Home > bios > Bios: Section 152, Wednesday lab

Bios: Section 152, Wednesday lab

Categories: bios Tags:
  1. Dan Girmus
    August 27, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    *Name: My name is Dan Girmus
    *Year in school: I am currently a sophomore.
    *Where are you from? I am from Omaha, Nebraska. I went to Millard South High school.
    *Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? I was really impressed with the journalism program. It was close enough to home that I could leave without being completely away from my family for months at a time. And you can’t argue with Husker football season tickets.
    *What is your major? I am a news-editorial major. I am interested in becoming an English double major, with possibly a minor in political science.
    *Career Goals? I would love to be a writer of some kind. I really don’t care if it’s a novelist, reporter, non-fiction writer, what have you. I just want to enjoy what I do.
    *Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? My grammar can always be improved. I’m hoping this course will help out in that regard.
    *Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? I’m an avid reader and movie watcher. I’m very passionate about college football (fall is the best time of year). I ran cross country in high school and I still try to get out and run at least 4 or 5 times a week. I also enjoy swimming and lifting weights to keep in shape.
    *Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique. I went to France over the summer.
    *Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? No, both my parents went to college.
    *On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style? I’d say probably about a 7. It’s the little things that get me.
    *What books are you reading and have read in the last three months? In the last three months, I’ve read All the Pretty Horses by Cormac McCarthy and I Love You, Beth Cooper by Larry Doyle. I’m currently reading World War Z by Max Brooks and Youth In Revolt by C.D. Payne.
    *What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? I enjoy reading Entertainment Weekly daily, as well as other various movie and entertainment media blogs. I usually go to CNN.com or nytimes.com for my news.
    *What is your favorite Web site? Aintitcoolnews.com.
    *Do you blog? I do not.
    *Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? My only experience was working on my high school newspaper.
    *Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? Not at this time. I may in the future, however.
    *Do you have an updated resume in your files? I generally try to keep it pretty updated. I haven’t looked at it or added anything for a few months, though.

  2. Mike Schaefer
    August 27, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    • Name. Year in school- Mike Schaefer. I’m a junior.
    • Where are you from?- Columbus, NE
    • Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?- I wanted a university atmosphere
    • What is your major?- Journalism-news editorial
    • Career Goals?- I want to cover a major sporting event. Something like the Super Bowl, World Series, or Wimbledon.
    • Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?- I’m very poor at self-correcting my mistakes. I know what I want to say, I just fail to actually put the correct words on paper.
    • Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?- I love sports. I like books, music, and movies. I enjoy hanging out with friends.
    • Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.- I will periodically grow outrageous facial hair.
    • Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?- Nope. A large percentage of my family has been to college.
    • On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?- 3
    • What books are you reading and have read in the last three months?- I read Sports Illustrated, Newsweek, and Time. Last book I read was Crazy in Alabama.
    • What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?- Everyday I read four or five newspaper sites. I visit lots of newspaper sites periodically to look and see what the papers are like. I view each site as a potential job opportunity and kind of research what working there would be like.
    • What is your favorite Web site?- Currently CNNSI.
    • Do you blog?- I do. I don’t update it regularly.
    • Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?- I’ve worked at three newspapers, and also worked as a communications intern at two jobs.
    • Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?- I’ve been working on my resume and cover letter. I will send out my information to around 40 papers for summer employment in 2009.
    • Do you have an updated resume in your files?- Yes.

  3. Tyler DeBoer
    August 27, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    *Name: Tyler DeBoer

    *Year in school: Senior

    *Where are you from? I’m from Lincoln

    *Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? I came here because it’s close to home, it’s cheap and it has a good journalism department.

    *What is your major? News-editorial

    *Career Goals? Not really sure right now – I really enjoy sports and writing so I guess a sportswriter would be a good fit for me.

    *Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? I need to brush up on my editing skills because there are still several things that I really have no clue about.

    *Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? I love sports, both watching and playing them. I really enjoy sleeping and taking naps, and I also love reading and watching movies.

    *Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique: I’m double-jointed in my fingers and toes so I can do all sorts of weird things with them.

    *Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? No, I have two older brothers as well as my parents who attended a university.

