Home > headlines > Best Election headlines, Friday labs (151)

Best Election headlines, Friday labs (151)

Categories: headlines Tags:
  1. khaslett
    November 5, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    My favorite election headline was on page one. I thought that was too easy so I kept looking, 3, 4, 5 pages in… There are a lot of repeats, and one of the reasons I like this headline so much is because it stands out as original. it doesn’t use the words “Obama,” “Change,” “Historic” or “Yes, he did,” but manages to say the same thing, only not so cliche as the overused catchphrases that I haven’t heard enough of in this election season.

    The paper is The Anniston Star, published in Anniston, AL.
    The headline is: IN OUR LIFETIME
    (subhead: Obama sweeps to victory, makes history as the first black president”)

  2. November 5, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    I will get to my favorite headline in a second. But first off, I just want to say that I really like the Orlando Sentinel’s day-after coverage. Their front page is a clean portrait of Obama with no headline. On the bottom of the page, they map out the following 16 pages of expanded coverage. This was a great move for the Orlando Sentinel because people will probably save the issue.

    As for my favorite headline,

    It probably goes to the Norfolk Daily News published in Norfolk, NE (no joke, I didn’t even mean to do this) for ‘The Road Ahead Will Be Long’ (subhead: Obama wins electoral, popular vote.)

    I chose this headline because the only other options were “OBAMA WINS!” or “OBAMA STEPS INTO HISTORY” but even Obama said that this isn’t about him. This is about us, the people of America and all the problems we have to deal with in the years to come.
    I like that they quoted his speech rather than stating the obvious in the headline. This headline made me want to read the articles. The other headlines were just too obvious. I understand this is history, but try to put a little thought into those headlines.

  3. Charlie Pfister
    November 5, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    My favorite election headline came from The Modesto Bee of Modesto, Calif. The headline read ‘Obama victory makes history.’ This was my favorite headline because it took what headlines from all other papers said, but put the information into one headline, doing so in a clever way. I like how it rhymes and how it tells of Obama’s victory and at the same time telling how historical his win really is.

  4. Kylie Kinley
    November 5, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    First, I would like to say that I thought most of the headlines on Wednesday were very boring. I had a difficult time finding one that didn’t say just the name “Obama” or simply coupled “Obama” with the words “historic” or “change.”
    My favorite headline was in The Tri-City Herald in Kennewick, Wash. The headline read, “History we can believe in.” The subhead was”Obama beats McCain to become America’s first black president.”
    I think this headline was appropriate because Obama’s election is such an epic historic date. We will tell our children and grandchildren about this election. For us, history isn’t in a textbook or events that occurred long ago. It is living and breathing and very, very believable.

  5. Travis Beck
    November 5, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    I’m sure all of us will agree that most of the headlines are the same, or slightly different from each other. I like, “In Our Lifetime”, for the very reason that it’s different, yet it’s too obvious for me that this election took place in our lifetime.

    Even though several newspapers had this headline, I went with, “A Changed Nation”, as my favorite. The particular headline I found came from The Augusta Chronicle in Augusta, Ga. I realize that it includes the buzz word “change”, but it is used in a way that describes more than just the president. The “changed nation” is not only changed by the new president, but the historic turnout at the polls and the overall change in American mindset. The subhead read, “Obama wins in electoral landslide” and I thought that putting “electoral” next to the word “landslide” was an accurate illustration of the results. He barely won the popular vote, but he killed in the electoral colleges.

    I think the headline serves as a building block for what’s to come. The snowball at the top of the mountain started with Obama being elected. Not only will we tell our children about the significance of which president was elected, we will describe the symbolic nature of the event and explain how history helped to create the grounds for Barack Obama becoming president.

  6. Lauren Garcia
    November 5, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    Well, although looking at all those headlines this morning for this assignment was a chance for me to grow in patience and humility (because I really didn’t want to do it), there was one headline that didn’t make me want to yell at editors for being so boring and unoriginal.
    It was on the front page of The Courier-Journal of Louisville, Kentucky.

    “Obama turns historic page”

    I like it because it’s active (turns) and it provides a visual to the reader. Also, it plays into the idea that this is all just a part of a complete span of time, most of which we don’t know yet. He’s turning the page of a “book” that’s been there. He’s not God, he just is playing a part in the history of a nation.

  7. Megan Nichols
    November 6, 2008 at 5:43 am

    Like most of us, I found looking for an interesting headline tedious, boring and nearly impossible. Even in international newspapers, headlines on the front pages were practically the same. They all read “Obama wins” or “It’s Obama.” But if I have to pick a favorite I would choose the headline “Obama sweeps to historic win,” from the Chronicle-Tribune in Marion, Ind. It stuck out to me because it seems to capture the essence of Tuesday night; Obama winning by a large margin of electoral votes and it being a historic moment. I think in this case ‘sweep’ is a strong and appropriate verb.

