Home > headlines > Best Election headlines, Thursday labs (153)

Best Election headlines, Thursday labs (153)

Categories: headlines Tags:
  1. Nicole Manske
    November 5, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    Yes, He Did
    The Independent
    Massillon, Ohio
    AND
    Tulsa World
    Tulsa, Okla.

    I expected better headlines for such a monumental day, but most were unimpressive. “History,” “Obama Elected,” etc. were not at all catchy. I think this headline at least attempted creativity and expanded on his catch phrase, “Yes We Can.” Some papers just used this as the headline, but “Yes, He Did,” at least is past tense, implying something actually happened, a decision was reached.

  2. Garret Durst
    November 5, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    A Nation Changed
    The Bakersfield Californian

    I felt that this was the best headline because it states what Barack Obama is about; change. The headline was big, bold and caught my eye. The headline was matched with a great picture of Obama standing tall and strong. The background is all black and the entire front page caught my attention. There was Obama’s famous quote next to his picture. “If there is anyone out there who still doubts that America is a place where all things are possible, who still wonders if the dream of our founders is alive in our time, who still questions the power of our democracy, tonight is your answers…” Obama said.

    This headline stated the obvious, but played it more interesting. This headline didn’t say, Obama wins, like the Lincoln Journal Star did. The Bakersfield Californian added more flavor and this headline is something that everyone can understand. Obama is about change and this headline fits perfect. Overall, I felt that most headlines across America were plain and boring. All the headlines seemed to state the obvious and kept repeating themselves. So I looked for a good headline and picture. And the Bakersfield Californian brought both to the table.

  3. William Whited
    November 5, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    ‘A New Dawn’
    The Daily News
    Los Angeles, Calif.

    I liked this headline because I felt it was different than some of the generic terms used in other publications: Obama wins, change, vote, history. The headline is in single quotation marks, another feature that caught my eye. This article took up the half top of the front page and was bordered by refers covering the local angle, breakdown, exit polls and issues Sen. Barack Obama may soon face. The photo is a nice four-shot picture of Obama’s spouse, Michelle, and two daughters, Sasha and Malia on the stage. While the headline is attention-grabbing, the caption is poorly written because it starts with a name and uses the term “wife” when it should use “spouse.” The caption also states the obvious. I think this lowers the value of the photo.

  4. Teresa Lostroh
    November 5, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    First and foremost, I was severly unimpressed by today’s headlines from across the nation. I can confidently estimate more than a quarter of U.S. newspapers plastered either “OBAMA” or “OBAMA WINS!” on their front pages as the main headline. BOR-ING. To be honest, I can’t think of a better one, but hey, that’s why I’m not a professional journalist yet. It was pretty difficult to find a creative, eye-catching head that deviated from the norm, but the Greeley Tribune’s (Greeley, Colo.) banner headline was decent: “WHITE HOUSE BOUND.” The starkly white words were positioned against a dark background on a sleekly designed page. It didn’t include “Obama” nor did it include “wins” so it was sufficient. Interestingly, few papers took a second-day approach, assuming readers already knew Obama was president-elect. Maybe this is because they figure readers will save the papers as a souvenir, so they placed “OBAMA” prominently at the top? Who knows.

  5. Jamie Klein
    November 6, 2008 at 1:24 am

    Obama Seizes Historic Win
    The Arizona Republic

    I like this headline because it wasn’t a boring headline like so many others that I’ve seen today. Some say “Obama Wins,” another one just read “Obama.” At least this one gives me a verb that isn’t wins.
    Seizes also tells us more about how Obama won. He didn’t win by one or two electoral votes- he really seized the race.
    And it is fairly obvious why historic is part of the headline, but it fits in well with seizes.
    I really like the flow of this headline and that it wasn’t just “Obama Wins.”

  6. Courtney Robinson
    November 6, 2008 at 2:15 am

    Majority of the newspapers around the world used the words “change,” “history,” “vote,” and/or “won” in the headline. Because of that, in order to find the newspaper or news Web site that had the best headline on the presidential election story, I set out to find the ones that actually made an effort in distinguishing their headlines from the rest. I came upon the following two:

    “IN OUR LIFETIME” – The Anniston Star from Anniston Ala.
    and
    “OH-BAMA” – The Orange County Register from Santa Ana, Calif.

