Home > bios > Bios: Section 153, Thursday lab

Bios: Section 153, Thursday lab

Categories: bios Tags:
  1. William Whited
    August 25, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    * Name. Year in school.
    My name is William Benjamin Whited. This is my third year at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.
    * Where are you from?
    I am from Lincoln, Neb.
    * Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I came to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln to follow in the footsteps of my father.
    * What is your major?
    I am a news-editorial major.
    * Career Goals?
    My goal is to expand the coverage of news to include the Hispanic population, even if it requires translating between English and Spanish. To do this, I am earning my minor in Spanish.
    * Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I am taking this course to better myself as an up-and-coming columnist. I do hope to increase my understanding of how news organizations throughout the nation edit news every day and how potential future employers may need skilled journalists.
    * Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I am passionate about spending quality time with my friends and being outdoors more to observe nature’s beauty.
    * Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I am usually introverted and spend most of my time behind a computer screen solving technical issues.
    * Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    I am not the first person in my family to attend a university.
    * On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    On a scale from 1 to 10, I would rate my knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style at five.
    * What books are you reading and have read in the last three months?
    In the last three months, I have read books such as “In the Lake of the Woods” by Tim O’brien, “Native Speaker” by Chang-Rae Lee and “Bone: A Novel” by Fae Myenne Ng. The book I am reading now is titled “Una Palabra Tuya” by Elvira Lindo.
    * What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    I read the Lincoln Journal Star online the Daily Nebraskan as a hard copy as often as possible. On the Web, I turn to CNN.com and FOXNews.com. I also check nytimes.com and Msnbc.com for top stories.
    * What is your favorite Web site?
    I do not have a favorite Web site.
    * Do you blog?
    I do not “blog.”
    * Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    If you hear the Vince Powers and Associates audio cut with the number “8000” pronounced on KZUM, that’s me. You can also listen to last year’s “RadioActive Theater” special to hear the royalty-free fire crackling sound I submitted.
    * Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    I am not perusing a media related internship or job at this time. I am, however, perusing an internship that uses online Adobe Flash software to create state standard test questions for surrounding K-12 school districts.
    * Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes, I have an updated resume in my files at home.

  2. Garret Durst
    August 27, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    Make sure you (1) put your name at the top and (2) that you are doing this in the correct lab section. Once completed, go back and flawlessly edit it.

    * Name. Garret Durst
    Year in school. Junior

    * Where are you from? Lincoln, Nebraska
    * Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? Got a scholarship for gymnastics

    * What is your major? Broadcasting
    * Career Goals? To become rich and have a beautiful wife and children.
    * Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? I’m taking this class because it sounds interesting and I don’t mind editing, even though I’m not great at it.
    * Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? Basketball and baseball. I also like to watch horse racing and I like to eat good food.
    * Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique. I’m a fan of horse racing and nascar. I love to watch the Kentucky Derby and all three of the triple crown races.
    * Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? No
    * On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style? Probably a 5. I’m not very good at grammar and I tend to blow by spelling and punctuation that I should look at more closely.
    * What books are you reading and have read in the last three months? I don’t read that often. I definitely don’t read in my leisure time.
    * What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? Rivals.com, Espn, and Scout
    * What is your favorite Web site? Rivals
    * Do you blog? No I don’t.
    * Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? No
    * Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? No
    * Do you have an updated resume in your files? No

