Home > headlines > Best Election headlines, Wednesday labs (152)

Best Election headlines, Wednesday labs (152)

Categories: headlines Tags:
  1. Sara McCue
    November 5, 2008 at 11:21 am

    “Yes, he did”
    Tampa Bay Times
    St. Petersburg, Fla.

    I wasn’t particularly impressed by the majority of headlines that I saw after the election. Many of them just said “Obama” or “Change has come.” I liked “Yes, he did” because it played off of “Yes, we can,” it was short and it got the point across. The verb in this headline isn’t as strong as some of the other verbs, but I think the fact that it ties in with his slogan makes it OK.

    On a funnier note, I saw a headline from the Ottawa Sun in Ottawa, Canada that only said “BAM!” I’m not exactly sure what that’s supposed to tell the reader.

  2. Michael Saeger
    November 5, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    “The 44th President”
    The Times-Picayune
    New Orleans, La.

    When comparing all the other front pages, I was really looking for a headline that set itself apart from the others. Almost every headline included the words history, change or Obama. I thought that this title was creative, and still was concise and informative. This headline puts the race into a historical perspective. It is not until the 44th President that the diverse nation of the United States of America has any diversity in the White House. To highlight this fact, the paper ran pictures of every president at the top in black and white. The final picture of President-elect Obama was the only picture in color. I thought that this headline was informative, without having to follow everyone else in word choice.

  3. Cassandra Thomas
    November 5, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    “Obama Overcomes”
    The Tuscaloosa News
    Tuscaloosa, Ala.

    I loved this headline because it encompasses so much of Obama’s campaign. Yes, he did overcome McCain. But he also overcame the idea that America would never elect a black president. This headline shows that Obama was victorious but it was not an easy win. A small graphic showing red and blue states shows the division that Obama did overcome.

  4. Dan Girmus
    November 5, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    “Obama”
    The New York Times

    This headline is simple but very effective. I think I liked it so much because it was refreshing to see so much white space at the top of the Times, which is usually a paper that has a ton of gray copy. The starkness of the short, simple, black headline with the white background was stark and eye-catching, and the picture of Obama was larger than any picture the NYT usually runs, making an extremely visually appealing front page for a paper that usually, in my opinion, doesn’t look very good.

  5. Adam Ziegler
    November 5, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    “Change has come to America”
    Arizona Daily Star
    Tucson Arizona

    I wasn’t too impressed with most of the election headlines this morning either. There was a lot of repetition and most of them were just “Obama” and a verb or just “Obama” with a deck. I though Arizona’s headline was good because it used a quote from Obama that really summed up what his campaign has been about and what his election means to his supporters. That quote was a nice culmination of everything this campaign has been about and gave a good end cap to this election.

  6. Zach Artz
    November 5, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    “A Nation Changed”
    Bakersfield Californian

    I thought this was a great headline to illustrate Obama’s rise to victory. It shows how far we have come as a nation to be able to elect an African-American man to the presidency. In the large scope of history, it wasn’t that long ago when a man like Barack Obama wouldn’t have been able to even take a drink out of the same water fountain as John McCain, and now he has defeated him for the highest office in our country. This was a very well written headline, only three words but the power of the statement it makes resonates.

  7. November 5, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    “A Nation Changed”
    The Bakersfield Californian

    This headline portrays the historical importance of this election and uses the president-elect’s favorite word. To say “Obama wins” isn’t enough, because I’m pretty sure that by this morning, everyone knew that. (Headline aside, it’s just a gorgeous, classic page design that will stand as a nice piece of American history.)

    The RedEye in Chicago did something very bold – their front page had NO words. I liked that; I thought that for people in Chicago, nothing needed to be said, and a picture of their hometown president-elect would suffice.

    Side note: This assignment was hard for me, because I’m one of the three people in this journalism college who despises Barack Obama (and it often seems like that’s a jailable offense around here). So looking through all these front pages is just depressing.