    *On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style? Probably an 8. I think I know most of the rules and little quirks, but there are still lots of things that I need to perfect.

    *What books are you reading and have read in the last three months? Blue Like Jazz, Through Painted Deserts, Catch-22, The Road

    *What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? Sports Illustrated, ESPN, Journal Star, Google News, Daily Nebraskan

    *What is your favorite Web site? Digg.com

    *Do you blog? I have before in some capacity.

    *Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? I work in Media Relations at the Athletic Department here at the University, so I work a lot directly with the media.

    *Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? Not right now, but once I get closer to graduating I will.

    *Do you have an updated resume in your files? Nope.

  4. Zach Artz
    August 27, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    * Name. Year in school.- Zach Artz. I’m a junior.
    * Where are you from?- I am from Alma, Nebraska.
    * Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?- I came to UNL because I wanted to get far away from Alma and have more opportunities available to me.

    * What is your major?- Journalism- News Ed.
    * Career Goals?- Someday I would like to write for a music publication.
    * Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?- It would be nice to get a better understanding of the editing process and what it all entails.
    * Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?- I love playing guitar and bass. I’m also a big fan of both cooking and eating.
    * Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique. I’m vegan ( I don’t eat any product that comes from an animal).
    * Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? No, both my mother and father attended Kearney State College (now UNK).
    * On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?- 5
    * What books are you reading and have read in the last three months? Skinny Bitch, The People Look Like Flowers at Last, Bone Palace Ballet, Pleasures of the Damned ( I’m a big Bukowski fan)
    * What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? Alternative Press magazine, Post Punk Kitchen, peta2
    * What is your favorite Web site?- http://www.theppk.com
    * Do you blog?- No.
    * Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?- Not really.
    * Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?- Not at this time.
    * Do you have an updated resume in your files?- I should probably revisit this and check.

  5. Nate Pohlen
    August 27, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    Name: My name is Nate Pohlen.
    Year in school: I am a junior.
    Where are you from? I am from Lincoln, Neb. I am a graduate of Lincoln Pius X High School.
    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? I came because of the tremendous journalism college. I am also a huge Husker fan.
    What is your major? I am a news-editorial major.
    Career Goals? I would like to get a job in a university media relations department. That involves a mix of writing, graphic design and public relations.
    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? I hope to gain a mastery of the English language. Editing is an important part of my current job.
    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? I am a diehard soccer player.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique:
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? I am the first child in my family to attend a university because I am the oldest. My parents both did, too.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style? I would give myself a 7.5 when my brain is fully functioning.
    What books are you reading and have read in the last three months? I read a book called “Political Control of the Economy.” It was fascinating, kind of. I am thinking about reading the “Lord of the Rings” series, because I’ve never read it.
    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? The Lincoln Journal Star, Omaha World-Herald, New York Times, Daily Nebraskan and CNN.com.
    What is your favorite Web site? Nytimes.com
    Do you blog? I do not.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? I was a member of my high school paper. I work in media relations right now.
    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? I have one.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files? I did, but my laptop crashed this summer so I might have lost it. I’ll have to check. I might be creating a new one, unfortunately.

  6. August 27, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    * Name. Year in school. Minda Haas; junior.
    * Where are you from? I grew up in McCook, Nebraska, but I now live in Omaha.
    * Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? When I was nine years old, my brother told me that UNL had an excellent journalism school. I made my decision that year, and never even considered or applied to any other school.