  3. Nicole Manske
    August 28, 2008 at 4:53 am

    * Name: My name is Nicole Manske.
    * Year in school: I am currently a junior.
    * Where are you from? I am from Lincoln, Nebraska.
    * Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? I was originally enrolled at Nebraska Wesleyan, but transferred soon after, realizing I needed a bigger school. UNL seemed a perfect fit as I wanted to go into Journalism. I was enrolled in the journalism college when I first came to UNL, but switched before classes started.
    * What is your major? I am majoring in both broadcast and news editorial with a psychology minor.
    * Career Goals? Just this past summer, I completed the journalism 100-level classes after my third change of major. I jumped from journalism to nutrition and pre-med, back to journalism. Therefore, I am not yet sure exactly what it is I want to be, but I am confident it will involve writing of some kind.
    * Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? I love writing and am always happy to learn tips to improve.
    * Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? Tennis and ice-skating are my passions. I am an officer on the UNL tennis club, and was an assistant tennis pro at The Lincoln Country Club for the past three years. I also participate in my sorority, Delta Gamma. Besides this, I stay busy with my role in the honors program, the American Cancer Society, and occasional bible study groups.
    * Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique. I won state tennis, class A, when I was a senior in high school after only four years of practice.
    * Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? Yes. Neither of my parents attended a university and I am the oldest child. My sister will most likely attend UNL in four years.
    * On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style? I would rate myself somewhere between a five and six. As I have begun reading the AP stylebook, I am realizing there are many things I have yet to learn.
    * What books are you reading and have read in the last three months? I took 12 hours of summer school this summer so I stayed busy reading the required texts. Currently, however, I am reading “Lyndon Johnson’s War.”
    * What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? During half of the summer I was staying up to date with the Lincoln Journal Star, however, I have not been reading diligently as of late.
    * What is your favorite Web site? My favorite website to find news information would have to be CNN.com.
    * Do you blog? I do not blog.
    * Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? I do not.
    * Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? I was talking to Trina Creighton earlier this summer about interning with Channel 8. Unfortunately, nothing came of it.
    * Do you have an updated resume in your files? No, I do not.

  4. Grant Triplett
    August 28, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    Name. My name is Grant Triplett
    Year in school. I am a sixth-year senior.
    Where are you from? I am from Blair, NE.
    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? UNL was close to home and the in-state tuition was an added bonus.
    What is your major? I have two majors: communication studies and advertising.
    Career Goals? I am unsure if I want to pursue a career in advertising, so my goals are a little foggy right now.
    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? I am taking this course to better my writing/speaking skills. I hope to have fewer (or is it less?) grammatical errors in my everyday life.
    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? I like skateboarding and writing for the DN. I also watch about a dozen movies per week.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique. I have no cartilage in my ears so I can roll them up and tuck them into themselves.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? No. My dad and brother attendend Lincoln, too.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style? I think I am above average so I’d rate myself at a seven.
    What books are you reading and have read in the last three months? Do textbooks count? I am more of a magazine person.
    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? Maxim, Popular Science, MSNBC.com, and occassionally InTouch (because my girlfriend subscribes to it).
    What is your favorite Web site? Google.com
    Do you blog? This is my first blog.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? I write for the school newspaper. I also wrote in high school. I took campaigns class if that counts.
    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? I am not pursuing any careers at the moment.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files? I need to update my resume. It is old and pathetic.

