Home > Uncategorized > Headlines sell stories, Wednesday lab (152)

Headlines sell stories, Wednesday lab (152)

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. Brittney Schuessler
    October 1, 2008 at 3:18 am

    “Poll: Voters See ‘Crisis’ Ahead”
    The Washington Post
    Tuesday, September 30, 2008

    I like this headline, and I think it is effective for various reasons.

    -The two key words that grab my attention are “voters” and “crisis”. I’m a voter, so I want to read what the crisis is about.

    -I also think this headline works because it explains what I will read about. I don’t have to guess.

    -Most importantly, it’s simple, in my opinion. The headline is comprised of 5 explanatory words.

    -I like how the editor put “Poll:” because I think it’s easy to get wordy when the headline involves telling the reader about a poll.

  2. Ryan Boetel
    October 1, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    USA TODAY
    Wednesday, October 1, 2008

    ‘Safe Haven’ law exposes family struggles

    -I liked this headline mainly because the story was about a Nebraska law and was on the top of the Nation page for a nationally circulated newspaper, and because I wrote the same story yesterday too and like comparing my stories to the “pros.”
    -Also, I think “exposes” is a good verb for explaining what the Ne safe haven law is doing. The law is showing that Nebraska has a problem communicating the child resources available to the public because people are not using them when they are having family problems.

  3. October 6, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    CNN.com, October 3, 2008

    Cosmetic surgery industry sags with economy

    -I know this play on words headline is a little over the top, but I really liked it. There are so few instances where this sort of headline is acceptable, so I think if you can get away with it, go for it.

    -Also, I am not thinking about getting cosmetic surgery, I don’t know anyone who is, and I don’t really care about the industry, but I read this article because of the headline.

  4. Michael Saeger
    October 7, 2008 at 12:37 am

    Lincoln Journal Star
    Sunday, October 5, 2008
    “How we got in this mess”

    While this headline does not use clever words to attract readers, the message did appeal to me. The headline refers to the current economic situation. It appealed to me because this is the first article I have seen that puts the entire situation in a historical context. This headline effectively informs the reader the topic of the article. The headline is accurate and informative. The article was able to concisely summarize every factor that contributed to the current economic status. My curiosity concerning the current economic decline was the deciding factor in this headline’s effectiveness.

  5. Adam Ziegler
    October 7, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Omaha World Herald
    Tuesday October 7, 2008
    “Too little to late? Markets fall hard”

    This headline does a good job of telling the reader what the story will be about by addressing two main subjects within the story itself. It also connects the newer part of the story, that the markets are continuing to fall, with the larger topic of the economy falling apart by framing the more recent developments within the question of did we wait too long to really do anything about the economic meltdown

  6. Nate Pohlen
    October 7, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Orlando Sentinel
    Tuesday October 7, 2008
    “Hip Hip Hoo-Ray”

    This was the headline in the sports page the day after the Tampa Bay Rays won their playoff series against the Chicago White Sox. I think this headline is great because it should make everyone smile when reading it, unless you’re a White Sox fan. “Hip Hip Hooray” is a great chant and this was a great play off the word “Hooray” by putting the team’s name in there. Anyone who has followed baseball knows the Rays have never been good, so every series they win is cause for huge celebration. Also, any sports fan would have to read only the title to figure out the Rays must have won their game. However, the Lincoln Journal Star article read, “Up, Up and Away.” This was very clever because a player named Upton hit two home runs, but it doesn’t give the same excitement as “Hip Hip Hoo-Ray” does.

  7. Sarah McCallister
    October 7, 2008 at 11:57 pm

    Lincoln Journal Star
    Tuesday, October 7, 2008
    “Nobel medicine prize tinged with controversy”

    What I liked about this headline was that it said what the story was about, but in a unique way. It could be argued that the word ‘tinged’ is kind of abstract and would not be used in everyday conversation, and thus it should not be used in a headline. While this may be, it created a vivid image in my mind of some medicinal trophy with some creeping bits of green mold across it (or the ‘tinging’ of controversy). Although the article was small and at the bottom of an inside page, the headline attracted my attention and made me need to know what this controversy was that was plaguing the Nobel medicine prize.