    * What is your major? News Editorial
    * Career Goals? I want to be a well-respected baseball writer, and would love to have male athletes take me seriously as a writer despite my femininity.
    * Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? I only signed up because it is a required course, but I always enjoyed editing when I was editor-in-chief of my high school’s paper. I hope to be able to turn in cleaner, more polished drafts so my editors don’t have to do as much work.
    * Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? I have an unhealthy passion for baseball, particularly the Kansas City Royals. I also enjoy music, video games (particularly Nintendo), and Photoshop.
    * Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique. I am highly superstitious about anything related to sports, but pooh-pooh non-sports superstitions. I have a lucky jersey that I must wear when my favorite pitcher is sheduled to start, and I’ll freak out if I’m not able to wear it because I might jinx him, but I pay no mind to black cats crossing my path, broken mirrors, or ladders over my head.
    * Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? Not by a long shot; I am the fourth Haas child to attend a university, and both my parents have multiple college degrees.
    * On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style? 7.68. I’d have a higher score, but I haven’t kept up with AP Stylebooks in the last few years.
    * What books are you reading and have read in the last three months? I’m just starting Hero of the Underground: A Memoir by former Husker football star Jason Peter, and I re-read Joe Posnanski’s The Soul of Baseball: A Journey Through Buck O’Neil’s America at least once every two months. And I just re-read Michael Lewis’ Moneyball last month so I could evaluate the career paths of each of the baseball players Lewis mentions.
    * What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? I read the Omaha World Herald, but not any other papers regularly. I get national and world news from all over the Internet rather than reading only one source of news. I read about 30 Royals-related Web sites regularly, as well as Deadspin, ESPN.com, si.com (Sports Illustrated’s Web site), Baseball Prospectus, Baseball-Reference.com, and the Ladies(dotdotdot).
    * What is your favorite Web site? Kansas City Star columnist Joe Posnanski has a blog which is worth reading even for a non-sports fan. He is incomparably masterful with words, and could make a trip to Wal-Mart sound interesting. I also love Deadspin.com
    * Do you blog? Yes. I have one blog that focuses on the Royals and their farm teams and is therefore targeted at a small audience. I also write for the Ladies(dotdotdot), a sports site written by ten women who love sports but also like to ogle the good-looking athletes that are part of that world, and am the resident sports blogger for a new women’s site called Women On Women. I have also been hired to contribute to the Baseball Prospectus Web site.
    * Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? I have only a tiny bit of experience with professional, non-blog writing, having contributed twice to the Omaha World Herald. But I did work for over three years in radio, and remain one of that station group’s all-time most valuable part-time employees.
    * Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? I’m actually content with the professional sportswriting (and blogging) experience I’m getting right now.
    * Do you have an updated resume in your files? It hasn’t been updated since last fall, but I do keep my resume close at hand and easily accessible on each of my personal computers.

  7. Natasha
    August 27, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    * Name. Year in school.
    I’m Natasha Richardson, and I’m a junior.

    * Where are you from?
    I’m from St. Paul, Neb.

    * Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I started out at UNL as an engineering major, and I was really impressed with the engineering program. Other than that, I was awarded a scholarship that allowed me to afford to go here.

    * What is your major?
    My major is news-editorial.

    * Career Goals?
    I would like to someday work at a magazine and enjoy what I do.

    * Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    My headline writing needs a lot of work, and I think I may have gotten a bit rusty on my AP style knowledge over the summer.

    * Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I love music, especially any music by Jack White, and I like to spend time with my friends and family when I’m not too busy with school and work.

    * Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I slapped one of my new friends across the face with a sandwich.

    * Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    I am a first-generation college student.

    * On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    7.

    * What books are you reading and have read in the last three months?
    I am really enjoying “No One Belongs Here More Than You” by Miranda July, and over the summer, I read “The Things They Carried.” One of my photographer friends insisted that I look at a book of photography by Diane Arbus, and I was not disappointed. I have been, admittedly, very lazy with my reading lately. I felt a bit burned out from school.

    * What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    I read Perez Hilton, which is embarrassing, and check out CNN.com a lot. I’ve read The Progressive Farmer a lot because I worked there and magazines that are part of the Southern Progress Corporation. I read all the papers provided on campus.

    * What is your favorite Web site?
    I really enjoy looking at my friend Jonathan’s Flickr account page. Does that count? http://www.flickr.com/photos/jpurvis/

    * Do you blog?
    Yes, I blog, but I do it mostly for my grandma. nattytechnicoloryawn.blogspot.com

    * Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I’ve interned for the Center for Applied Rural Innovation as a communications intern and Web editor and for The Progressive Farmer as an editorial intern. I’ve done work for the Daily Nebraskan as a copy desk slot editor and as a features writer.

    * Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    I’m not pursuing an internship at the moment. My focus right now is on school.

    * Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    No, I don’t have an updated resume. I need to do that.