  5. Stephani Ruiz
    August 28, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    *Name: My name is Stephani Ruiz.
    *Year in school: I am currently a Junior.
    *Where are you from? I am originally from Seattle, Wash., but I have lived in Lincoln, Neb. since sixth grade.
    *Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? UNL was the best financial option for me and when I heard of the Journalism program here, I knew I wanted to stay.
    *What is your major? I am a Broadcasting, News-Editorial and Spanish major with a concentration in Political Science.
    *Career Goals? In the future, I would love to be a foreign correspondent, based in Latin America, but I am also interested in investigative reporting and documentary film-making.
    *Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? I am always looking to improve my writing skills, both in English and Spanish, and I think this class will help me to develop strengths in my grammar, delivery and creativity. I want to get enough practice in these areas that they become a habitual part of my writing ability.
    *Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? I am passionate about politics, social issues and working closely with the Latino community. In my free time, I love to workout, shop and travel.
    *Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique: I lived in Berlin, Germany for a year and was there when the Berlin Wall was torn down.
    *Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? On my mom’s side of the family, I am the first to graduate with my high-school class and go on to college. My stepdad earned a Master’s degree and is a professor here at UNL.
    *On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style? I would give myself a 6, as I have worked on these skills in my other journalism classes, but still have room to improve.
    *What books are you reading and have read in the last three months? Lately, I’ve been pretty busy reading for my summer classes, but in my spare time I’m reading “Dreams From My Father” by Barack Obama.
    *What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? I follow the New York Times because they focus in-depth on international news. I also like to read CNN.com or news feeds from Yahoo!. I need to be more diligent about following local news and this semester it’s my goal to read the Lincoln Journal Star everyday.
    *What is your favorite Web site? I really like to surf YouTube. It’s interesting to search for different news correspondents and the way each ones delivers a story or to find newscasts from other countries as well.
    *Do you blog? I just created a blog for my NewsNet class yesterday and I blogged about my internship this past summer, but I have not blogged regularly before.
    *Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? The past two summers I interned at Time Warner Cable in the Public Affairs Department. I also work part-time at KLKN-Channel 8 as a production assistant and I just started a Public Relations internship with the UNL School of Music.
    *Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? I am currently trying to set up an internship this next summer at the local New York 1 news station in New York City, and I’m working with International Affairs on getting an internship at a TV station in Monterrey, Mexico next semester when I study abroad.
    *Do you have an updated resume in your files? Yes, I do.

  6. Max Wohlgemuth
    August 28, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    • Name. Year in school.
    o I am Max Wohlgemut, and I am a sophomore.
    • Where are you from?
    o I am from Columbus, NE.
    • Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    o I came to UNL because when I visited the school, I loved the environment. I knew right away that I belonged here.
    • What is your major?
    o I am studying to get 2 majors. One of my majors is News-Editorial and the other is Film Studies
    • Career Goals?
    o I would like to travel and write for English newspapers in foreign countries. I am open to many other opportunities.
    • Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    o I want to get much better at editing. I do not have a whole lot of editing experience.
    • Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    o I am a big sports fan. My team’s are the New York Mets and the Nebraska Cornhuskers. I also enjoy reading.
    • Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    o I have an identical twin, Nick, who also attends UNL.
    • Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    o I am not the first person in my family to attend a university. My father graduated from Kansas State University.
    • On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    o 7 or 8. I feel confident, but I know there is much more room for improvement.
    • What books are you reading and have read in the last three months?
    o Sadly, I was not able to read much this summer. I took 12 credit hours and worked. I recently started reading “This Side of Paradise” by F. Scott Fitzgerald.
    • What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    o I read Sports Illustrated, Time, and The Daily Nebraskan regularly.
    • What is your favorite Web site?
    o My favorite website would have to be http://www.gamefaqs.com
    • Do you blog?
    o No I do not blog.
    • Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    o My experience is minimal. I wrote for my high school paper and I wrote a dozen stories for The Daily Nebraskan
    • Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    o I am not at this time. I plan to this summer.
    • Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    o I do have a mostly updated resume in my files.

  7. Allyson Felt
    August 28, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    * Name: My name is Allyson Felt.

    * Year in school: I am currently a sophomore here at UNL.

    * Where are you from? I was born and raised in Omaha, NE.

    * Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? I came because UNL has such an amazing journalism program. I looked at going out of state for college, but couldn’t find many school to equal UNL’s level of journalism, even at most private colleges. I also liked the fact that it was closer to home so I can get back if an emergency happens. Plus, you can’t go wrong with instate tuition!

    * What is your major? I am a News Editorial/Broadcast major.

    * Career Goals? I would LOVE to be a world correspondent for a major media source. Something along the lines of NBC or ABC. Mostly, I’m looking to take Diane Sawyer’s job. 🙂

    * Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? I’m taking this class because I have a lot of experience writing for things like term papers and English classes. I have no experience writing for newspapers. I hope I can become a “well-rounded” writer, in that I’ll understand the best way to fix my mistakes, as well as learning how not to make any to start with.

    * Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    One of the main things I’m involved with is my sorority. The girls are like my family away from home. I work for the DN and am trying to get more involved with that. When I’m at home, I love spending time with my family. I just like being social in general, I guess. Oh, and watching football. It’s pretty much the best.

    * Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique: I used to be left-handed when I was born. My grandparents switched me over because they were worried I wouldn’t fit in as a leftie.

    * Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? I am the first person to go out of town for college. My father attended the university in Omaha for six years and my mother went to massage therapy school.

    * On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style? I would say I am above a five, but not by much. I know basics of editting and edit on occasion, but I am no where near an AP pro yet.

    * What books are you reading and have read in the last three months? I read a few good books this summer. My favorite of them was a book on family history and how deep secrets can spoil a family’s name if they let it. It taught a little about diversity and how there is nothing wrong with being different.

    * What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? I try my best to keep up with whatever I can. I have my homepage set to AOL news and that keeps me up to date. Also, working at the DN, I’ve gotten to hear a little more about local stories.

    * What is your favorite Web site? My favorite news Web site would be either MSNBC.com or CNN.com.

    * Do you blog? I know how to, but I don’t have a personal blog.

    * Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? Working at the DN has familiarized me with how a newspaper runs.

    * Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? I work for the Daily Nebraskan.

    * Do you have an updated resume in your files? I have an updated work-related resume; however, my resume of current/recent articles and writings hasn’t been updated since the end of last semester.

  8. Sarah Tenorio
    August 28, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    Name. Sarah Tenorio
    Year in school. 2nd year
    Where are you from? El Paso, TX
    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? I was interested in the university’s journalism program.
    What is your major? News Editorial
    Career Goals? I want to be a reporter for a daily newspaper. In the future I think I might want to teach it.
    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? I hope to be able to look at my stories with an editor’s eyes. As a result that view point will help me become a better writer.
    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? I’m interested in learning new things. I like to watch movies and reading books. I like trying new biblical devotionals. I’m passionate about human interaction. It’s a funny thing to say but I enjoy conversations and learning about people.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique. I’m the first person in my family to enjoy the traditional college life. No one has ever left home or lived in dorms. Also I grew up in a, culturally and demographically, Mexican American community. My house is literally ten minutes away from Mexico.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? No.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style? It’s a 4.
    What books are you reading and have read in the last three months? I read “One Year in Provence,” and “Crime Brulee.” I read Jodi Picoult’s “20 Minutes”. Right now I’m reading “Women of the Bible”.
    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? I read Time Magazine, Cosmopolitan. I read the Daily Nebraskan and USA Today. I usually read Yahoo News.
    What is your favorite Web site? Pandora.
    Do you blog? No.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? I was the editor of my high school newspaper. I wrote three columns for the Lincoln Journal Star. I wrote a few stories for the Daily Nebraskan last year.
    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? No.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files? No.

