title of “Photo Jedi” or “Chief of photography for the Common Wealth” but they didn’t go for it.
    • Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    o Not right now, but hopefully sometime in the near future. Money good. Buy food.
    • Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    o I am ashamed to say no. I deal with the future by ignoring its impending arrival.

  12. Brittany Sturek
    January 15, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    Name. Year in school.
    Brittany Sturek, sophomore

    Where are you from?
    I went to high school in Hartington, NE, which is in the northeast corner of the state, but my family just moved to Loup City, which is in the central part of the state.

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I knew I wanted to come here when I was in grade school. I’m a huge football fan and I loved coming to the games. When I toured campus during high school, I learned about UNL’s great journalism program. It was a perfect fit.

    What is your major?
    News-Ed and Political Science

    Career Goals?
    I would like to work for a magazine or in some aspect of government, preferably in Washington, D.C.

    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)?
    Just like all reporters must write, we also must edit. Editing is a crucial part of the business and I’m sure I’ll learn the basics in this class.

    What do you hope to get out of it?
    I’m very interested in the ethical and moral implications involved in journalism, but I also hope to learn the basics about sentence structure and headline writing.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I love Husker football, reading, writing, learning, cooking and watching Food Network, politics, traveling, Europe, history, friends and family (including my cat Monty), and scrapbooking.

    Tell me on interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I’m German, Dane, Bohemian and Polish. Loup City is the Polish Capital of Nebraska so it’s a perfect fit!

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, my dad also attended UNL. But I am the oldest so I am the first child to attend.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    6 or 7

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    “Eyewitness to Power” by David Gergen

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    Time, Reader’s Digest, Omaha-World Herald, CNN

    What is your favorite Web site?
    Google

    Do you blog?
    no

    Do you have any media-communication experience? If so, what?
    I worked for my high school newspaper and was on the yearbook staff. I also wrote an article for the newspaper in Blair back in November.

    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    no

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    yes

  13. Katrina Fischman
    January 19, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    Name. Year in school.
    My name is Katrina Fischman, and I am a sophomore with junior standing.

    Where are you from?
    I am from Gretna, Nebraska, but I have moved around a lot in my life.

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    To be honest, it was because of the money. UN-L offered me the Regent’s and Honors Textbook Scholarships, and considering it is one of the best journalism schools in the country, I couldn’t turn the offer down. I really wanted to go out of state because I have been in Nebraska my whole life, but now I am glad I stayed.

    What is your major?
    I am a news-editorial and political science major with a minor in Spanish, and I am also pre-law. Yeah, I am somewhat of an overachiever.

    Career Goals?
    After completing my bachelor’s degrees and minor, I plan to attend law school at UN-L. Then I want to use my Spanish skills to work in the non-profit sector with a firm that specializes in helping low-income Spanish speakers. Ultimately, I want to run for the U.S. Senate, although my chance of success in Nebraska is slim. But that’s all right, because after law school I plan to move to Albuquerque, New Mexico.

    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I hope to learn the difference between who and whom and the rules for using semicolons in complex-compound sentences. No matter how many times I look them up I can never seem to get those down! Also, I am hoping to love editing because after my beginning reporting class, I don’t think I can handle the stress of reporting.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I am passionate about traveling. I love to experience new places and cultures. Maybe this is because my family never traveled when I was a child. This summer I am studying in Valparaiso, Chile, and I can’t wait to learn more Spanish. Also, I am hoping to see a penguin up-close, because it is my favorite animal.
    Politics and law fascinates me also. I don’t understand how people are not interested in them – they affect everyone!

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I am getting married this summer at age 20. And no, I am not pregnant!

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    Yes. My father regrets not going to college. As a child, he always told me to go to college and have a career in something I love.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    I’m probably a 3, if that.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    Well, the last time I read for pleasure was my sophomore year in high school. For my political science course on globalization and human rights, I am reading One World and The Globalization Reader. Even if one doesn’t like political science, these books make one think about the challenges the world is facing today.

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    CNN.com is my homepage. I loathe the Lincoln Journal-Star but am forced to read it in journalism classes. I read the Omaha World-Herald regularly for local news. I cannot stand Fox News most of the time. (Yes, I know we are taught in journalism classes that the media is unbiased, but come on, it’s Fox News! Rupert Murdoch isn’t exactly my favorite guy.) I read Time Magazine and Newsweek when I stumble across a copy at the doctor’s office. For entertainment purposes I read Cosmopolitan magazine.