  8. Lindsey Givens
    November 5, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    Mr. President
    Chicago Sun-Times

    I had a hard time with this one. I didn’t see anything that really jumped out at me as highly innovative or original. All of them were good, but they were all similar.

    Even though the photo was huge I thought the Chicago Sun-Times was pretty neat. I saw a few other papers with “Mr. President” as the headline, but this one was very classy and it was only his picture and the headline on the front page. I can see how some wouldn’t like this, but I thought it was taking a chance and I thought it looked cool.

  9. Brittney Schuessler
    November 5, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    “Historymaker”
    The Morning News
    Fayetteville, AR

    I expected to see really creative and interesting headlines this morning. Instead, many headlines were the same: “Obama,” “Change has come” and “Obama wins historic election.”

    While it’s essential to get the point across, I think it’s imperative to have a catchy headline. It is especially important on days like this when every paper is going to cover the same front page story.

    My favorite headline is, “Historymaker,” simply because it is different, short and informative.

  10. Nate Pohlen
    November 5, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    Most of this morning’s headlines were all so similar, so I wanted to find one that was unique. I’m not a big fan of all the “change” headlines. Yes, it’s Obama’s slogan, but isn’t it always technically a “change” when we elect a new president?

    For some reason, The Washington Times’ headline stuck out to me. It read: “President Obama.” This is a very simple headline, but I like it best because it really hits the point. He’s not Senator Obama anymore and won’t be called Barack as much anymore. He is President Obama. I like how The Washington Times didn’t just say “Obama won” in some fashion. Instead, they jumped ahead to a couple months from now, when he will be officially inaugurated. This title really makes it set in.

  11. Ryan Boetel
    November 5, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    In our lifetime: Obama sweeps to victory, makes history as the first black president
    Anniston Star Aniston, Alabama

    The “In our lifetime,” works well for a newspaper in the deep south. The newspapers readers, both white and black, have first hand knowledge of racism and understand how historic this election was.
    I think this headline is directed more towards people over 50 rather then college age students because this headline can cause them to think back to the civil rights movement and how it was linked to last night.

  12. Natasha Richardson
    November 5, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    I liked the simplicity and size of the headline in The Palm Beach Post.

    “HISTORY”

    This is a word that’s been thrown around by media outlets for a long time about this election, and with good reason, so I think it was a good choice for a headline.

    The deck was OK, but I didn’t think it was anything special. Most of the headlines that caught my eye were the short, punchy one or two word headlines. It seems like a lot of other people in the class agree.

    What really caught my attention, though, on the Newseum pages was how many photos there were of Obama smiling. I felt like those papers really drew me in. I also really appreciated the simplicity of the design and photo used in the Orlando Sentinel.

  13. Tyler DeBoer
    November 5, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    “Obama Victory Makes History”
    Modesto Bee
    Modesto, Calif.

    While I thought most of the headlines were pretty much the same, I liked this one the best out of the ones I saw. It is catchy, rhymes, and tells you story in four short words.

  14. Katie Steiner
    November 5, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    “Mr. President”
    Chicago Sun-Times

    I liked this headline simply because it was different. A lot of newspapers chose the same headline, including “Change has come,” and using the word history. Mr. President, to me, is simple and classy. Plus I just liked the entire front page treatment, with the photo of the Obama and the headline small and in the corner. It stood out to me when everything else just blended together.

    I also would like to mention the Statesman Journal, which used “Epic Win.” I absolutely hate the headline, but it stood out to me because all last night, myself and the other news editor at the DN were joking that we would put McCain on the front page with “Epic Fail” as the headline. Therefore, “Epic Win” made me laugh.

  15. Mike
    November 5, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    In Our Lifetime

    Anniston Star
    Anniston Alabama

    Loved this headline. Basically sums up a conversation I had with my roommates during the coverage last night. We discussed just how different everything is from the thoughts of last January. I think the headline plays to its geographic location very well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