  8. Adam Ziegler
    August 27, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    •Name: Adam Ziegler
    •Year in School: Junior
    •Where are you from: North Platte, NE
    •Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln: My grandparents live in Lincoln and I came here a lot as a kid to visit them, so I’m familiar with the town and like it and the university a lot.
    •What is your major: Journalism News-Editorial
    •Career Goals: To work as a reporter at a newspaper. I don’t have anything too specific in mind yet
    •Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it: I want to get better at knowing the various rules of grammar so I can improve my writing and make things easier on my editors
    •Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about: reading, comic books, video games
    •Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique: Almost all my t-shirts have some type of comic book image on them
    •Are you the first person in your family to attend a university: No both my parents and all my grandparents went to college.
    •On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style: 6
    •What books are you reading and have read in the last three months: Some Sherlock Holmes and Persuasion by Jane Austen for an English class
    •What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly: The New York Times website, Digg.com, the World-Herald, Time Magazine
    •What is your favorite Web site: Newsarama.com
    •Do you blog: No
    •Do you have any media/communication experience: Yes, I’ve worked as a reporter for the DN for the last two years
    •Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time: Not right now but I will when the big internship rush comes pretty soon
    Do you have an updated resume in your files: Yes

  9. Lindsey Givens
    August 27, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    • Name. Senior
    • Where are you from? Papillion, Nebraska (just south of Omaha)
    • Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? I came to UNL because I can get cheaper in-state tuition.
    • What is your major? I am a news-editorial major.
    • Career Goals? I am still not sure. There are so many things that I want to try I don’t have really intense specific goals. I will probably graduate and end up waiting tables because I am so indecisive.
    • Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? I love to read and write, and I think any class that can help me do better at either is worth taking. I know this class will help improve my ability to self-edit.
    • Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? I love baseball. My freshman year I never missed a Nebraska home game. I haven’t been able to attend every game since then, but I still go regularly. I like the Red Sox as well.
    • Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique. I am an animal lover. I really like that show Animal Cops, but I can only watch a little bit at a time or else I can’t stop myself from crying.
    • Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? Yes.
    • On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style? 3
    • What books are you reading and have read in the last three months? Reading Lolita in Tehran (Nafisi), She’s Come Undone (Lamb), 2 books in the John Sanford Prey series, In the Time of the Butterflies (Alvarez), Northanger Abbey (Austen), Emma (Austen), and some others I can’t remember. I have more free time in the summer and like to spend it reading.
    • What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? I read CNN.com almost everyday. I read the New York Times and/or the New York Time online almost everyday. I also check out the Husker baseball team news on Huskers.com, and have been checking the MLB standings daily on ESPN.com.
    • What is your favorite Web site? I really like CNN.com. It is my homepage on my desktop at home.
    • Do you blog? No.
    • Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? None really.
    • Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? Not right now.
    • Do you have an updated resume in your files? No.

  10. Sara McCue
    August 27, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    1. Name: My name is Sara McCue
    2. Year in school: I am a junior.
    3. Where are you from? I am from Alliance, Nebraska, which is in the western part of the state.
    4. Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? I wanted to come to a larger university, but I also wanted to attend an affordable school. The University of Nebraska-Lincoln offers great scholarships to students who are already living in Nebraska.
    5. What is your major? I am a double major in Broadcasting and News-Editorial.
    6. Career Goals? I would like to become a magazine editor. I am particularly interested in music journalism, and I would love to work for a magazine called Paste.
    7. Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? Because I am interested in pursuing a career as an editor, this class will be beneficial for me. I would like to become more familiar with the Associated Press Stylebook.
    8. Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? I love music. It has always been a passion of mine. I sing and play the flute. I also enjoy attending concerts of all kinds and browsing the aisles of independent music stores. I enjoy reading and writing.
    9. Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique. I used to live in Alaska.
    10. Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? Yes. Both of my parents joined the Air Force after they graduated from high school. My older brother is a Marine.
    11. On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style? I would probably give myself a 7 or a 7.5. I learned a lot of grammar rules from The Elements of Style, but I am not particularly familar with AP style.
    12. What books are you reading and have read in the last three months? I am currently reading Tender is the Night by F. Scott Fitzgerald.
    13. What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? I read Paste, which is an independent music and film magazine. For news, I read the Lincoln Journal Star and the Daily Nebraska. I sometimes visit CNN.com, but I watch CNN on television more than I visit the site.
    14. What is your favorite Web site? I don’t have one.
    15. Do you blog? No. I am excited to start, though.
    16. Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? So far, my only published work was in the COJMC alumni magazine. I wrote two stories for it last year.
    17. Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? I am applying to work at the Daily Nebraskan.
    18. Do you have an updated resume in your files? Yes.