  8. Jenna Gibson
    November 6, 2008 at 7:54 am

    The headline I chose was ““YES HE DID!” with the subhead, “Barack Obama promises to ‘be everyone’s president’” from The Huntsville Times in Alabama.

    I liked this despite the fact that a lot of other papers used some variation of the same headline. It was still a good idea that made a play on the mantre of Obama’s campaign and the chants that have followed his win. I also really liked this subhead because it quoted Obama and gave an idea of what comes next, rather than only doing “he won!” coverage.

  9. Tawny Burmood
    November 7, 2008 at 6:05 am

    While looking for my favorite headline, I noticed many papers used the exact same or similar headline, such as “Obama Wins,” or “Change has come to America.” It was hard for me to choose which one I liked, so I looked for one out of the ordinary.
    The headline I picked was from the The State. The headline read, “History.” I think it’s very simple, but at the same time says it all. The day was very historic and you knew right away what the headline means. I also liked the period at the end. It’s unusual to see this at the end of a headline, but it really worked for this story.
    I also liked the picture choice more than any other paper, so this helped me a little in my decision. I really liked the live action shot of Obama and his family at his ralley in Grant Park in Chicago over just a shot of Obama.

  10. Anna Mostek
    November 7, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    I have to agree with everyone else. There were a ton of repetitive, boring, one-word headlines. I only found a couple that really jumped out at me. One of those was the St. Petersburg Times with the headline “TIDE OF HOPE” then under it, “BARACK OBAMA ELECTED 44th PRESIDENT.”

    To me, this headline totally encompasses the entire aura of the election. A tide of hope. It also jumps out at me because Obama won in such a landslide. When I read this headline I see a massive wave or tide in the ocean just overcoming everything. Obama’s tide of hope has swept the nation.

    Another headline I really liked was the Tahoe Daily Tribune, “AMERICA CHOOSES CHANGE.” It set itself off from the rest of the other front pages I saw and I really liked the chooses and change sound.

  11. Jessie Evertson
    November 7, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    I liked “Obama’s victory makes history” also but since it’s already being used I will use my second choice.

    Paper: Staten Island Advance
    Headline (smaller font than subhead): “Barack Obama will be our 44th. And our first.”
    Subhead (bigger font): “America’s historic vote.”

    I like the play on the fact that he is our 44th president but also our first mixed race president. I also liked that it was all about history.

    I loved the design. It has varying sizes of pictures of past presidents. And there are three refers underneath the subhead.

  12. Logan Thompson
    November 7, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    My favorite post-election headline was from the Times-Picayune from New Orleans:

    “The 44th President”
    The subhead was: “In historic run, Obama wins White House”

    I got tired of the “Yes he dids” and the plays on words using Obama slogans. It was clever at first, but this headline was refreshingly simple. Plus, the subhead told that it was historic (which everybody already knows).

    Also, this paper ran a two-row series of small pictures of all 44 presidents above the main picture of Obama. The first 43 were in black & white, and Obama’s picture was in color. I thought this was a very good touch.

  13. Amber Johnson
    November 7, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    The Modesto Bee of Modesto, Calif.
    ‘Obama victory makes history.’

    I absolutely loved the cleverness of this headline. Sometimes rhymes for me are cheesy but I don’t feel this one was in the least bit forced. I also think it speaks nothing but the truth, Obama’s win was historical.

    I also gave credit to the newspaper for not using the word “change” or “wins” as the Omaha World Herald, USA Today, Lincoln Journal Star and many others did. Those papers to me just seemed too boring (blah!) for my liking.

  14. Kara Brown
    November 7, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    Many people have criticized the simple headlines for being overused. But I disagree. I don’t think “Obama wins” is horrible, especially if there is a subhead. It may even be better to be simple here; everyone knows Obama won and less could be more. I think the simplicity of that headline sets a tone that matches the historical and complex, difficult to synthesize aspects of this election.

    In this same vein, I actually liked the New York Times’ coverage the best. While it looked a bit meager in comparison to other papers, with a photo that didn’t take up the entire space above the fold and headline in a moderate type, it was monumental compared to the Times’ normal front page. “OBAMA: (subhead: Racial barriers fall in decisive victory)” it read. The white space, the all caps, and the focus, un-Times-like, really funnel the interest to the story and ratchet up its importance. And the subhead complements the headline perfectly and encompasses the major aspects of the story: the history, the race, the crushing and quick victory.

    There were several that used cutesy headlines, such as “Oh-bama!” To me, this is completely inappropriate; it trivializes the election and doesn’t even mention the historic nature of the event. This would work if he was, for example, a baseball star just winning the World Series. But being cute when one should be underlining the triumph and history is just plain tone-inappropriate.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