    What is your favorite Web site?
    I don’t have a favorite Web site. When I have spare time, which is rare, I browse MSN or CNN.
    But recently, I discovered the joys of eBay and am now mildly OCD about hunting for random items. Thankfully, I am not a good bidder or my bank account would be drained.

    Do you blog?
    I used to have online journals when I was younger, but I have deleted those out of fear a future employer might judge me based on naïve middle school rants. I have Facebook not because I like it, but because it is the primary form of communication among students at UN-L. Technology is a necessary evil.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    When I was a sophomore in high school, the editor of the Gretna Guide and News let me write stories for the summer.
    I have been procrastinating about finding an internship during college. Maybe next year…

    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    No, but I probably should. I work part-time in the school year and full-time in the summer, so unless an internship is paid, it is out of the question.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Of course I do.

  14. Stephen Youngerman
    January 19, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Name. Year in school.
    Stephen Youngerman. Junior

    Where are you from?
    Myrtle Beach, South Carolina

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I’ve always been a Husker football enthusiast and I needed a change of scenery. I did not come, however, to experience that soul piercing wind.

    What is your major?
    News-Ed and Political Science

    Career Goals?
    Be accepted into law school, practice real estate or tort law as a starting point, and eventually begin my own consulting firm.

    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    This course should be very useful because grammar has been a tough obstacle for me in the past and I’m hoping to gain a little clarity on the subject.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    Playing or watching any sport, being healthy, politics, brewing my own beer, being outdoors (camping, fishing, running).

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I’ve surfed on the shores of five countries, four continents, and three oceans.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    7

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    Hot, Flat, and Crowded by Thomas Friedman, Into The Wild by Jon Krakauer

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    The New York Times, cnn.com, Drudgereport.com, Newsweek, Omaha World Herald

    What is your favorite Web site?
    Either Facebook or Drudgereport

    Do you blog?
    No

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I work for the Office of Admissions as a telecounselor.

    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    If you consider working for Ben Nelson media related then yes.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    I sure do.

  15. Katy Healey
    January 19, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    *Name. Year in school.
    Katy Healey.
    I am a sophomore with junior standing.

    *Where are you from?
    Bellevue, NE.

    *Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I chose UNL because of the journalism program, and it was the best financial option and closer to home.

    *What is your major?
    I am majoring in both news-editorial journalism and political science.

    *Career Goals?
    Ideally, I would like to write for a political magazine, like Newsweek.

    *Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    After completing JOUR102, I discovered that I actually enjoyed editing papers. I hope this class will build on that knowledge.

    *Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I played soccer competitively through my senior year of high school. I currently play intramural soccer. I am also interested in politics. I also love to read, but I hardly seem to find the time; my classes keep me busy.

    *Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I would rather go to the gym and exercise than watch television.

    *Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    I am not the first person in my family to attend a university.

    *On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    Seven or eight.

    *What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I have already read Twilight, New Moon and Eclipse; I’m currently reading the fourth installment of the series, Breaking Dawn. I have almost finished reading The Pentagon’s New Map and Wuthering Heights.

    *What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    I read Newsweek, Shape, Glamour, USA Today, The Washington Post and the Omaha World-Herald.

    *What is your favorite Web site?
    http://www.theonion.com

    *Do you blog?
    No.

    *Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I was on the newspaper staff during high school; I was the editor-in-chief of my high school newspaper my senior year.

    *Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    I have not applied, but I am looking for a journalism internship this summer.

    *Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes.

  16. Krista Vogel
    January 19, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    Name. Year in school.
    Krista Vogel. Sophomore.

    Where are you from?
    Atkins, Iowa.

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    Because I have family from Kearney, I had always wanted to be a Husker. After visting campus, I was very impressed with the university’s journalism program, which was the kicker.

    What is your major?
    News-Editorial.

    Career Goals?
    My dream is to be the editor-in-chief of Alternative Press magazine.

    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I am taking this course because I am very passionate about editing. I love finding errors in writing and design, and I hope to make editing my career. I hope to gain more experience in editing from the course, and I want to learn more about the career path of an editor.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I am very passionate about music. I love going to concerts, buying CDs and reading music magazines. I love that no matter what emotion I feel, there is a song that says exactly what I can’t.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I hate conflict and rarely get angry. Even when I do, I walk away and keep it to myself. I don’t know if I’ve ever yelled at anyone.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    8.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I rarely read books; I’m more of a magazine person.

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    Alternative Press, Cosmopolitan, The Daily Nebraskan and Lincoln Journal-Star.

    What is your favorite Web site?
    PerezHilton.com.

    Do you blog?
    No.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I was the editor of my high school newspaper and yearbook.

    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    No.

    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