  9. PJ Hunsicker
    August 31, 2008 at 6:02 am

    Hello. I’m PJ Hunsicker, a Sophomore in the Journalism/News-Editorial department here at UNL. I come from Omaha, Nebraska, but I was born in a small town in Iowa (I lose either way). I am not the first person in my family to attend college either – both of my parents frequented Iowa State University. I ended up at UNL for its highly decorated Journalism school and its proximity to my home – close enough to make a quick run back home, but far enough for my parents to notify me in advance if they plan on visiting me.
    Though I am a documented member of the Journalism college here at UNL, my career aspirations have taken an entirely different turn. Originally (and I suppose this is still somewhat true) I wished to write popular culture analyses like my favorite writer, Chuck Klosterman. When I realized that nobody actually cared about this (and that to be a reporter I would have to sell my soul), I decided to retool my original goals. Right now, that involves moving to the Pacific Northwest upon graduation and entering a firefighting academy in Portland, Oregon, or a nearby town.
    Mostly I am involved in this Editing course because it is a requirement for the overall degree. I’m also using it as a way to test the waters of journalism and reporting to make sure I might not still enjoy the art of reporting as a career. My grammar skills are not as yet on the level either, so I believe this will be a good way to continue beating the meanings of subject and predicate into my skull. On a grammar scale – 1 to 10 – I’d rate my knowledge somewhere at a 6.
    Asking me what books I have read is parallel to asking for a dissection of the entire catalogue of Pink Floyd (I could fill half a shelf on “The Wall” alone), but I’ll give my best shot at breaking down my summer list. In the last three months, I read Steven Hall’s paranoid, cerebral thriller, “The Raw Shark Texts,” Cormac McCarthy’s bleak (duh) dissection of the American West, “Outer Dark,” Michael Chabon’s alternate-history noir, “The Yiddish Policeman’s Union,” Dennis Lehane’s dark and intelligent detective yarns, “Darkness, Take My Hand,” “Sacred” and “Shutter Island,” Benjamin Black’s interesting-sounding, but ultimately weak spy thriller, “The Lemur,” Chuck Klosterman’s fourth book of brilliant pop culture dissection, the aptly titled “IV” (Zeppelin fan through and through), Chuck Palahniuk’s hilarious send-up of the porn industry, “Snuff” and I am currently in the process of tackling Richard Price’s gritty cop drama, “Lush Life.” How many was that?
    Outside of school I like to read (gasp), watch movies, catch up on the brilliant pieces the idiot box has to offer through TV on DVD and play a video game or two. The magazines I pick up are Esquire, Entertainment Weekly and Rolling Stone. I hate reading newspapers, but if pushed, I occasionally enjoy the Portland Oregonian and the New York Times. I have a strange relationship with the websites I visit, being that I tend to frequent mostly movie news sites – JoBlo.com, Ain’t it Cool News, etc. The aforementioned “strange” relationship I have with these sites is that I constantly visit them and end up signing off with a strong urge to vomit, but a general knowledge of recent cinema happenings at my disposal (news is news, no matter how moronic and perverted its writer may be). My blogging history is limited. I’m a semi-slave to facebook (does only visiting the site once a day count as being on the wagon?).
    I had a position as the resident film critic (a.k.a. Jerk) on my high school newspaper, but my experience in the art of print goes only that far. I’ve participated in zero internships and I do have a resume somewhere among the digital clutter on my laptop, but it’s sloppy and dated by two years.