  11. Brittney Schuessler
    August 27, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Brittney Schuessler
    Section 152

    I am a senior Fashion Journalism major from Potter, Nebraska. I came to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln because of a scholarship, the Greek system, and my Husker pride.

    I plan to intern in New York City with a credible fashion magazine next summer. Eventually, I’d like to be an editor of a major fashion magazine.

    I’m taking this course to improve and perfect my editing skills. I hope my knowledge of grammar also increases.

    I enjoy shopping, traveling, camping, running, and spending time with my family. I am passionate about foster care and adoption.

    I am unique because my elbows are extremely double-jointed, and I am a quarter Japanese. I’m also one of six children in my family. I am the youngest biological child.

    I am not the first person in my family to attend a university. However, I am the first to go Greek!

    On a scale from 1 to 10, my knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style is currently about a 6. By the end of this class I aim to be at a 9 or 10.

    I’m currently reading the Purpose Driven Life. Lately, I have been reading many text books that relate to my textiles classes.

    I read Vogue, Harper’s Bazzare, and People on a regular basis. Again, I’m a Fashion Journalism major. I also enjoy the Daily Nebraskan, and the New York Times.

    Relevant to this class, my favorite website is http://www.foxnews.com. My favorite Web site unrelated to news is http://www.chicdowntown.com. As a direct result of this class assignment, I blog.

    I work for the Daily Nebraskan, and I’m currently editor-in-chief of a mini magazine titled, This Season.

    I will begin pursuing a media or public relations related internship soon.

    My resume is always a work in progress. I am constantly involving myself with activities and responsibilities that will assist me in my job search.

  12. Sarah McCallister
    August 27, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    *Name: Sarah McCallister
    *Year in school: Sophomore
    *Where are you from? Lincoln, NE, where I graduated from Lincoln East High School
    *Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? I came to UNL for a variety of reasons. First, my dad is a professor on East Campus and my sister is a recent graduate, so I have multiple family ties to the university. Also, as far as location goes, campus is far enough away from my parents that I can live on my own, but close enough that I can still go home to do laundry (which is a definite advantage). Finally, I had heard from countless people that the College of Journalism at UNL was among the best in the country, which was what I intended to study.
    *What is your major? News-Editorial and (soon-to-be-declared) Political Science
    *Career Goals? As of now, I’m not exactly sure what I want to do as a career. I’m very interested in reporting and copy editing, so those are both viable options, but there is a huge array of professions that require writing skills, so I’m not exactly limited.
    *Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? I’m taking this course because I was recently hired as a copy editor and news reporter at the Daily Nebraskan, and brushing up on grammar, style, etc. would be a huge help in both areas.
    *Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? I love going to the Coffee House, listening to music, watching some TV (especially Project Runway, Law and Order: SVU and One Tree Hill), watching Nebraska football games and just hanging out with friends.
    *Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique. This summer, I had about 10 inches of my hair chopped off.
    *Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? No, both of my parents and my older sister graduated from college.
    *On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style? It depends. Last semester, when I was writing a lot for my classes, I was probably a 7 or 8, but now, after a summer of writing very little, I might be at a 6 or so.
    *What books are you reading and have read in the last three months? Over the summer, I read “Cat’s Cradle” by Kurt Vonnegut and “A Clockwork Orange” by Anthony Burgess. I also read “Political Control of the Economy” by Edward Tufte for a summer class.
    *What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? I read the Daily Nebraskan and the Lincoln Journal Star daily, Newsweek and (as much as I hate to admit it) I read Cosmopolitan whenever I get a chance.
    *What is your favorite Web site? I’m not sure that I have a favorite Web site.
    *Do you blog? I do not, but I’m excited to try it.
    *Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? As I said, I just started working at the DN, which is my first journalism-related experience.
    *Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? Not at this time, but I may later for next summer.
    *Do you have an updated resume in your files? Yes.