    “IN OUR LIFETIME” reflects my sentiments of the event perfectly. Yes, Obama made history by being the first African American to win a presidential election, and because this is a known fact, it does not need to be in the headline. This headline, on the other hand, expresses that same notion without flatly saying it like most of the other newspapers around the world did.

    “OH-BAMA” was just clever. I found it interesting, intriguing, entertaining and amusing. Almost every newspaper had his name somewhere in the headline, yet The Orange County Register decided to set itself apart from the rest and I say bravo.

  7. Grant Triplett
    November 6, 2008 at 3:40 am

    I liked The Denver Post’s headline “OBAMA ROLLS; Red states turn to blue as racial barrier tumbles”
    It didn’t use the cliche words “sweep” or “historic,” although it used the race relations cliche. Either way I liked how it not only stated the obvious fact that Obama won, but gave a tidbit of information on how he won, by campaigning and trying to change republican states. I didn’t find any awesome headlines or that many clever ones, so I chose this…

  8. PJ Hunsicker
    November 6, 2008 at 5:53 am

    Obama’s time.
    “America votes for historic change.”
    The Oregonian

    The headlines from the election were generally unimpressive, though I can’t say for sure that there is a lot that can be done different with this situation. A lot of the headlines involved some use of the word “change” or a deviation of the phrase “yes we can” or “did.” I like this one. It’s very brief, but it summarizes everything. Obama’s time. And the subtitle gives another great summary of the absolute scope of Obama’s being elected into office. Sometimes brevity and simplicity work best over attempts at clever phrases and whatnot.

  9. Stephani Ruiz
    November 6, 2008 at 6:35 am

    “In Our Lifetime”
    The Anniston Star
    Anniston, AL

    I liked this headline because it was one of the few that didn’t say “Obama” or use a clever version of his campaign slogan. That statement is one that’s been on people’s minds since Obama was announced the winner of this year’s election- the first black president was in our lifetime. It was something many never predicted could ever happen. I especially like how Barack Obama’s name is not used in the headline because many newspapers mentioned his name and then showed a huge picture of his face. By now, the vast majority of readers known Obama’s face and don’t need him mentioned in the headline if his face is taking up half of the front page layout. The headline was just a short, direct way to describe the feeling of most Americans upon hearing the election results.

  10. Elizabeth Gamez
    November 6, 2008 at 6:46 am

    I have to say I’m in agreement with everyone else who was unimpressed by the headlines of this monumental day. I searched through the pages and it was inevitable to see words like “history,” “change,” and “victory.”Along with those uncreative choice words, some pages just streamed his name across the front page. In the end, I had to go back to the first headline on newseums.org which was, “In Our Lifetime” in The Anniston Star in Alabama. Those three words create a better picture than the overused word “history.” I think it’s also one of the best because it makes the reader feel proud to be part of an election that not only turned red states into blue but demolished the racial divide. It stirs emotion because it allows for a huge realization.

  11. Max Wohlgemuth
    November 6, 2008 at 7:57 am

    Connecticut’s Journal Inquirer
    Headline:

    Face of change

    This headline really struck me. I don’t know exactly what it is, but the treatment of this page got my attention more than any of the other papers. I think this headline does the best job of capturing the event and making it a next day news story. Everybody knows who won already. This headline presents him as the winner instead of saying that he won or how history was made.

  12. Allyson Felt
    November 6, 2008 at 8:40 am

    It quickly became apparent to me as I scrolled through the Newseum’s site that I was going to be greatly disappointed in the day’s headlines. I know this isn’t the topic of our blog, but I must digress. I was greatly disappointed with the quality of the headlines across the country on this momentous day. I think I can honestly say most headlines weren’t even headlines. They simply said “Obama!” or “Obama Wins!”. His face on the front page along would tell people who won the election. You don’t need to treat the American people like idiots. We get it, really.