    Have a nice day,
    PJ

  10. Teresa Lostroh
    August 31, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    Name. Year in school.
    I’m Teresa Lostroh, and I’m a sophomore.
    Where are you from?
    I grew up on a farm near Malcolm, Neb., which is about 20 miles west of Lincoln.
    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    The journalism program is solid, and I received a Regent’s Scholarship, which pays my tuition.
    What is your major?
    I’m a news-editorial major (yay!) with a Spanish minor.
    Career Goals?
    Honestly, I’m not so sure anymore. I thought I wanted to a big-time writer for a major publication, but I am now throwing around the idea of being in PR. And, on top of that, the idea of teaching English in a Spanish-speaking country while I’m still young is swirling around in my head now, too, because I studied abroad in Spain this past summer.
    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I copy edit at the Daily Nebraskan right now, and I realize each time I edit there are so many things I don’t know. I think this class will really force me (in a positive way) to learn what I need to know about editing and headline writing–especially headline writing. It is a skill I have yet to master.
    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I’m currently the research beat reporter for the Daily Nebraskan, and I love it. It’s extremely time consuming and frustrating at times, but I’m very proud of what I’ve accomplished so far. I used to be extremely involved in sports in high school, but I must admit I now despise exercise, so I only watch athletics on television these days. I guess that means it’s a hobby of mine to watch other people exercise…?
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I have five wisdom teeth and an extra bone in each of my feet. This extra bone phenomenon was discovered when I suffered a serious foot injury while playing basketball. I went to get x-rays, and the doctors were stunned. Needless to say, I’m a miracle. 😉
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    I’m the fifth child in a series of six, and all the kids who’ve come before me have attended a university.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    I would put myself right at about a six or seven. I’ve learned a lot through editing at the DN, but there’s a lot of unknown left in those three to four points.
    What books are you reading and have read in the last three months?
    Right now I have no time to read novels. In the past three months I’ve read a couple books in Spanish, because I had to read them while studying abroad. I really need to get back into Harry Potter. “Nerdy” as those books may be, according to some, I love them.
    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    I love magazines. I read the typical ones for teenage girls, and then I also like Time/Newsweek. The in-depth material that a magazine can offer is great. I am also a devout reader of the Daily Nebraskan (even when my name’s not in there) and the Lincoln Journal Star. I throw some New York Times in there every once in a while as well, but I must admit I need to read a national news outlet on more of a regular basis.
    What is your favorite Web site?
    I’m addicted to Facebook. Problematic, yes I know. As for news, I prefer hard copy. Call me old school, but I like having the news in my hands.
    Do you blog? No, I don’t blog. Honestly, my life is much too boring right now for anyone else to care about what I’m doing.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    Why yes I do. I copy edit and report for the DN. I also was the proofing editor for my high school yearbook.
    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    I work for the DN.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files? Somewhat. It has everything as of spring semester 2008. Nothing associated with my recent international experience is included as of now.