  13. Michael Saeger
    August 28, 2008 at 12:04 am

    Name. Year in school. My name is Michael Saeger, and I am a second year student.
    Where are you from? I am from Marietta, Georgia.
    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? I was born in Omaha and have always been a Cornhusker fan. I chose the University of Nebraska-Lincoln for those reasons, and because I wanted to go to an out-of-state school.
    What is your major? I am a journalism major with an emphasis in news-editorial.
    Career Goals? I would ultimately like to work for ESPN the Magazine or Athlon as a sports writer.
    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? I am taking this course to improve my knowledge of the language and to learn how to effectively use words to convey my message.
    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? I am an avid sports fan, but I also enjoy playing most every sport. In high school I played basketball and tennis. I also ran cross country during my senior year. I am a passionate college football fan.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you? something that makes you unique. In addition to the sports I played in high school, this summer I played on an Ultimate Frisbee team.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? I am not the first person to attend a university in my family. Both of my parents went to college, and my brother is currently enrolled at Georgia Tech.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style? I would rate my knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style at a 5. I am average at best.
    What books are you reading and have read in the last three months? I am currently reading a translation of the Epic of Gilgamesh for an epics course.
    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? I regularly read the Lincoln Journal Star and the USA Today for news, but I also read ESPN the Magazine as a sports source.
    What is your favorite Web site? My favorite Web site is ESPN.com.
    Do you blog? I have never blogged before this class.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? In high school I wrote for the on-line magazine. I wrote mostly sports related articles.
    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? I am not pursuing a media related job at this time. I do wish to pursue an internship at my local paper next summer.
    Do you have an updated resume in your files? I do not have an updated resume in my files.

  14. Elizabeth Gamez
    August 28, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    * Name. Elizabeth Gamez, Sophomore
    * Where are you from? El Paso, Texas
    * Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? I met a great teacher/recruiter at a journalism convention my junior year of high school. He offered me trip to visit the campus and from then on made up my mind.
    * What is your major? News Editorial
    * Career Goals? They differ upon my mood but I eventually would like to design for a magazine such as Newsweek or something fun like Spin.
    * Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? I’m a horrible writer. I hope it teaches me to be patient and forces me to absorb everything needed to be a better writer.
    * Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? I love music and malls. Yet, I’m really passionate about design though its not a declared major.
    * Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique. My right kidney is abnormally smaller than my left!
    * Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? No.
    * On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style? 6
    * What books are you reading and have read in the last three months? My Life in the Peace Corps; Eat, Pray, Love; Love in the Time of Cholera; and just started the Pillars of Earth.
    * What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? During the summer I read Newsweek but here I’ll read USA Today, NY Times, and DN
    * What is your favorite Web site? unknown
    * Do you blog? never
    * Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? I’ve only written in the high school newspaper and a couple of stories for the DN.
    * Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? Hoping for one this upcoming summer.
    * Do you have an updated resume in your files? Working on it.