  8. Cassandra Thomas
    October 8, 2008 at 3:32 am

    Omaha World-Herald
    Tuesday, October 7, 2008
    “Librarian rasies her voice in defense of libraries”

    Although tucked deep in the Living Section of Tuesday’s Omaha World-Herald, I found this headline intriguing and decided to give the article a shot. The article revealed the attempts libraries are using to keep patrons visiting their facitilities rather than coffee-shop ridden bookstores.

    I thought the headline was both witty but understandable. Everyone is taught to be quiet while in the library. To have a librarian raise her voice is both unconventional and enticing. It made me want to see what the article was about and what the librarian was doing to make her facitility more enticing to the general public.

  9. October 8, 2008 at 5:58 am

    Kansas City Star
    Tuesday, October 7 2008
    “Microwaving? The trick is don’t get sick”

    I like headlines that ask questions (as long as not every headline on the page is that way). The subject matter appeals to me as a student with a hectic, unstable daily schedule, because I often have to eat “meals” that are microwaved. I read “microwaving?” and thought, “Yes, that’s me; tell me more!”

    I really wanted to pick something from the McCook Daily Gazette after I bagged on them last week, but the only remotely interesting one I could find was “Benefit for peanut-sniffing dog postponed.” It’s not a good headline, per se, but was interesting because it’s so bizarre. (For those curious, the headline refers to this earlier story: http://tinyurl.com/3fokqd)

  10. Sara McCue
    October 8, 2008 at 8:25 am

    Omaha World-Herald
    Monday, October 6, 2008
    “NU sweats in sweep”

    I don’t spend much time reading the sports section. I usually skim the articles, and I wanted to see if any sports headlines caught my attention. In general, few of the headlines I looked at interested me. However, I thought this headline was very well done.

    Not only does the headline make use of alliteration with the words “sweat” and “sweep” placed close to each other, but it also gives the reader information. The reader knows the NU volleyball team worked hard to achieve victory.

    The headline is short, informative and catchy–everything a headline should be.

  11. Dan Girmus
    October 8, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Omaha World-Herald
    Wednesday, October 8
    “Pharmacy holdup turns to standoff”

    This headline is effective for two reasons:

    -It uses heavy, meaningful words like “holdup” and “standoff” to get your attention. Those words make you want to read the story.

    -It succinctly describes the action of the story in the present tense to make it more timely and urgent-sounding.

    It is informative and short, two traits all good headlines should have.

  12. Zach Artz
    October 8, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    Omaha World-Herald
    Wednesday, October 8
    “Health care debate heated”

    I like this headline because “heated is a very strong word and makes me want to read the story and see what particular topics the two people were arguing over. Health care and heated also provide some alliteration to make the headline flow smoothly.

  13. Mike
    October 8, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    CNNSI
    Wednesday, October 8

    “Goodbye Joe Sixpack”

    I love this headline. Grabbed me straight into the story. It plays on the idea of common fans. It is a big story in the sports world right now. Awesome job.

  14. Katie Steiner
    October 8, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    New York Times
    Wednesday, October 8
    “At Texas Football Power, a Polynesian Influence”

    The thing I like about this headline is that first, it’s subtle: It’s not giving away what the story is about. Yet it leaves you wondering what they’re referring to, therefore the headline makes you want to read the story. Plus I just like the wording of it: It flows smoothly, it’s catchy, overall a good headline.

  15. Tyler DeBoer
    October 8, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    St. Louis Dispatch
    Tuesday, October 7
    “Both Sides Agree: Spitting Spat is Over”

    I thought this was a very clever headline regarding the allegation that a Nebraska player spit on Missouri quarterback Chase Daniel before last Saturday’s game. The whole thing has kind of disappeared since Daniel won’t name names and there really isn’t any video evidence of a Nebraska player being close to Daniel before the game. I like the “spitting spat” line, in my opinion it’s very clever and the headline tells me the whole story.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