  11. Courtney Robinson
    September 4, 2008 at 4:07 am

    COURTNEY DENISE ROBINSON

    My name is Courtney Denise Robinson and I am a junior at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL). I am double majoring in women’s studies and journalism (news-editorial and broadcasting) with a minor in political science for pre-law. I plan to become a successful civil rights and civil and domestic attorney fighting for black rights and women rights.
    I am from D.C. and Md. I claim both places because my father lives in D.C. and my mother lives in Md.. (I travel amongst them frequently.)
    I decided to attend UNL because of several reasons:
    First of all, it was the only school that truly pursued me. After I informed the University of my interests, two representatives – one from the admissions department and the other from the journalism school – traveled to D.C., took my mother and me to dinner, paid for meal, and all the while, informed me of all that UNL had to offer. I was quite impressed. They then made arrangements for me to visit UNL and not only receive a tour of the campus, but also walk around with a student for the entire day. The student and I attended a “Dress for Success” function. Later that night, I was able to sleep over night in her dorm room and, the next morning, attended class with her. I had a great time and, as I said before, was quite impressed with their effort. After that, the only choice for me was to attend UNL.
    Secondly, I wanted to attend an out-of-the-state university. I believe that if you attend a school in an area that you are used to, like the same state in which you live, then you will create all of your networks in that one place and, thus, never be able to separate yourself from there. In a sense, “never leave the nest.” I don’t believe one can be truly successful until they’ve networked with more than two states. (I have friends and networks in almost 10 states now and I’m only 20 years-old).
    Finally, everybody in Lincoln is very friendly. As I stated previously, I wanted to attend a university outside D.C. and Md. Accordingly, I visited many colleges in various states. At every school, I felt out of place, like an outcast. I didn’t feel very wanted at other schools; however, at UNL, that wasn’t the case. I felt a part of a family, like a long lost cousin that had found her way home. Everybody in the town, as well as at the university, was and still is, very benevolent and courteous.
    I am not taking this course simple because it is required. I believe this course will aid me in my writing skills. As I stated above, I want to become a successful civil rights and civil and domestic attorney. As such, I will need to be able to write well. This class will aid me in writing skills in many ways: following AP style, writing concise papers, punctuating correctly, being informative yet entertaining, and much more.
    I am a very unique and versatile woman. I have been doing martial arts with the Universal Martial Arts Center family for 10 years. I am a black belt. This means, I know how to do all forms of martial arts, boxing, wrestling and gymnastics. We also participate sports and swimming during our summer camp.
    I am also a part of the women’s professional football team, the D.C. Divas. I was a part of the 2006 Super Bowl winning team. I wear my Super Bowl ring everyday.
    Prior to playing with the Divas, I played three years of high school football – two years on Junior Varsity and one year on Varsity – as the only girl on the team. I then quit my senior year to play with the Divas.
    During high school, I was also a member of the track team, wrestling team and mock trial team.
    At UNL, I rock climb, swim and teach private self-defense lessons. I am also the Programming Assistant at the Women’s Center; Co-coordinator of PREVENT; President of the National Association of Black Journalists; Vice President of Mock Trial; and much more.
    There are a lot more things which I am interested in as well as passionate about – nothing I do is done without passion (my time is too precious to waste it) – however, if I mention it all then this will be a very long blog, like crocheting and cooking.
    I am not the first person in my family to attend a university, however, I will be the third person in my family – a semester after my older cousin – to complete an undergraduate college and, unless he plans to attend graduate school, the only person in my family to complete graduate school.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, I would rate my knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style, a 7 because there is still a lot of things that I do not know, not to mention, a lot that I tend to forget.
    I am currently reading two very interesting books in accordance with my POLS 238 class – African Americans in Politics – entitled African American and the American Political System and Faces at the Bottom of the Well.
    I do not read magazines at all. I only read newspapers and visit news Web sites when teachers, like those associated with journalism and political science, inform me that it is valid for class, like for a news quiz.
    My favorite Web sites are myspace.com and facebook.com because they are great places to create networks – with friends and organizations – as well as keep in touch with my family and friends across the United States.
    Yes, I do blog. I blog on one of my favorite Web sites, myspace.com, which helps me to relieve stress, reflect on life and allow my creative juices to flow. I have also created two blogs for my JOUR 350 class – News Net Nebraska. They can be seen on http://cdrobinson.wordpress.com, which talks about Women’s Professional Football, and http://cdrobinson1.wordpress.com, which talks about Violence – everything from humans being violent to humans, like sexual assault; humans being violent to nature, like not recycling; and violence on the earth, like Global Warming.
    Yes, I do have some media/communication experience. In high school, I started as a reporter my junior year and became editor-in-chief my senior year. I also aided by taking photographs, writing articles, and creating the layout. Last year, I was a news and sports reporter for the Daily Nebraskan.
    No, I am not pursuing a media related internship or job at this time. I do not plan to work in that job-field. I plan to be a successful civil rights and civil and domestic attorney. (As you can tell, I never get tired of stating it.)
    Yes, I do have an updated resume in my files, along with a cover letter.