  15. Katie Steiner
    September 3, 2008 at 6:45 am

    My name is Katie Steiner, I am a junior News-Editorial, and English major from Omaha.
    I came to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln because it has one of the best journalism programs in the country, and I knew since my sophomore year of high school that I wanted to pursue a career in journalism. In addition, I am an only child, so my parents would have killed me if I moved any farther away from them.
    My career goal is to work at a larger newspaper in a big city as either an education or legislative reporter. However, with all the business troubles newspapers have been having lately, my main goal is to just get a job at any newspaper after graduation.
    I am taking this course (besides the fact it is required) because I’m working as one of the main editors at the Daily Nebraskan this semester, so I would like to improve my editing skills so our stories are the best they can be. I hope to take away from this course a thorough knowledge of AP style, as well more knowledge on how to write headlines.
    My outside interests include reading, watching television and organizing my apartment (I’ve lived there a month and I’m still not unpacked). I also spend as much time as possible with my friends and family.
    One interesting about me is that I was named as one of UWire’s top 100 student journalists in May. What’s more interesting is that on my bio page, the main quote they pulled talked about how my DN coworkers have rolled me around in recycling bins before.
    I am not the first person in my family to attend a university. My mom went to the University of Nebraska at Omaha for two years while my dad graduated from UNL.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, I would rate my knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style at about a 6.5.
    In the past three months, I have read Twilight by Stephanie Meyer (I just had to jump on the bandwagon), “Killing Yourself to Live” by Chuck Klosterman and “On Chesil Beach” by Ian McEwan. I am currently reading The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (for class).
    During the day, I check the Lincoln Journal Star on an hourly basis (to make sure they didn’t scoop us on anything). I also read the Omaha World Herald, the New York Times and The Chronicle of Higher Education on a daily basis.
    I would say my favorite Web site would be The Chronicle of Higher Education’s site, because they update their blog on an hourly basis, and I love anything that has to do with higher education. I currently do not blog.
    My media experience is limited only to the Daily Nebraskan so far. However, I have held numerous positions at the DN: research reporter, senior reporter, Summer Editor in Chief and Managing Editor (my current position). I am hoping to get an internship this summer. I am in the final stages of updating my resume.

  16. Cassandra Thomas
    September 3, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    • Name. Year in school.
    o My name is Cassandra “Cassie” Thomas and I am a senior hoping to graduate in May.
    • Where are you from?
    o I grew up in Decatur, Neb., which is a small town about a two hour drive north of Lincoln.
    • Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    o I came to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln because of its exceptional agricultural program offered on East Campus. I have always had a deep passion for agriculture as well as writing. Thus, I have combined the two and am now one of the University’s few Ag Journalism majors. This program is relatively new and extremely foreign to most College of Journalism professors. Ag Journalism students are required to take all of the same classes as students enrolled at the Journalism College. However, we have emphasized knowledge in agronomic production, animal science, and natural resources. All of our elective credits are focused on these three areas.
    • Career Goals?
    o As I hope to graduate in May, my career goal should be set in stone. In all reality, however, I could not be more undecided. If I was forced to choose, however, I would love to become editor of a small town newspaper where I could work as editor, photographer, reporter, and advertisement designer.
    • Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    o
    • Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    o My deepest passion also makes me quite unique. At age 14, I was enrolled in the Future Farmers of America program which encourages students to obtain employment, manage funds, and accrue skills that will help them in their future career path. Instead of getting a job as a waitress or lifeguard as many of my classmates did, I chose to start my own business. In 2001, I raised 2 acres of sweet corn, pumpkins, and other various forms of produce. Since that time, my business has expanded to about 25 acres of produce which is sold at regional grocery and hardware stores as well as local farmers’ markets. So for those of you perusing the Haymarket Farmer’s Market early Saturday mornings, stop by and see me!
    • Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    o No, I am not the first person in my family to attend a university. My father attended the University of Nebraska-Lincoln in the 1970s and my mother graduated from Wayne State College in 2004.
    • On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your knowledge of grammar, punctuation and AP style?
    o I would rate my knowledge of grammar and punctuation as an 8. However, I would only rate my knowledge of AP style as a 5.
    • What books are you reading and have read in the last three months?
    o I am reading John McCain’s Faith of My Fathers and Barack Obama’s The Audacity of Hope. I just finished reading a book called What Was She Thinking? that described the fictional affair a high school teacher had with one of her students and the implications that followed.
    • What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    o I read MSN.com as well as some Google News. As far as papers, I try to pick up the Omaha World Herald and the Lincoln Journal Star at least 3 to 4 times a week.
    • Do you blog?
    o Before this class, I had never blogged. I think this will be a good experience learning how to communicate in a different way over the web.
    • Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    o This past summer I interned for the Lincoln Chamber of Commerce’s communication department and the Nebraska Farmer. In the past week I have had my first articles published outside of the university!
    • Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    o As of now, I do not have a media related internship. I have a job at East Campus Student Involvement where I plan events, create banners/posters and answer phones. I held two internships last summer and hope to find a job in the field next May.
    • Do you have an updated resume in your files?
    o Yes, I have an update resume for future employers or scholarship opportunities.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