    Back to the topic at hand, I did find a few headlines that were appealing to me. The first was from the Athens Banner-Herald in Athens, GA. It read:
    “Change of Course”. This headline didn’t stick out so much as the treatment of it. The little “o” in the “of” was the symbol from Obama’s campaign posters. The little pop of color, even though it wasn’t on a prominent word, still made the headline jump out at the reader.

    The second headline I liked was from Aberdeen, SD in the American News. It read: “No drama; it’s Obama”. Now, this headline is a bit cheesy, I must admit. But as far as being unique, I think it fits the bill. It tells you who won, it tells you that it was a landslide victory and there was no question about who won. Plus, who doesn’t like a rhyming headline?

  13. Marlenia Thornton
    November 6, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    I had trouble choosing only one headline that I liked, so I chose two headlines. The first one was from the Wednesday, Nov. 5, 2008 edition of the “The Telegraph” published in Macon, Ga., and its headline said: “Let Us Summon a New Spirit.” The second headline I liked was from the same day, but in the Omaha World-Herald and it said: “Face of Change.” I liked these two headlines because they played off words of his presidential acceptance speech and his campaign. However, the main reason I liked these two headlines because I think both of them accurately captured the feelings and thoughts of the nation. I think most people are hopeful that Barack Obama will bring change to America and restore our country to what it was before the Bush administration, which I felt was captured in these two headlines. Outside of politics, I think these two headlines highlighted the idea that America is changing in terms of race relations because a black man was elected to the highest executive position in our government. I also liked these two headlines because did not use the words such as “won” or “historic” like many newspapers did, which I think made the headlines more powerful because they were not overdone and repetitive.

  14. Matthew Butts
    November 6, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    The headline I chose comes from the Arizona Daily Republic. It says: “Obama Seizes Historic Win” The plain “Obama” or “Obama Wins” headlines were boring to me. This gives more emotion to the headline. I like the strong verb because it tells me, not only that he won, but he did so easily. Also, it is important to recognize the historical importance of a black president.

  15. Sarah Tenorio
    November 6, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    Yes He Did
    Barack Obama promises ‘to be everyone’s president’
    The Huntsville Times
    Huntsville Ala.

    I liked this headline because it highlighted his speech. Throughout his speech he repeated “Yes we can,” and it’s the phrase that stuck out the most and it’s probably the phrase that will remind me of his speech. I liked that the headline related to his speech because the fact that he won was not news, so it was important not to focus on that. I think the majority of Americans were watching last night so that link in the headline would draw them in to see what the newspaper has to say about it. I also thought the headline was the most original. Many headlines read, “Obama wins.” That’s the easiest headline to come up with and it’s also the most boring. Some other headlines that I did like were those that used the word “change” in their headlines because that’s the word Obama based his campaign on. For example The Bakesfield Californian ran a headline that said “A nation changed.” I liked it because the word “change” pretty much said that Obama won.

  16. November 6, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    Wednesday NY Times headline:

    OBAMA

    I chose this one because it didn’t have a lot of competition. I tried getting on the Newseum site all of Wednesday but it was all wacked out from too much traffic and I couldn’t get any of the images to upload. Since its only other competition was the campus newstands, the Journal Star and World Herald both had “Obama wins” which is possibly the lamest headline choice ever. I can’t even remember what Retards ‘R Us ran (err, USA Today), but I’m sure it was dumbed-down and over-simplified.

    So why did I like “Obama” so much. Well, aside from the lack of competition, it’s just fitting. It’s safe to say that of all the news events that occur every 4 years, this is the only one that every single person is informed of. If you have a headline about Iraq or financial meltdown or whatever, there’s always a chance that if you don’t have effective headlines someone will look at the story and be confused and have no idea what you’re talking about. However, on the day after election day every single American, and almost every person in the world, knows exactly what the front page coverage is going to be. And for those of us who spend election nights in our basement with ammunition and food supplies awaiting the beginning of global thermonuclear warfare, when we emerge the next morning we only want to know one simple thing: who won.

    Spare us the cute “Yes He Did” bullshit and the “Face of Change” talk and just tell us who won the thing. Verbs are not necessary here, just give us a noun and let us go about our day.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