  12. Jamie Klein
    September 4, 2008 at 4:22 am

    Name. Year in school.
    My name is Jamie Klein and I’m a sophomore.
    Where are you from?
    I don’t consider myself from anywhere. Sometimes I’ll claim San Antonio, Tex. or Papillion Neb. but my family has moved around so much that I can’t really pick one place.
    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I came to UNL for the great journalism program.
    What is your major?
    News-editorial.
    Career Goals?
    I think I’d either like to pursue a reporting career in the Northeastern region of the U.S. or maybe pursue a law degree after my undergraduate years.
    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I hope to learn more about AP style and I hope to become a better writer.
    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I love working for the Daily Nebraskan.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I’m pretty good at playing Tetris and Galega, and I can throw a nice spiral with a football.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    I’m the first to attend a four year university.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    I would say my knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style would probably be around four or five.
    What books are you reading and have read in the last three months?
    I’ve read Clifford E. Trafzer’s As Long as the Grass Grows and the Rivers Flow: A History of Native Americans, Spirit and Reason: The Vine Deloria, Jr. Reader by Vine Deloria Jr., David E. Stannard’s, American Holocaust: The Conquest of the New World, David J. Wishart’s, An Unspeakable Sadness: The Dispossession of the Nebraska Indians and Ella Cara Deloria’s Waterlilly.
    I also just finished re-reading The Giver and started reading I am Legend.
    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    Usually I don’t find time to read magazines, but I do read The Lincoln Journal Star and the DN. I’m trying to make it a point now to grab The New York Times and The Omaha World Herald. I also check out cnn.com and msnbc.com frequently.
    What is your favorite Web site?
    I think my favorite Web site would have to be youtube.com or google.com.
    Do you blog?
    No, I don’t blog.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I work at the Daily Nebraskan as a University Senior Reporter. I also had an internship at the Papillion Times Weekly this summer.
    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    Yes, I hope to have another internship this summer, but I haven’t decided which newspapers I’d like to apply to for an internship.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    No, I have not updated my resume since May.

  13. Marlenia Thornton
    September 4, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    My name is Marlenia Thornton. I’m a sophomore broadcasting and news-editorial major. My decision to come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln was last minute, but I chose this university for its journalism program and distinguished faculty. I’m taking this course to become a better editor since copy editing is my weakness. After I graduate, I want to move far from Nebraska to work either on television as on-air talent or for a magazine such as Ebony or Essence. Eventually, I would like work in TV production and make in-depth documentaries. As far as AP Style and grammar, I’m about a five. I’m not the most knowledgeable, but I would say I have more knowledge about AP style and grammar than most of my classmates. I want to overall improve in this area by taking this class.

  14. Matthew Butts
    September 4, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    * Name.
    Matthew Butts.

    * Where are you from?
    Lincoln, Neb.

    * Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I grew up in Lincoln, love the town, and I met the admission standards.

    * What is your major?
    News-ed.

    * Career Goals?
    I hope to write about sports, specifically baseball, for a major magazine or website. Maybe even write a book.

    * Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I figure that the way I feel about people who consistently mix up there and they’re is the same way a potential employer would feel about me when I make grammar mistakes he or she considers basic. I don’t want that to happen.

    * Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I love baseball and philosophy.

    * Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I spent two years studying to be a Catholic priest.

    * Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    Yes.

    * On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    3. Pretty bad.

    * What books are you reading and have read in the last three months?
    The Diary of a Country Priest, Heart of Darkness.

    * What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    ESPN, Fark (though I’m not sure it qualifies as a news site.)

    * What is your favorite Web site?
    firejoemorgan.com

    * Do you blog?
    Secretly.

    * Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    No.

    * Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    No.

    * Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Yes.

  15. September 9, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    * Name. Year in school.
    Mark Green. Never-ending senior.
    * Where are you from?
    Dallas, TX.
    * Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    Scott Winter talked me into it.
    * What is your major?
    New-Editorial
    * Career Goals?
    Enough money to escape the madness and horror of being in modern society.
    * Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    Because it’s required. I hope to be a better editor.
    * Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    Music. Film. Playing music. Riding my bike. Watching sunsets. Camping. Spending time with friends and not taking things very seriously.
    * Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I used to be a park ranger in Smoky Mountains National Park and my job was to ride a bike and chase bears all day.
    * Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No.
    * On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    5.
    * What books are you reading and have read in the last three months?
    Dr. Hunter S. Thompson – Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, Fear and Loathing on the Campaign Trail 72. Steinbeck – Grapes of Wrath. Philip K. Dick – The Man in the High Castle. and a book called E-mails from God that I found at a garage sale.
    * What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    New York Times. Occasionally Rolling Stone.
    * What is your favorite Web site?
    http://www.onion.com
    * Do you blog?
    nope.
    * Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    Edited my high school newspaper. Work for KRNU.
    * Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    Nope.
    * Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    Nope.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

